RSS

Go Ahead, Pass the Salt

24 Jul

Our heat wave is about to break, and not a day too soon.  I got back from my run at 6:30 this morning, and as soon as I stopped, the real sweatin’ began.  As I stretched my legs, salty water dripped from every part of me. Had I stayed still, I’m sure I could’ve formed an ocean on my driveway.

I walked in the house licking the salt from my lips and feeling gritty all over.  I’m usually a salty sweater, but today I felt like I’d taken a dip in the ocean.  **sigh**   If only…….

It got me thinkin’.  I love salt.  I crave salt.  I eat salt on just about anything. Even my ice cream.  Oh, relax.  I don’t salt my ice cream, but I love to add peanuts to it or eat something salty along with it.

I got a little nervous.  Maybe I was eating too much salt.  So I did some research.

Turns out, some of us are just salty sweaters.   And because we sweat out so much salt, it is advised that we take in more sodium to replenish what we’ve lost.

Okay!

I feel so much better knowing that I crave salt because I’m a salty sweater, and that I’m not a salty sweater because I crave salt.

?

Well, I understand it.

I’m just hopin’ my doctor does too.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Go Ahead, Pass the Salt

  1. Rock Chef

    July 24, 2013 at 10:03 am

    Yeah, running low on salt can really mess you up in hot weather. That is good, because I like lots of salt on my chips…

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      You always hear bad things about salt, so I would feel slightly guilty dumping lots of salt on my food. But now I now I NEED it. 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    July 24, 2013 at 11:10 am

    With the heat and humidity down here, whenever I run I am pretty much soaked before I hit the first mile.

    I remember from my early days in the Army and scouts we used to take salt tablets in the hot summers. Of course, that was before salt was deemed bad for you. I still put salt on a lot of my food.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      Oh yeah… I sweat a lot here, but down there it was worse. Here, I don’t really start a full-blown sweat until I’ve finished running. In San Antonio, I walked outside and began sweatin’. 🙂
      I don’t mind sweating, but some days my skin and lips feel just like I’ve been swimming in salt water. I can see why the Army would have given you salt tablets. Too much is bad, I know, but it’s also bad to not replenish. Bring on the salty popcorn!

       
  3. Abby

    July 24, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Interesting! Some just sweat out more salt than others? Usually we are told to cut back on salt, but like RC says, it’s definitely not good to be low, especially for active people. I once had a doctor tell me to take salt tablets for some weird symptoms I was having. Yuck. I just ate more chips and pretzels.
    And yeah, you had me wondering at first about that salt-on-the-ice-cream revelation!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      Yep. That’s what I read. And you know who we are because you can actually see the dried salt on our skin and clothing. I’m just glad it’s NOT because I eat too much salt. I just need to be sure I get enough to replenish what I lose. I’d much prefer salty popcorn over salt tablets.
      I’ve always loved a sweet/salty combination. Especially with caramel. Mmmm – mmm – mmm.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 25, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Very interesting! Wow… it makes sense your body asks for all that salt then! I have no excuse… I even barely sweat… 😦 and I tend to retain liquids… interestingly in my latest tests I got all my sodium levels in the “ideal” place… which is a good thing because I do love salt too! I was worried as well… 🙂 Go ahead… make your life saltier then 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 27, 2013 at 1:26 am

      Hard to believe you barely sweat down there! My clothes are soaked when I get home. And sometimes I feel the grit from all the salt. :/
      So yep, I don’t feel near as guilty now being attached to the salt shaker!

       
  5. territerri

    July 31, 2013 at 12:53 am

    I’m a salt-o-holic. And I’m not that big of a sweater, much less a salty sweater, so I still have to feel guilty about my salt intake. But apparently not enough to change my ways.

    It was hot, hot, HOT here. And then it wasn’t. This weather is SO strange!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 31, 2013 at 1:49 am

      I’d love salt even if I didn’t sweat. Why does it get such a bad rap?
      Crazy weather indeed! I sure hope the summer heat isn’t over yet. I wasn’t REALLY complaining.

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    August 4, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    I use a lot of salt too – and according to my blood work – my sodium is super low – so YAY for MORE salt!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      Oh yay! You have a good excuse too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
