RSS

Neglect

17 Jul

When I was a little girl, I thought it would be so cool to have a real live plant in my room.  My parents, who knew way more about my abilities than I did, agreed to let me pick out a cactus.  Mom explained how it only needed a little bit of water, since it could store it in its stems.

I carefully placed it on my windowsill and gently placed a few drops of water in the pot.  That whole day I was a very dedicated plant owner.

I might have taken care of it for more than one day.  I don’t remember.  But I DO remember pulling up my shade one day and thinking Oh yeah!  I have a plant!

That plant, having been neglected for weeks, possibly months, was thriving.  It had grown almost twice it’s original size despite my neglect.  Or perhaps, because of it.

Many years later, I’m still neglectful of plants, trees, my garden, the lawn.  Until Hubby’s parents died and we inherited a few plants from the funeral, I’d given up on having plants in the house.  I realized how stress free it was to not have to care for yet one more living thing.  I figured it was more important to keep the kids alive.

So I let the plants go, and let the garden go, but kept the trees and the lawn (at Hubby’s insistence.)

We’re not huge care takers of our lawn.  We don’t water it, we rarely fertilize and spray for weeds, and we mow it only when absolutely necessary.  Yet it looks beautiful.

As I was out mowing today, it occurred to me how much nicer our lawn looks compared to our neighbor’s.  He’s a horticulturist.  His lawn should be putting ours to shame.  But his lawn gets mowed every other day by either him or his boys.   And they cut it short each time.

His lawn is very patchy, has lots of clover, and appears to be stunted.

Ours is virtually free of weeds, thick and green.  Seems like neglect is working in my favor again.  By letting the lawn grow, the thick grass is keeping out the weeds, and leaving us with a carpet-like lawn.   Not perfect.  But so much better than his.

What I don’t understand is why neglect isn’t working for my bathrooms.  I mean, I let them go for weeks, and when I go check on them, they’re not thriving at all.  Well, maybe something in there is thriving,  but it’s obvious they don’t like to be neglected.

So I guess neglect isn’t the answer to everything, although, after a few weeks of neglect my bathrooms look incredible when I finally do clean them.

housework

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2013 in Everyday Living, Humor

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Neglect

  1. territerri

    July 17, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Gosh, I have the same problem with my bathrooms! Dang things just insist on having a LOT of attention. Sheesh.

    I have a few plants. They get watered once a week, if I remember. The lawn is my hubby’s problem. It looks great, no thanks to me.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2013 at 2:19 am

      Our next house will have ONE bathroom. Unless Mario goes with us. Surely I can keep up with one. And Mario’ll just have to take care of her own.
      The plants I’ve inherited from the funerals are still alive. And they’re not even cacti! 🙂 I’m trying hard not to neglect them.

       
  2. llcooljoe

    July 17, 2013 at 6:29 am

    We cheat, we have a company that feed and weed our lawn 3 times a year, but I do have to cut it. It normally looks good but as we are having a heatwave here in the UK it now looks crap. Your neighbours cut their grass every day?? Wow, that’s dedication, or they just need to get a life!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      Yeah. A heat wave would do ours in too. But when the weather cooperates, it’s a nice looking lawn. Despite my lack of effort.
      My neighbors…. they just need a life.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    July 17, 2013 at 6:29 am

    Hey it worked!

     
  4. agg79

    July 17, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Funny – I think my horticulture skills are about the same. The more I work to take care of the yard, the worse it looks. The only things I do to my yard now is simply fertilize it once or twice a year and then nuke it for ants/chinch bugs. I planted some Vinca back in late April for some color but somebody forgot to water it while I was over in Europe and temps were hovering around 100 degrees. Now I have some really nice looking sticks. Now, if only our bathrooms would follow the same pattern.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2013 at 2:18 pm

      I’m beginning to think neglect really only works with cacti. Hopefully that somebody that forgot to water the Vinca, at least remembered to water the dogs. 😉

       
  5. Rock Chef

    July 17, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    Yeah, some things happily carry on without you – housework is not one of them 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      I know. I keep trying the neglect tactic. It’s not working.

       
  6. Abby

    July 17, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Lawns are funny that way. Throw some poop on ’em and leave them alone and they look great. Not the same for bathrooms.
    I’ve mostly given up on houseplants, I’ve murdered too many.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 17, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      Perhaps we should ALL just use the yard. Then they’d both look good.

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 17, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    You are so funny! I wasn’t expecting the bathroom twist! LOL! You made me laugh! I actually have a green thumb (you might too, even without caring about it… and that’s why your plants survive in spite of the care) When living in Wisconsin we had beautiful rose bushes… we did nothing for them (they were hubby’s and I was pregnant and miserable most of the time while we lived there so I didn’t do anything either) and they barely had any leaves but were like heavy bunches of roses… they were gorgeous! People asked him all the time what he did to them to keep them so beautiful and he always said: “I just let them die” LOL! … I do care about plants and I used to have a garden in a place where gardens weren’t meant to survive… living now in an apartment a friend of mine gave me a miniature rose bush and I was determined to make it live… it’s now in a bigger pot outside and thriving! I do go say hi to it every morning! Love it! 🙂 Anyway… neglect, right? You should come and look at my house! OY!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 18, 2013 at 3:09 am

      Is that all I have to do to keep ’em alive? Just say hi? I can do that!
      And YOU may neglect your house, but I happen to know your hubby is a pretty good housekeeper. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
