RSS

A Real Weekend

27 Aug

So THIS is what  a real weekend feels like.  I’m tired, I’m sunburned, and my butt hurts.  It was GREAT!

Saturday began with a much needed vacuum of our overly hairy floors.  It felt good to do something around the house that didn’t involve an oven or butter.

After a quick motorcycle ride around the county, we proceeded to get dressed for Hubby’s 30th class reunion.

I was proud of myself for not stressing too much over what to wear.  I have one pair of pants that fit, and one sweater that matched.  I HAD to be happy with it.   (There’s something to be said about having to wear a uniform to work….)

It was nice to hang out with the group of friends we spent so much time with before we all got married and had kids.  We managed to stay out til after midnight but were one of the first to leave.  The others were making plans to hit the next bar.

I had planned to sleep until 7:30 AM, (an eternity for me) but certain “needs” woke me a little before 7.   I didn’t bother going back to bed, thinking an extra cup of coffee would do the trick.

After enjoying a cup with my hubby, we fired up the lawn mowers and plowed through the tall grass.  (Another neglected area thanks to a baking commitment I regret making. Ok – not really, but kinda.)

With our exercise done for the day, we fixed ourselves some breakfast and plotted our motorcycle route.   I can’t remember the last time we rode on an actual weekend!  It’s always more fun when there are other motorcyclists on the road.

Rend Lake was our destination of choice.  I found a BBQ restaurant nearby and crossed my fingers it wouldn’t turn out like Grumpy’s.

The ride to the lake was fantastic.  The morning air was cool making me almost wish I had worn long sleeves.  But the sun quickly warmed the air, and by the time we reached the lake, the temps were perfect.  We found a park bench in the shade, and I took advantage of the quiet to close my eyes.  The late night and early morn were catching up to me.

Pop’s BBQ was our next stop.  The place was busy, but we found a booth and ordered the pulled pork.  It wasn’t Martin’s or Ruby’s, but it certainly wasn’t Grumpy’s.  With our bellies full, we began our long trek home.

156 miles we put on the bikes that day.  One of my longest, for sure, and my rump was feeling it.  We pulled into the garage and coaxed our muscles to let us stand up. 100 miles would have been perfect, but I wasn’t complaining.  It was great training for a ride we have coming up on Labor Day, when I’ll have another weekend!

 

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2013 in BBQ, Everyday Living, motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “A Real Weekend

  1. meleah rebeccah

    August 27, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Oh, how WONDERFUL!! Sounds like an amazing weekend, indeed!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 28, 2013 at 1:25 am

      I took full advantage of it figuring most of the chores could wait. Who knows when my next real weekend will be…

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 27, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I am so happy you had such a great and very well deserved time of relaxation! 🙂 Everything sounds great! Especially after your stressful days full of cake! LOL! … I am asking you for some advice on my reply to your latest comment on my blog… let me know what you think… I am literally asking you for permission to do what I think I should do… but if you think it’s not a good idea… I want to know because I am terrified… well… you’ll see what I am talking about 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 28, 2013 at 1:27 am

      It actually felt weird not having to bake anything or whip together frostings and fillings.
      (And I left you an answer on your blog. Hope it helps!)

       
  3. agg79

    August 28, 2013 at 11:08 am

    A great way to spend your weekend! That is the kind of recovery you need, especially after all that cake carnage. Glad to hear you were able to carve out some Shadow time. I imagine Shadow was starting to feel neglected. The only thing was hoping for was some foodie pictures of Pop’s.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      You know, I didn’t take ONE pic that day. You didn’t miss out on anything by not seeing a Pop’s pic. It was okay, but not picture worthy. We’ll be on a day long outing next weekend (fingers crossed). I’ll try to make it up by taking extra pics!

       
  4. Abby

    August 28, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Way to go! (literally). And even some vacuuming and mowing thrown in for good measure. Sounds like a wonderful weekend. I guess Julia Child isn’t totally right when she says everything’s better with butter.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      I thought about her (and Paula Deen) when I had all that butter sittin’ out on my counter. But when you add a bunch of sugar to it, it’s incredibly tasty!

       
  5. territerri

    September 1, 2013 at 11:40 am

    I know you don’t get nearly enough REAL weekends, so I can see why you enjoyed this one so much. Sounds like you had perfect weather and loads of fun. So glad you had a chance to really unwind.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 1:57 pm

      AND… I kinda have a Labor Day weekend also! I worked Saturday, but I’m off Sunday and Monday. I plan to enjoy this weekend just as much!

       

Leave a Reply

 
