RSS

Life is Good

24 Aug

I’m feeling light as a feather right now.

I delivered the final cakes to the hotel today, and begrudgingly asked my co-worker if she’d like to see them.  I may have mentioned I’m not proud of how they look, so I was very shy about showing them to her.

I opened up the hotel’s freezer door and immediately began apologizing for my ineptness.  She took one look at them and threw her hands to her face.

“They are beautiful!” she said in her sweet Mexican accent.

The hotel freezer

I began pulling them out and pointing out the flaws.  “But see, this one I couldn’t get smooth.  And this one either.  And here I messed up the shells, and here the flowers got squished.”  All the while she gushed over them and thanked me profusely, and then asked me to wait while she ran to her car for the flowers and ribbons. “I can cover that with the flowers, see?”

Then she called her supervisor in to see them, and she gushed over them as well.  “You’re not giving yourself enough credit, ShadowRun,” she told me.  “These are beautiful!”

I quit criticizing the cakes at that point.  They are obviously home-made, and they are very obviously done by an amateur decorator, but for my co-worker, they were just what she wanted for her daughter’s quinceañera.  My heart filled with joy.

All the hard work, all the time I spent, all the stress I put my family through by having only cake ingredients in the fridge (that they weren’t allowed to touch…)

All of it was appreciated ten times over.

What a relief.

I left the hotel grinning from ear to ear, the stress of a very busy three weeks at work and three weeks at home long behind me.

I have earned my couch time, and I just may spend the entire weekend on it.

(That’s right.  You heard me.  I have a weekend.  A REAL weekend.  A Saturday/Sunday weekend.)

Life is good.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in Baking, Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Life is Good

  1. agg79

    August 24, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Quit beating yourself up on how the cakes look. I agree with your co-workers and think they are fantastic. You deserve a pat on the back. Heck, after all that kitchen drama, you deserve a medal (Royal Order of the Culinary Arts!). Now quite being humble and take the praise. You’ve earned it.

    And a WHOLE weekend to goof off? I find it hard to imagine you will spend all of it on the couch. I bet something will get cleaned or cooked. A little “me” time on the Shadow, perhaps??? Enjoy your weekend!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2013 at 12:22 am

      it’s what I do best. Beat myself up. 🙂
      If she was gettin’ it for free it wouldn’t have bothered me as much. I feel better knowing she was so pleased with the way they look. I’ll find out Monday how they tasted….
      Turns out, I spent NONE of my weekend on the couch. And I also spent none of it cleaning or cooking. That just leaves one thing left….

       
  2. territerri

    August 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    SEE? I TOLD you! (I swear, I didn’t peek at this post before I read the last one.) I KNEW she would be thrilled. I think you got bogged down in the feeling of being overwhelmed. You work a LOT at your full-time job and taking on such a huge task in addition to work would make anyone feel anxious and worried.

    Besides, I think homemade cakes, with their flaws and imperfections, are way more special than store bought. Anyone with enough money can go buy a commercial cake. You truly love to bake and decorate and that’s what makes yours a hundred times better.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

      Thanks for the laugh! And the sympathy. I was over-overwhelmed for sure!
      I began to accept the flaws over time because it made them homemade. But it also made me feel bad about charging her so much. Then again, I spent a TON of time on them
      I DO love to bake, but I find it more enjoyable when I’m baking because I want to, not because someone is paying me to.

       
  3. Abby

    August 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I’m not surprised at all at the response. I think you are your own worst critic. Or maybe… I KNOW you’re your own worst critic!? Still, it can be nerve racking to do a project for someone else, and you definitely earned your couch time! Or whatever-you-wanna-do-this-weekend time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2013 at 12:42 am

      I absolutely AM my own worst critic, especially when I’m trying to meet the expectations of someone else.
      But all of that helped me to appreciate my whatever-I-wanted-to-do-weekend time!

       
  4. llcooljoe

    August 26, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I’m so glad that they loved the cakes. How nice of them to be so positive and nice too. Here in the UK people tend to be so unappreciative of stuff, even if it looks wonderful. In fact the more amazing things are, the less people say. Isn’t that horrid?

    Anyway, I hope you had a lovely relaxed weekend. You deserved it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2013 at 1:42 am

      Oh, I know! Being appreciative means so much more than the money I received.
      And my weekend was great! I hope to write about it soon!

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 26, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    I knew it would all be fine! 🙂 So excited you got such a great response though! I am sure it made it all better! What a great thing! So happy for you! We Mexicans can be so sweet like that! LOL! 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2013 at 1:43 am

      Yes you are! Which is why I didn’t say no. I’m so glad YOU can bake your own cakes when your daughters get old enough. lol

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    August 26, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    You’re WAY to hard on yourself! I’m thrilled the cakes went over so well. Good job!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2013 at 1:47 am

      Thanks Meleah! I’m always hard on myself. I used to be WORSE, but I’ve become more accepting of myself as I get older. 10 years ago I would have dumped them all in the trash and started over. (seriously)

       

Leave a Reply

 
