RSS

It’s an honor just to be nominated.

09 Jul

I love the customer service and hospitality field.  I love helping people and making them happy.  My hotel job is perfect for me.

Quite often guests will write in, gushing about how much they enjoyed their stay, and often they will name me specifically.  My bosses will let me read what they say, and for the rest of the day I feel warm and tingly.

But even if they didn’t write in, I would still be just as helpful, friendly, and accommodating as always.  I do it because I love it.  Not because they write nice things.

When I came into work on the Saturday morning of a very busy Fourth of July weekend, my immediate boss greeted me with “Speak of the devil…..”.  I wondered who he was speaking with, since nobody else was in the office at the time.  Then he showed me a letter he was writing.  It was full of praise and many examples of how hospitable I am, and it included praises from some of my past guests.  He explained he was nominating me for the hospitality award that the CVC (Convention and Visitor’s Commission) is offering to all businesses in the St. Louis area.  He thought I would make a good candidate.  I was quite honored!

That afternoon, I was catching up on some paperwork in the back office, when my other immediate boss, who is fairly new to the job,  began asking me questions about my past hotel experience.  I’d explained I’ve only been in the business for 3 1/2 years.  He seemed surprised.  “I thought you would have been here much longer considering how good you are.”

Awww….

A few minutes later he said.  “Well, I hope you win.”

??  Did he know about the nomination ??

I looked at him, questioningly.  “I’m nominating you for the hospitality award that the CVC is offering.  I think you’re a great candidate and I hope you win.”

“Really?  ______  nominated me for that as well.”  He looked surprised.  “I had no idea,” he said.  “I just  received an email from them and thought of you right away.”

Wow.

I do what I do, and I go the extra mile to make people happy, because I LIKE to make people happy.  I work hard and get paid very little, but none of that matters.  I LIKE to make people happy.

But I have to say, having others notice what I do, guests and managers alike, makes ME happy.

So it’s an honor to be nominated.  

I just hope I don’t win.

Nothing stresses me more than having to pose for a picture.   

Unless I’m allowed to do this…..

 

no pics please

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2013 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “It’s an honor just to be nominated.

  1. Rock Chef

    July 9, 2013 at 8:56 am

    Hah, I looks just like a lot of my photos of my daughter! 🙂

    I think it would be great if you won – just think of the blog posts! And the trade magazines could print that photo of you too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      My hubby gets so mad when I put out my hand or look away, so I’m trying to get better, but it makes me uncomfortable. Especially when it’s posed. I’m too critical of myself. :/

       
  2. agg79

    July 9, 2013 at 9:47 am

    With your attitude and spirit, I think you are a shoe-in for the award. I’d vote for you. It would really be tres cool if you did win the award. Just think – maybe they could use your picture in the visitor brochure – the face of St. Louis.

     
    • agg79

      July 9, 2013 at 9:58 am

      I was wondering if Ms Wi11iams will be voting for you as well?

       
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2013 at 12:44 pm

      Oh that would be funny!
      But not really. The thought of that really makes my tummy hurt. In fact, maybe the next time I go into work, I won’t be so nice….

      Oh yeah… what did Ms. Wi11iams say – that I was “pleasant”? I’m sure I’ve got her vote. 😉

       
  3. Abby

    July 10, 2013 at 12:58 am

    SPEECH! SPEECH! (or is it too early?)

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 10, 2013 at 1:46 am

      Oh GAWD. A speech? The one thing that scares me more than getting my picture taken is giving a speech!
      I don’t wanna win!

       
  4. Dad

    July 10, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    Congratulations. I am really proud of you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Aww Dad! I’m proud that you were able to figure out how to comment! 🙂
      I’ll let you know if I win. But I really mean it when I say I hope I don’t. Don’t like all that attention. I really am thrilled just to be nominated.

       
  5. territerri

    July 16, 2013 at 1:26 am

    Congratulations on your nomination! I’m not surprised at all. It’s easy to tell you like to bring happiness to others. Otherwise, why would you spend your days off making your amazing cupcakes for others?

    I know exactly what you mean when you say you just like to do what you do, but it’s nice to get confirmation now and then. When I first started with my company, I was in Customer Service. I had a few occasions when a boss forwarded me a voicemail or email from a happy customer who wanted someone higher up to know what a good job I’d done for them. That is one of the best feelings in the world!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    July 16, 2013 at 1:37 am

    I’ve always been eager to please. A good trait to have in the customer service field. So yes, it’s great getting notes of praise. Then I know I really am pleasing them. 🙂
    I bet you were great in the customer service field!

     
  7. meleah rebeccah

    July 16, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Awwww! How wonderful to be recognized for the hard work you do! And I know you’re good at your job – because you like taking care of people – but still what an honor indeed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
