RSS

News Feed

29 Aug

It took 22 years of marriage to hear the three little words I’ve been yearning to hear my husband say:

It’s cooked perfectly.

He’s been close a few times with it’s all right and it’s not bad and Chancie likes it.

But this is the first time he’s told me my chicken was cooked perfectly!  I hope he’s ready.  Now that I know he likes it, it will be the ONLY thing I make.

In other celebratory news, the guys in hazmat suits have carefully removed all hazardous chemicals and debris out of Link’s room making it suitable for Mario to take over.  She’s received permission from her oldest brother to do so, but her dad wonders why I would let her mess up two rooms instead of just one.  (Yeah – she’s keeping her room too.)  I don’t think she could be any worse than Link, but that remains to be seen.

Chip seems to be doing well on his own.  There’s always a concern in the back of our minds that he won’t actually GO to class, but so far he seems to be holding up his end of the deal.  He’s about done with all the grown-up responsibilities of taking ownership of a *cough* new home.  (Other than the slight hiccup where the electric company cut off his power due to a misunderstanding and wouldn’t turn it on til the next day, so he brought all the contents of his fridge, his two cats, and a load of laundry to the house.  I didn’t mind this little misunderstanding. I got to see him again!)

Link’s had a few struggles himself – traffic jams and parking issues and expensive books to name a few.  I’m pretty sure he wanted to just hole up and forget about everything, but instead he’s learning how to deal with it.  Each obstacle he overcomes will hopefully make him a little more confident to handle others.  And there WILL be others, I am always quick to remind him.

In fact, I have my own obstacle.  I’ve placed myself on the disabled list once again.  I haven’t run in over a week due to a nagging pain in my upper foot.  At first I thought I had injured a toe muscle.  (Do we have those?) But after a few more runs my entire foot began to ache for hours after.  I had a sneaky suspicion of what it was, and after a quick trip to Dr. Web MD, it’s been confirmed.  I have a stress fracture of my metatarsal bone.

The symptoms, the causes, all seem to match.

I won’t go to a real doctor to confirm it, because it doesn’t really matter.  Rest is the only thing to cure it. And it could take WEEKS.  Maybe even longer because I’m on my feet all day.   I’m prepared mentally to stay on the DL as long as necessary.  I’m well aware of what can happen if I push this type of injury.  The saddest part is that I believe my new Brooks caused it.  I had gone back to my loyal Nikes (brand new pair), but too little too late.  Right now, they’re all gathering dust in my closet.

My mood is surprisingly good despite my setback.

I was told on Monday that my cakes not only LOOKED good, but they TASTED good too!  Such a relief!  My co-worker excitedly showed me pictures of the party, and claimed people were asking where she got them.

“So they might be asking you….” she said shyly.  I laughed it off with “I don’t think I’m ready to undergo any more projects right now.”

In the meantime, however, a different co-worker begged for a strawberry cake “just because”.    I agreed, only because I have a very easy, very tasty strawberry cake and buttercream recipe.  I’ve made it enough times that it only takes a minute.

IMG_0446[1]

THIS is my kind of decorating.  Slop it on the cake, drop a few strawberries on top, and voila!  No sharp edges or smooth sides to worry about.

Okay.  Gotta go now.  A stretch of 6AM shifts has me hittin’ the sack pretty early these days.  I think I’m getting Labor Day off, though!  Vroom Vroom!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in Baking, Blunders, Everyday Living, Family, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “News Feed

  1. agg79

    August 29, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I’m surprised hubby got any more home cooked meals after telling your that “Chancie likes it”. Chancie must have a sophisticated pallet. My mutts will eat just about anything.

    Sorry to hear about your foot. Was wondering if the minimalist shooz might have contributed. You need to rest up and let it heal. A good excuse to stay off your feet with some two wheeler time?

    It’s good to hear all your cooking efforts were validated. Told you that you were beating yourself up over trivial details. Even the ones you consider as flawed are highly prized. Now, if you just learn to say: NO.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2013 at 10:43 am

      Chancie’s pallet is not sophisticated. However, I made a pie crust one time that not even SHE would eat, so it was almost a compliment when Hubby told me Chancie likes it. 🙂
      My Nike’s are minimalist too, but with the Brooks I had muscles hurting in my calves and feet that have never hurt before. And from what I’ve read, when your muscles are sore they don’t absorb the shock as much, so your bones are forced to take over – and that’s when a stress fracture can occur. If I had followed the advice of breaking them in slowly until my muscles built up, they might have been just fine. But I tend to jump right in to things.
      I obviously can’t say no to anyone, including myself.

       
  2. meleah rebeccah

    August 29, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Hooray for perfectly cooked chicken!

    Mario gets to have 2 rooms? That’s awesome!

    Glad to hear Chip was able to straighten things out with the power company and that you got to see him.

    Good to know that Link is dealing so well with things/obstacles/annoyances.

    Oh, no! Sorry to hear you have a stress fracture. That’s painful!

    And now I want strawberry cake!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2013 at 1:01 am

      My co-worker just called me and told me the cake was “so freakin’ good!” She was supposed to be taking it on a trip, but she and a few other employees pretty well ate it all tonight. Now she wants another….
      I could make you one too!

       
  3. lottajoy

    August 30, 2013 at 3:11 am

    I love the looks of the strawberry cake. It’s more “user friendly” and appealing. Today I opened a box of what I thought was pineapple upside down cake mix. It was only PINEAPPLE cake. But on it’s cover, was a picture of a true pineapple upside down cake!! False advertising!

    So I opened a can of crushed pineapple, added a cup of brown sugar and maraschino cherries and baked it. It came out looking great. The toothpick came out clean. One hour later, the entire middle had falled into the pineapple mixture on the bottom.

    I scooped out the middle and we’re enjoying the sides. LOL There are BAKERS, then there are COOKS. You’re a baker. I’m a cook. So if Chancie likes it, then give hubby some kibble.

    I went to the podiatrist this week. He said I had torn the ligament that runs on the bottom of my foot, from heel to toe. Then he sent me home. THAT’S the grade of medical care down here. I got on Youtube, learned how to wrap my own foot to ease the pain (horrible) and it WORKED. Now I’ve got to haul ass tomorrow and find some athletic tape.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2013 at 8:49 pm

      My hubby would claim kibble is all there is to eat in the house. 🙂
      Our doctors up here are a little better, but I diagnose myself quite often and will treat myself accordingly. Web MD and YouTube are all you need! Your injury sounds much more serious than mine. Been chasin’ after those thugs?

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 30, 2013 at 4:10 am

    I love the looks of homemade cakes! That’s one of the reasons why fondant is not my favorite thing at all… There’s something special about the little “rustic-ness” (LOL) of a homemade cake… each cake is unique and has personality… each cake says “there were hands making me” 🙂 I love it! you’ll have to share your recipe for that yummy cake!

    I am so sorry about your injury! 😦 It stinks! I hope you have a “quicker than expected” recovery! But do allow yourself to heal completely… don’t get impatient! (look who’s talking… Mrs. Impatience here!)

    Congratulations on your well done chicken 😛 … nothing like getting compliments for a job well done from someone you love and someone you know will tell you the truth! YAY! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2013 at 8:53 pm

      Fondant looks so fake, doesn’t it? I like “rustic” better too.
      I’m hoping for a quicker than expected recovery. I’ve made it 10 days without running and I can feel the impatience creeping up on me. I still can’t even walk correctly though. It may be a while. :/
      It really was nice to hear a compliment about my “cooking”. (If that’s what you can call it.) As LottaJoy pointed out, I’m not a cook. 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    August 30, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Heck, with my cooking, I’m happy with the 4 words: “no one got sick”.

    Seems like both your and our kids are going through similar unavoidable growing pains. At least no one has yet showed up at our house with fridge contents, cats, and laundry! But yeah, I know what you mean, I’d be happy to see them if they did.

    And Oh NO about your foot! Bummer! I hate spending a buncha money on new shooz, only to have them attack. I gotta say, though, those nikes just remain super friendly – on my third pair. I guess that makes sense about a cause of stress fractures (reply to Agg). Live and learn… Hope you’re back hittin’ it soon!

    And already baking a cake for someone. I can almost hear you, “Well, it’s just ONE cake”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      Exactly! One time I thought I DID, but only one kid was throwing up, so I let myself believe it was a virus. Can you imagine that guilt?
      After one night of an overstuffed fridge, extra laundry and less bandwidth, I was ready for Chip to return. Funny how quick I got used to him being gone.
      One cake seems like a piece of cake now.

       
  6. lottajoy

    August 31, 2013 at 3:30 am

    I’m amazed that THIRTY-ONE people have commented at my blog. Where were they before? Odd. I’m still trying to figure out what to do.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2013 at 10:42 am

      I’m not surprised, but you should do what you NEED to do. Just know that you’ll be missed.

       
  7. llcooljoe

    September 1, 2013 at 7:25 am

    I think you are addicted to cake making. 😉 I’m not surprised they look excellent! Did you pass out on the floor when your husband said “It’s cooked perfectly?” You know the next time you cook it, something will go wrong don’t you? 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      I was certainly shocked when he complimented the chicken. And you’re right. The next time I made it, it was a little dry.
      My cakes, on the other hand, usually are moist and delicious, but they don’t make a very good supper. I’m lucky, or perhaps HE’S lucky that he doesn’t mind making his own meals.

       
  8. territerri

    September 1, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Sounds like all is going pretty well in your world! It’s always such a comfort to know that your kids are capable of managing on their own, even if they manage differently than you would.

    Sorry to hear about your injured foot. There’s really NOTHING you can do to promote faster healing? How frustrating!

    See? I TOLD you your cakes would be a huge hit! Seems like the big project provided a good lesson in knowing where you want to draw your limits. Good for you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      We knew there would be speed bumps along the way, but it’s nice to know they’re handling them. WE still worry though. That part hasn’t changed.
      Staying off my foot completely would promote faster healing, but that’s an impossibility with my job. I’ve walked crooked on it for 2 weeks now, causing my calf to stiffen up. But today, I can walk normally with no pain, so it’s definitely getting better. Problem is, if I run before it’s healed completely, I could easily be back to square one. I’m proud of myself for being patient.
      I couldn’t have asked for a better ending to my cake project. I hope I remember my limits the next time I’m asked. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
