RSS

Wait! What’s Going on Here?

09 Aug

I was sittin’ on the couch, minding my own business.  It was the end of a long day and I was happily pinning and eating and surfin’ the net when out walked Link.  He’d just begun his day (basically) and was carrying an arm load of stuff.  A rolled up mattress and a cardboard box to be exact.

I looked at him curiously and then focused again on the bowl of ice cream in front of me.

A few minutes later he came out of his room with another armload.  Keep in mind I rarely see Link come out of his cave, so to see him twice, and seemingly doing something was quite unusual.  I had to ask.

“Oh, I’m just going through my stuff and organizing it.  And I may as well keep these things in my car because they’ll be going with me.”

Oh, that’s right.  He’s moving out.  I’ve been looking forward to this time for months now.  I want him to experience independence.  I want him to be with friends.  I want him to be happy.  And in just a few short days he will be!

And I’m a little shocked at how sad I am.

Fast forward a couple of days, and now Chip is going through our old glasses, plates, and silverware and packing up his vehicle.

He and a friend will be moving into a trailer in the next week or two.  They found  a great deal in a town close by that will allow them cheap rent and a taste of independence.

My dreams are coming true.  I should be thrilled!  And I suppose a little part of me is.

But…  But….

THEY’RE LEAVING!

I’ve wanted these days to come, but honestly, I never thought they would, so I’m a little unprepared.  I’m in shock. And maybe a bit in denial. I’ll admit part of me is excited to have less dishes in the sink, fewer cars in the driveway, a little more bandwidth in the house…

but mostly I feel an ache in my heart.

Today, as I listen to the excitement in their voices, and see the glowing smiles on their faces, and watch the interaction between the two as they work together to figure out who gets what, I realize once again, this is a good thing.

And I’m pretty sure I’ll be seeing Chip at least once a week:

washing clothes

And Link, well, he’ll be moving a few states away, so I HOPE he’ll do laundry in between visits.  And as much as I’ll miss him, I’ve got my fingers crossed that this IS his final plan, otherwise the tears will really start flowing….

link

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Wait! What’s Going on Here?

  1. lottajoy

    August 9, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    When my daughter hit age 14, our home became a missile range. Doors slamming. Words being yelled. ME acting worse than she more times than not. When she moved out, I shut the door to her bedroom like a shrine and cried the first time I looked in. Even the moldy sandwiches hidden under her bed made me tear up and miss her.

    Just know you can never win this one.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 10, 2013 at 3:34 am

      I feel lucky that I’ve never had any real blow ups with my kids. (There were quite a few in my own childhood home.) There’ve been other troubles that I’ll be happy to be rid of, but I know there will come a day when I’ll miss having them here, troubles and all.
      I have my hazmat suit ready to go for when Link moves out. Moldy sandwiches will probably be the best things I find.

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 9, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    Oh my goodness! That’s such a big thing! I can imagine all the bitter/sweet mixed feelings you’re experiencing… Hang in there… Prayers going your way for peace and just for a smooth (or at least not too bumpy) transition. BIG HUGS!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 10, 2013 at 3:39 am

      I still think I’m in denial, and when the day actually arrives it’ll hit me like a ton of bricks. I keep having flashbacks of them clinging to my legs, and when I do I have to immediately dismiss it, otherwise I would be a basket case right now.
      I keep telling myself: this is a good thing…. this is a good thing….

       
  3. Abby

    August 10, 2013 at 2:00 am

    Oh bittersweet times, you betcha! Mine are moving just over the hill, but… but… either way, they’re not HERE anymore.
    Yes, this is a good thing. Just keep on saying it.

     
  4. shadowrun300

    August 10, 2013 at 3:43 am

    Exactly. They aren’t HERE.
    Of course, Link is moving way far away, but I really am happy for him. He needs friends, and his friends live there. Yes I’ll miss him and worry for him, but he needs to be happy, and THIS is making him happy.
    I think it’s the combination of them both leaving at once that’s getting to me.
    This is a good thing… this is a good thing….

     
  5. Agg79

    August 12, 2013 at 12:13 am

    That’s one small step for those two, one giant leap for mom. It’s is a sad and joyous time for both. On one hand you are hesitant to have them leave on the other, you want to help the load up the u-haul. Try not to think of the peace & quiet you will have. Less chaos around the house? More me to focus on Amp & Mario? More time on the Shadow? Yea, it will be sad to see them go…

     
  6. shadowrun300

    August 12, 2013 at 4:24 am

    Yeah – it’s that mix of emotions that I’m not liking. I was all ready to pack that u-haul, and now I’m thinking about chaining it to the house… but then I see how happy they are, so I forgo the chains. It’s a battle between my head and my heart. Luckily, my head is winning.

     
  7. territerri

    August 13, 2013 at 12:39 am

    I know how you’re feeling! We just have to keep reminding ourselves that the fact that they’re moving out means that we did our jobs right.And trust me when I tell you that they’ll come back often enough to keep you from really despairing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
