RSS

Take Six

11 Aug

After much sweet talking, an ice cream bribe, and 6 takes, I was able to obtain a video of Mario playing Canon D on the piano.  She took piano lessons for a few years to learn the basics, but quit when it got in the way of other activities.  Even so, she never lost her love of playing and has taught herself quite a few songs.

Having the piano in the living room means we are all blessed with listening to her plink through the notes, playing certain measures over and over and over again.  Chip once whispered in my ear, “Mom.  She’s been playing that song for FIVE hours.”  And I replied, “I know.  But she’s almost got it.”

And when she does, my heart fills with pride listening to her play.  I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do.

Click the pic to listen

Click the pic to listen

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2013 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Take Six

  1. Abby

    August 11, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Ah, Pachelbel’s canon. One of my faves, nice job!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2013 at 4:26 am

      I’ll tell her you said so! She was only slightly embarrassed that I was recording her for my blog. I think she secretly loved that I wanted to show her off. 🙂

       
  2. llcooljoe

    August 12, 2013 at 12:02 am

    She’s good. My two daughters both had piano lessons and were told give up as it was a waste of time! Ha.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2013 at 4:27 am

      My lessons WERE a waste of time, but she has way more ability than I. I hope she keeps it up. Are your daughters musically inclined otherwise?

       
  3. Agg79

    August 12, 2013 at 12:06 am

    Bravo! Bravissimo! Encore!
    One of my longstanding favorites. Great job Mario!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2013 at 4:29 am

      Not bad for a 14 year old. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments!

       
  4. Mike

    August 12, 2013 at 3:29 am

    Very impressive! I always wished I would’ve learned to play the piano as a kid.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2013 at 4:31 am

      Me too! I mean, I took lessons as a kid, and then again as an adult, but I never really “got” it. I think that’s why I love to hear her play.
      (And GREAT to see you again!)

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing! love it… love it… LOVE IT! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2013 at 2:32 am

      Aww! I’m so glad you loved it! I listen to it with a mother’s ears, so I’m a little biased I know. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    August 13, 2013 at 1:01 am

    That is beautiful! Mario is such a talented musician!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2013 at 2:37 am

      She’s persistent for sure! It wasn’t an easy song to learn, but she stuck with it. I’m quite proud! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
