RSS

Another Not-So-Off Day

03 Jul

This may come as a shock to you all, but it’s raining here.

It’s rained so much these last few weeks, that the neighboring farms could easily replace their drowned corn with rice.

rice farmer 2

I hope Arizona and Colorado aren’t harboring any resentment towards us. Nobody wishes more that they were getting it instead.

But I do have to say, I’m kinda glad the sun wasn’t tempting me to go outside today.  My days off are split again, and I had made a bunch of 4th of July baking promises to some co-workers.  Today was the only day I could fit it all in.

fire cracker cupcakes

These Fire Cracker Cupcakes came about because my HR person at the hotel mentioned how she’d seen cupcakes with Pop Rocks for decorations.  The entire back office began talking excitedly about cool those would be, and before I knew what was happening, I was roped into making some.  I didn’t mind.  They sounded fun.  I just didn’t realize I would have only one day to do them, and that day was the day I had promised a different co-worker that I would make her strawberry red, white and blue cupcakes.

IMG_0405

I have Pinterest to thank for the strawberry ideas.  But I think I have myself to blame for the fire cracker decorations on the Pop Rock cupcakes.  I mean, I may have seen them on Pinterest, but the fact that Hubby and Mario are making fun of them leads me to believe it musta been my idea.  I don’t know.  I think frayed Twist and Pulls look remarkably like fire works.

And the Pop Rocks were crackin’ me up.  As soon as I put them on the frosting, they began popping and sizzling.  Occasionally, one would pop up into the air causing me to jump.  For a brief moment I considered putting the rest on at the hotel so everyone could enjoy the “show”, but continued on anyway.  Now that they’re all melted and/or dissolved, I wish I’d listened to myself better.  I plan to bring in the extra candy along with the cupcakes, in case anyone desires to experiment.

Yesterday I regretted making all these promises.  It’s been very busy at work  (shocking!), and with only one day off to recover before an even busier holiday weekend to come, I really wanted to be a sloth.  But once I got started, things flowed smoothly.

Now I just gotta get them all to work in one piece – along with myself.  My commute these next few days is going to be tricky.  All roads leading to our hotel will be blocked off, so I have to finagle and sweet talk my way there.  And if that doesn’t work, I’ll have to allow time to park far away and walk in.  With all them cupcakes.

Oy vey.

Anyway…..

Happy Fourth of July to you all, from your St. Louis blog friend!

fw3

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Another Not-So-Off Day

  1. Abby

    July 3, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Happy Independence Day! (I was talking to my dad recently, and we were pondering why 4th of July is the only holiday we refer to by its date, so thought I’d refer to its real name).
    Pop rocks on cupcakes! How fun. I guess it would be more fun if the pop and sizzle were delayed until they were actually in someone’s mouth.
    And I got the fireworks at first glance! Very creative. To heck with the naysayers!
    So, how are you getting to work? Helicopter?

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 4, 2013 at 2:35 am

      You know, I almost wrote Independence Day but decided on the Fourth of July.
      And thanks for gettin’ the fire works! Everyone at work got it too. Ha!
      Hadn’t considered a helicopter…. hmmm…..

       
  2. Rock Chef

    July 3, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Happy 4th of July! I try not to be offended by all this 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 4, 2013 at 2:33 am

      If it makes you feel better, I’ll be working and not celebrating.

       
  3. territerri

    July 4, 2013 at 2:27 am

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the fireworks cupcakes! I can’t believe your family was making fun. They’re so fun and cute! And so are the strawberry cupcakes. You’re so creative!

    We’ve had a phenomenal weather week here. Summer has finally arrived. The rain is gone. Temps are warm, humidity low. I hope you get some of this and soon! You need a sloth day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 4, 2013 at 2:32 am

      Funny – I just came from your site and was thinking how creative you are, and felt a little pang of jealousy hit. But I guess I have my own sort of creativity. Sparked by Pinterest of course.
      The best part of those cupcakes was listening to the crackling of the Pop Rocks while I made the fireworks. It went on for an hour or more!
      I’m hoping I can sloth on Friday. Wish me luck.

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    July 7, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    It’s either raining or a million degrees over here. Needless to say, I am not loving the weather lately.

    But my goodness – those cupcakes look absolutely amazing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2013 at 12:54 pm

      Seems like none of us are getting a good balance of weather. Too hot. Too dry. Too rainy.
      Not fun.
      But the cupcakes were a good effect of the rainy weather. Glad you like them!

       
  5. agg79

    July 9, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Happy 4th. Love the cupcakes. I know they were hit with the rest of the crew.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      Sorry you didn’t have such a happy 4th. You were sick over the holiday, right? I may have had to work, but at least I felt good.
      Good to see you back in the groove again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
