RSS

I made it to the couch on time.

23 Aug

The last cake is baked and frosted and nestled among the edemame, broccoli, and ice cream in my tiny freezer.

My freezer

This is the only picture you’re getting.

Actually, I never thought my freezer was tiny until I tried to squeeze two 2-layer 10″ cakes into it. My other option was to make the trip to my mom’s again and store them in her freezer where I have 5 others. The first three, the ones with the most imperfections, are at the hotel already.

I accepted the challenge.  I finished the challenge.  I will not accept another.

And here, I thought the decision making part was difficult.  Ha!  That was easy peasy compared to the decorating. Trying to make my cakes look like the pictures she showed me was impossible!  I got better with each cake, but even the last one has many imperfections.

Oh well.  The butter makers were happy with my attempts!  Just today I had 16 sticks of butter warming to room temperature.  Yesterday I used 9 sticks to pre-make some frostings, and before that…. well, I wasn’t counting, but I’m sure it was just as many if not more.

It’s all over now, though.  I think I’ve cleaned up the last of the powdered sugar that somehow managed to find it’s way in every nook and cranny of my kitchen.  And the floors have been scrubbed, along with the bottoms of my feet.   (I’ll spare you the details of how I found frosting and chocolate cake between my toes.)

I began today’s final push at 7:30 this morning, and by 7 PM I was literally crawling to the couch desperate for some mind-numbing, ice cream eating, blog reading downtime.

The relief I feel is incredible, even with the little bit of self doubt that keeps creeping in.  I worry so much that she won’t feel they’re worth the price.  But the taste will hopefully make up for the amateurish looks.  Never judge a cake by its frosting.  Isn’t that what they always say?

At least they weren’t as bad as these baking fails:

baking fail 1

 

baking fail 2

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2013 in Baking, Blunders

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “I made it to the couch on time.

  1. llcooljoe

    August 23, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Well done!! I admire anyone that cooks and bakes anything, even the fails!

     
  2. shadowrun300

    August 23, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Well thanks! I love to bake, but I’m more interested in flavors and textures than making them look pretty and professional. Slop on some yummy frosting and be done with it is usually what I do.
    This was a fun challenge, but not one I’m up for doing again.

     
  3. agg79

    August 23, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Great job! When I first read this yesterday, I had to ask myself: Did she really say 10 2 layer cakes??? Are you insane?

    That said, job well done! I am sure the cakes will be the hit of the party, no matter what imperfections might exist (very minor, I am sure). Besides, anytime you have 25 sticks of butter involved, I am sure the results will be great.

    Would be interested to hear how you got frosting and cake between the toes. Trying to mix a cake with your feet? Sounds like an old I Love Lucy episode.

     
  4. shadowrun300

    August 24, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Yep. 10 2 layer cakes, all with a variety of flavors, fillings and frostings. I cleared the shelves in the butter aisle a couple of times.
    I could totally see myself looking like Lucy these past few weeks! I was a mess. The kitchen was a mess. Our fridge was stocked with only cake items. I was way over my head. The feeling of accomplishing such a task while working overtime is pretty rewarding, though. I just never want to do it again.

     
  5. Abby

    August 24, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    Congratulations! I need couch time just thinking about it. But you had some fun, right?? Well, somebody’s gotta keep the butter makers in business anyway. You do realize that, once these cakes are delivered to the public, others will be knocking at your door? Stay STRONG!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 24, 2013 at 7:59 pm

      It WAS fun, in a perverse sort of way.
      The day I brought the final ones in, a different co-worker told me he wished he would have thought to ask me to bake a cake for his daughter’s birthday. I just laughed. At that time it was easy to say no. I hope this isn’t like having babies – where you forget how painful it is so you have another, and another, and another… lol

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 24, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Oh my goodness shadow! I totally can relate to your feelings! Sometimes I wonder why I let myself get into all that trouble! LOL! Sometimes I feel like I’d actually pay someone even more than what they’re paying ME to finish the baking! it’s crazy! I have probably that exact same freezer… so I can relate to the feeling of “this is tiny” -sigh- at least it is done! I can also understand how you feel afterwards… second guessing yourself… I find myself thinking “I hope they never order from me again… and then thinking… I wonder if they will even want to? wait… I hope there was no hair in anything!” LOL! I am very clean and meticulous about how I do things… but… there’s always that afterthought! What if something flew to the batter? what if… what if… ? But… it’s done! don’t worry! I am sure they’ll enjoy their cake! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 24, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      I know! I did it to myself! And there was a time when I considered going to the store and buying them!
      If I had the facilities to make a bunch of cakes – more than 2 cake pans, a bigger mixer, a bigger freezer – it may have been less stressful and taken less time.
      I’ve thought about the hair thing too. I tried to be careful, but you just never know!

       
  7. territerri

    August 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I think you are way too critical of yourself. I’ve seen the stuff you’ve made before and you have real talent and creativity. Whatever imperfections YOU notice will not even draw the attention of your customer or her guests, I’m sure of it!

    So glad you finished this project and I can’t wait to read the blog post where you tell us your customer raved about how great the cakes looked and tasted and how the guests couldn’t stop talking about them! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
