RSS

Thank Goodness It’s Sunday

05 Aug

If my good hotel stories could spread themselves out over time, I’d probably blog more frequently.  

But noooo… they all happen in one weekend.  And they’re really not good.  I mean, they’re good stories, but not good stories.   Well, you’ll see what I mean.

When I arrived early Saturday morning, the lobby was crawling with old people. Saturday was the day their River Boat Cruise was to board, and they were up early to ensure they had enough time to catch the shuttle to the riverfront.  (Keep in mind this shuttle does not belong to the hotel. It’s set up through the cruise line.) 

One particular gentleman was traveling on his own.  He was 90 years old, fairly deaf, and unable to walk long distances.  When he arrived at our hotel Friday night, Tei, checked him in.  Little did she know she would be his caretaker the rest of the night, and then again the next morning.  She retrieved our wheelchair from the closet and wheeled him to his room.  That evening, a different staff member, brought him down for the evening drinks and appetizers.  Saturday morning, Tei was back at work, fielding phone calls from his daughters.  They were quite nervous about him, and asked if we had seen him yet, and how was he doing, and are you able to help him?  She took it upon herself to make sure he got breakfast, and was packed up, and ready to board the cruise.  

He came down just as the shuttle (bus) pulled up front.  I went out and helped him up the bus stairs, then came back to address the rest of the elders, all gathered together with their huge suitcases. A few of them lined up to ask me if that was their shuttle.  I replied, “Yes.  This is the shuttle.  If you don’t mind, we’ll have the ones who have trouble walking load first.”  I kid you not – EVERY one of them immediately grabbed their cane, or claimed they’d just had a stroke, or spoke up about their husbands inability to walk without help.  I let out a big sigh, and just let them fight it out.  

In the midst of it all, I noticed a young couple in line.  By young, I mean 60-ish.  I sure hope my face didn’t show the concern I was feeling inside that this poor couple would most likely be the caretakers of  all their cruise mates.  

Once loaded, the bus sat in place for another 20 minutes.  I went out to make sure every one on the list was aboard, and then since it was time, I let the bus driver know he could leave.

A half hour later, an elderly lady approached the desk.  “Isn’t there a shuttle to the boat?” she asked.  I informed her the shuttle left at 10:30, and asked what time she had come down.  

“Well, I’ve been sitting in that chair for the past hour and nobody told me the shuttle was here.”   She pointed to the place where tons of people just like her had once been.  

I looked at Tei who knew exactly what I was thinking. “How could you NOT have noticed the crowd of old people surrounding you, struggling with suitcases and canes while boarding a bus and NOT think you probably should be too!?”

Out loud I said, “Oh!  I’m so sorry we didn’t let you know.  I’ll have a taxi bring you there, and we’ll gladly cover the charges for it.”

I called Salim and explained the situation.  He pulled to the front of the hotel shortly after we hung up, and I directed Miss Oblivious to the front door.

A few minutes later, Salim calls.  “Ummm… Row-byn… that wasn’t ME in that taxi.  That lady went with someone else.”

OMG.  THAT taxi driver, in the same type of cab Salim drives, doesn’t know not to charge her!  This was going from bad to worse!  I imagine the fight those two must be having, and how Miss Oblivious must now be totally ticked at our obvious ineptness.  

So later, when THAT taxi driver plowed in front of other guests, and insisted payment from us, I couldn’t have been happier.  I gushed my thanks to him for not charging her and gladly handed over his money to him.  

Once the fires were all put out, I looked at the clock feeling like I’d put in an 8 hour day already.  It was 10:00.  TEN O’CLOCK!  I’d only been there three hours! 

Luckily, the rest of Saturday went smoothly.  Then came Sunday.

I walked into the hotel a few minutes before my 6 AM shift and was immediately greeted by the non-lying Night Auditor with “Hey!  Did you see all the blood outside?”

What?  NO!  What happened?

He proceeded in his rambunctious-I’ve-been-up-all-night manner, that about an hour earlier there had been a family fight, and the nephew had slit the uncle’s throat, who then walked into the hotel with blood gushing everywhere saying he didn’t want to die.  The auditor called the police and 911, and then worked to get most of the blood cleaned up before our well-behaved guests woke up for breakfast.

Lovely way to start a Sunday morning.  

We soon learned the uncle was going to live, and after two hours of scrubbing, the walk out front no longer looked like a slaughter house.  The rest of the day was smooth sailing.  

And then…

My manager broke the news that they were going to let Tei go.  A few weeks ago, this wouldn’t have surprised me – her survey scores were consistently low and she misplaced money two different times.  But since her review, it’s been quite obvious that she’s really trying to be more friendly, caring, and helpful (remember the wheelchair guy?), and she’s always been a great task-doer.  Yet her survey scores remained low.  So the boss said she needs to be pulled off the desk today.  With no other viable position for her, the only thing to do was let her go.

My heart’s still breaking, but I’m trying not to worry for her.  I really feel she’ll excel at a job that doesn’t involve so much customer service.  She’s young, reliable, and a hard worker – I hope she doesn’t let this bring her down.

For not being sold out, this weekend sure had its share of events.  I certainly hope we got it all out of the way, because starting tomorrow, we will have a full house every night of the week.  We’re hoping not to have any more drama or overly needy guests.

– but I’m sure we’ll miss Tei.  She may not have been the friendliest of the bunch, but she could knock out some check-ins like nobody’s business.  

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2013 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Thank Goodness It’s Sunday

  1. territerri

    August 5, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Talk about a stressful weekend! I’m impressed with your ability to handle such situations with grace and let things roll off your back when I’m sure you’d like to put someone in their place. (I could take a lesson!)

    A slit throat??? I’m not sure I could handle that one. I hope the coming week goes smoothly!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2013 at 1:48 pm

      Out front, I have grace. In the back, I’m pulling out my hair! 🙂
      We’ve had a few domestic disputes in the hotel, but never anything like attempted murder. And what’s scary is they didn’t look sketchy. We never would have guessed at check-in that they would have been capable of doing something like that. Luckily it has a happy (I guess) ending in that he will survive.

       
  2. meleah rebeccah

    August 5, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    I can’t stop laughing over Mrs Oblivious. And I’m also glad the wrong Taxi driver got her to the cruise boat!

    And excuse me for screaming “HOLY SHIT!” after reading about the nephew who slit his uncle’s throat. THAT IS CRAAAAAAAZY!

    Here’s hoping Tei gets a new job soon. A shame they had to let her go – but business is business.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 6, 2013 at 1:59 am

      Thank goodness we have the Miss Oblivious’s of the world to offset the throat slitters. And luckily we have more of the first than the second…
      I found out today they asked Tei to resign, which is great for her future job opportunities. I think they’ll support her efforts in finding something else.

       
  3. Abby

    August 5, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    I’m sorry about Tei, just from how she handled Mr. 90-years-old-traveling-alone-while-kids-are-freaking-out. But the slit-throat-blood-gushing Uncle – there’s some excitement for ya! Yeah, love these stories from the warfront. Makes me nostalgic for my hoteling days. Kinda.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 6, 2013 at 2:06 am

      I’m very sad about Tei – especially since she was REALLY putting forth the effort to improve her customer service abilities. Like I said, two weeks ago I would have understood. But the past two weeks she’s tried so hard to improve – and then she gets this news. I’m glad I didn’t have to deliver it, and the managers that did were told that morning that she had to go today. I’m sure they feel the same as I do.
      If all my hotel stories were like the throat-slittin’ one, I think I’d be finding another job. Luckily most of our stories are similar to the Miss Oblivious ones.

       
  4. lottajoy

    August 6, 2013 at 2:34 am

    First: Thank you for calling the sixty-ish couple “young”.
    Second: Every time I see really, really old people staggering around looking vacant, but doing more than I get to, I always look at Joe and say “PLEASE leave me at home when I get like that”.
    Third: Do they even remember they went somewhere?
    Four: ALL old people seem to be from Massachusetts down here and they already have a bad, obnoxious attitude.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 6, 2013 at 2:45 am

      I think Miss Oblivious didn’t remember what she was waiting for. And many times we all said, “If I ever get like that…..”
      If you want to feel and look young, surround yourself with people who are going on a riverboat cruise up the Mississippi.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 8, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Sorry it took me a while to stop by! I have been so selfish these last few days (weeks? Months? years???) anyway… wow! what a weekend! Crazy! It must be hard to get so old… I always tell my dad how scary that is and he always says: “and that’s when the stories have a happy ending! it’s scarier not getting there” and it’s true… right? But I just feel sad to think that some day I will not be seen as “smart and witty” but annoying and… oblivious! LOL! (I AM ALREADY!!!) that lady… oh my goodness! How did she manage to not even notice? I wonder if she was even there the whole time to begin with! And then that family with the blood bath? horrible! where is it all going to end??? and then poor Tei! I am so sorry! That must be hard… 😦 Hopefully this week has already gone better! Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2013 at 11:45 pm

      My goodness! Don’t apologize! You’ve got so much going on and deserve to be a little self-centered!
      I suppose your dad is right – at least they GOT to that age, and they are still TRYING to be active. But poor Ms. Oblivious. I hope to be like my grandma who lived to be in her 90s and was still active and “smart and witty” til the end.
      I’m thinking of texting Tei. This was not the right job for her, but she’s going to make a fabulous employee in an office somewhere. I’d like her to know she can use me as a reference.
      And yep. This week has been much better – even with only having one day off. (I had to cover one of Tei’s shifts….)

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        August 9, 2013 at 12:29 pm

        I had an aunt (great-grand-aunt) who was that way, she was in her 90’s and still active (regardless of the horrible nightmarish / horror-movie-like life she had) she always had a spark in her eye and was always witty as well… I remember her asking me about “the boy I liked” in middle school and I remember telling her everything because it was like talking with someone YOUNG… I hope I get to that age like that 😀 … I am sure it will be great for Tei if you call her… you are such an encourager!

         
  6. agg7968Mustang

    August 9, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Wow. That is more excitement and drama than a soap opera (As The Shadow Runs). With that kind of weekend, you definitely need a Calgon break. I am still impressed that you are able to maintain your smile and sense of humor after all that. I would have probably started drinking after one of those days.

    Sorry to hear about Tei but I think the change will be better for her. Unfortunately, that’s one of the unpleasant aspects of being in management. I wish her luck.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 9, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      Hmmm… WordPress didn’t recognize you. Commenting incognito? 🙂
      It was definitely quite a weekend. Thank goodness we don’t have too many of those stories or else my smile would probably vanish.
      I felt bad for my managers since they didn’t want to have to ask her to resign, but yep, it’s part of the job. And since I’d like to move up at some point, I should probably toughen up a bit. I’m a little bit of a pushover….

       
  7. Agg79

    August 11, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Sorry. That’s what you get after 12.5 hours of straight flying time and a 4 hour layover and a couple of Vodka tonics (I think there was a Japanese beer in there somewhere). Besides, I am learning how to work my new toy on the road and, apparently, I have fat fingers…

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 11, 2013 at 4:25 am

      After all that, I’m quite impressed you were able to comment at all!
      And I think it was the 68 Mustang that through WordPress off. How’s she coming along, by the way?

       

Leave a Reply

 
