RSS

Culmination

01 Aug

I don’t know about you, but my summer has flown by.  Actually that’s not true.  I DO know about you, and most of you are saying your summer has flown by too.

School will be starting in a few weeks.  That’s a good thing.  The boys weren’t as sloth-like as I had originally feared, but they weren’t exactly go-getters either.

As summer vacation comes to a close, I thought it would be fun to follow in Abby’s footsteps, who followed in Mama Kat’s footsteps, and list the top 6 moments of my summer so far.

Number one:  Meeting up with Agg during our trip to San Antonio.  If you remember, he drove three hours to spend about that same length of time with me and the fam.  I felt like I’d known him forever, and we had a great time taking in the sights and sounds and food of San Antonio.   Tres Cool, as he would say!

Number two:  Giving Link permission to quit his job since he’s signed up for school.  In OHIO!  He leaves in a few weeks.  He’ll be staying with his friends for a few months, before moving in with a different guy.  All his classes are in order, and our fingers are crossed that this is his final plan!

Number three:  Saying goodbye to Chip, who at 19 took a week long road trip with his grade school buddy to Florida.  Saying goodbye wasn’t a top moment – in fact, it was a pretty low moment.  I was scared, worried, and sad that he’d be gone so long.  But feeling proud of him for planning it all out, navigating the interstates, and acting all adult-like, was a great moment!  And now that he’s had a taste of freedom, school, a full-time job, and moving out of the house suddenly look attractive to him.  Woohoo!

Number four:  Listening to my daughter master Pachelbel’s Canon in D on the piano.  She sits for hours playing it over and over again, and often will just repeat one part of it til she has it down.  It’s loud.  No one can talk during it.  But it’s beautiful, and I’m proud of her diligence.  Perhaps I’ll share it with you all once she can make it through the whole piece without stuttering.

Number five:  Realizing it’s okay that I stir my Fage yogurt.  For months I’ve been dumping the fruit into the yogurt and stirring til it was completely mixed.  Then one day, I looked closely at the directions.  “Please do not stir.” it said.  I felt sick.  All this time I’ve been doing it wrong!  Me!  Miss Goody-Two-Shoes!  So I went hunting on-line for the reason.  Turns out it’s just a preference thing.  Whew.  I prefer mine to be stirred.

Number six:  Saying yes to a co-worker who asked me to bake a cake for her.  Correction.  Multiple cakes.  All with white icing (but multiple cake flavors).  All decorated fancily.  All for her daughter’s special Quinceañera – Sweet 15 – which will have 250 people in attendance.  Oh who am I kidding.  That wasn’t a terrific summer moment.  In fact, I think it was my lowest moment.  What the heck was I thinking!?  At least I have til mid-August to make ’em.  (The procrastinator in me is definitely standing strong!)

As you can see, it’s been a pretty good summer so far and the fun hasn’t ended yet.  Hubby and I have plane tickets to Orlando in September. He’s going for business.  I’m tagging along to check out our new hotel, and to see if we’d be happy calling that area home.  (Not Orlando necessarily, but perhaps some locations nearer the beach.  I’ve already proven I don’t mind a long commute.)

In other good news, Amp has started band camp, so for two weeks he’ll be the antithesis of a sloth.  Come to think of it, he may have had the right idea to store up energy all summer long for these two weeks.  10 hours a day of marching and playing can be pretty grueling.

The start of band camp and the fact that Mario is now taking her classroom portion of Driver’s Ed is a sad reminder that summer is coming to a close.  I don’t mind the end of summer vacation, but I’m in NO way ready for the heat to leave.  I must get a few more miles on my Shadow first!  One long trip does not a summer make!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2013 in Family, Parenting, Vacation

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “Culmination

  1. Rock Chef

    August 1, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Well you have had an eventful summer so far and I hope you do get out on Shadow a few more times before the weather turns….

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2013 at 12:06 am

      Yes, it’s been a good summer, but I always have high hopes for lotsa motorcycle rides and it never seems we have the chance. Maybe that’s why I enjoy it so much when we finally can go!

       
  2. Abby

    August 1, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    The school district next to ours started school today. Today!! What??
    I think you’ve had an eventful summer! I didn’t meet any blog friends this summer *boo hoo*. Watching the kids get more independent is scary but good. And are 10 hours per day of band camp required to tell those “This one time? At band camp?” stories?
    Have fun making those cakes! And what’s up with the yogurt control freaks??

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2013 at 12:12 am

      It started TODAY? What??
      Perhaps next year you’ll get the chance to meet a blog friend or two. I’ve got my fingers crossed for ya.
      My sweet little boy is not allowed to have “This one time? At band camp?” stories.
      And the cakes! I’m excited and nervous and pinning like crazy. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    August 2, 2013 at 3:11 am

    That is one great summer adventure although I have to admit I am embarrassed to be your #1 adventure. I figure at least #5 or #6. I only wish we had much longer to really explore the San Antonio area – I know a few dives/places you guys would might have really liked.

    I think you have done a lot this summer. With what Chip and Amp have done this summer, I am impressed how you handled it. I would have been a basket case. Don’t tell Mario and I know you are probably tired of hearing it, but,Pachelbel’s Cannon is one of my all time favorites

    Good luck to AMP at band camp. Stephen did it for several summers and it was a serious work out (lost 15 lbs one year).

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 3, 2013 at 12:08 am

      The only thing that would have made our meet-up better would have been to have more time. Either way, I was excited to meet you in person. THAT’s why it was number one. 🙂
      Mario just about has Canon mastered. I’ll record her soon so YOU can listen to it over and over again.
      Band camp can be really grueling but so much fun! I loved my days of it. And Amp would agree he could use a bit more exercise to offset his peanut butter addiction.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 2, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    You have truly had an excellent summer! No wonder it’s flown by for you! My days are pretty much the same summer or not, with the girls being at home with me always 😀 and Texas being so hot most of the time anyway! LOL! I still hate we couldn’t get together when you were “So close” but I do know it will happen some day! Enjoy the trips you add to your shadow… (although have I mentioned how much I hate motorcycles? sorry! LOL)

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 3, 2013 at 12:10 am

      I have a good feeling about a meet-up with you someday. I’ll just have to remember not to bring my motorcycle. 🙂

       
  5. lottajoy

    August 4, 2013 at 1:41 am

    As busy as you are, it could be the middle of winter and you’d not know it. Just keep baking cakes and stirring your yogurt and never go outside.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2013 at 1:36 pm

      That’s the way I’d like my winters to go – be so busy I don’t even KNOW it’s winter. Unfortunately, those days seem to crawl by and the summers fly. If only we lived in Floruba……

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    August 4, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    What a lovely summer indeed!

    I’ve been SOOOO busy with family stuff & my brothers upcoming wedding I haven’t been online very often. I hope that when September rolls around – things will calm down over here and I can get back to normal!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      Normal? Is there such a thing?
      I now keep up with your goings on through FB, and even though I miss your blog, at least I know what you’ve been up to! Exciting stuff you have coming up!

       
  7. territerri

    August 5, 2013 at 2:30 am

    Well if I can get back into a blog groove, maybe I’ll copy this idea too!

    Sounds like you’ve had a busy and eventful summer. Your kids are growing up and all doing positive things. You have much to be proud of! I hope the summer hangs around long enough for you to get a few more rides in on the Shadow.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      This is a great prompt to jump start your blog groove!
      I love seeing my kids grow up and want to be independent. Not because I don’t want them here, but because they’ll experience their own pride and self-worth. That’s what leads to happiness – which is all I’ve ever wanted for them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
