RSS

Satisfied

29 Jul

I have a slight obsession with customer service.  Whether I’m on the giving or receiving end of it, it’s what differentiates the good companies from the BEST companies.

I’ve told my hubby before, if all hotels were as customer service oriented as ours (we just won our 8th J.D. Power Award in a row!), and if all airlines were like Southwest, and if all grocery stores were like Dierbergs, then people would be totally satisfied when traveling, flying, and shopping for food. In my opinion, of course.

Just recently I was on the receiving end of an internet company that has provided the best customer service I have come across in quite a while.

Remember when I bought my new shoes?  I did lots of research on the type of shoe I wanted and decided on the Brooks Pure Connects.  I did some comparison shopping and found Zappos had a pretty good deal.  Tax was included and shipping was free.

A few days later they were on my doorstep.  When I opened the box my first thought was they were kid shoes. They looked small!  I tried them on and they fit like a glove sock.  Only slightly worried, I wore them around the house for a while, and then anxiously took them on an early morning run the next day.  One mile into the run I felt a blister forming on my heel.  By miles 2 and 3, the pain was worsening, but as I usually do, I continued on. By mile 5, the pain was beginning to go away, so I figured I musta loosened ’em up.  I finished my 6 mile run pretty happy with the shoes.

Before my next run, I bandaged up my heel and bounded down the stairs.  I made it two miles before the band-aid slipped off and the pain began.  Again, I stubbornly finished my run, and immediately took my shoes off when I hit the driveway.

Feeling frustrated, but not beaten, I decided to give it one more try.  I don’t know why.  I really am bull-headed, and since I couldn’t return them now that I’d run 12 miles in ’em. I figured I’d just loosen up the laces a bit more, and go for it.

I made it five miles.  By this time, my heel had a hole the size of a small crater.  It hurt like heck.  And so did my heart.  I’d been so happy to get the shoes, and I felt totally lost at what to do.

Heartbroken, I called a Zappos representative and pleaded my case.  I immediately perked up when she told me I could do a one time return of a used item because I was a valued customer!  My new Pure Connects in a bigger size would be here the NEXT day, and I had a few weeks to return my old pair.   And better yet, she was going to upgrade me to a VIP customer which means all my purchases from now on will be delivered the next day at no charge!

THAT is customer service.  Sure, they lost a bit of money by allowing me to return shoes they would not be able to sell again, but they gained a happy customer.  I will absolutely order from them again, just because they made it so easy for me this time around.

I asked my hubby what he knew about the company – being the savvy business guy he is.  He’d studied them and knew they focused on customer service.  Their motto is to take care of the customer no matter what. Sounds very much like our motto at the hotel.

I am now the happy owner of a size 9 pair of Brooks.  After letting my heel heal, I took my new pair out on a test run.

I made it 6 miles pain free – and in record time!

Woohoo!  (as my new friend, Zappos, and I always say.)

customer-service-quote

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Satisfied

  1. agg79

    July 29, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Pretty good testimonial for a company. To me, service after the sale is the fundamental key to repeat business. I don’t care how much I love the product, if the customer service is crappy or indifferent, I will not use them again. Some companies get it, others don’t.

    I meant to ask – you run in your Brooks without socks?

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 29, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      Some companies think watching the bottom line is the way to make money. Other companies realize it’s repeat business and referrals to others that makes money. They are the ones that keep their customers happy.
      I do not run without socks. I tried it once in my Nike Frees and had blisters galore. Even with socks, the size 8 Brooks caused a blister on my heel. I believe Abby may go without though….

       
      • Abby

        July 30, 2013 at 5:08 pm

        I do run sockless, except when it becomes too cold for the tootsies. Just one less thing to think about…

         
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 29, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    That’s awesome! I am so happy they did that for you! Customer service sure makes the difference! You might even be willing to pay a little more for something if the customer service is that good! Reminded me of this letter (maybe you’ve already seen it on FB)
    : http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4088135/Sainsburys-news-Lily-Robinson-3-inspires-supermarket-into-major-rethink-on-name-of-its-crusty-bread-which-she-says-looks-like-a-giraffe.html

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2013 at 1:58 am

      What a sweet story! I hadn’t seen it on FB so thanks for sharing!

       
  3. Abby

    July 29, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    Wow, great endorsement! I’d heard of zappos but don’t typically mail order shoes.
    It often surprises me when some companies don’t understand that their existence depends on customers. How refreshing to find one that gets it! Run happy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2013 at 2:01 am

      I was right to be nervous about ordering shoes online I have never tried on before. I got lucky with Zappos. I was fully prepared to put up a fight if necessary, but was never given the chance. From the get-go she was willing to make it right by me. So yep. Now I can run happy! 🙂

       
  4. territerri

    July 31, 2013 at 12:56 am

    And based on the fact that you are spreading the good word about Zappos, I will definitely check them out. I do a lot of online shopping and am sure to buy something from them in the near future.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 31, 2013 at 1:44 am

      I’ve only ordered one thing from them, but I am TOTALLY impressed. So yeah, check ’em out!

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    August 4, 2013 at 9:35 pm

    Woooooot! Good for you – and kudos to Zappos for such excellent customer service!

     

Leave a Reply

 
