RSS

Help bring ALVin home

01 Sep

In my last blog, I mentioned my three favorite words uttered by my hubby.  Well, a few days later, I heard three little words I hope never to hear again.

“I’ve been t-boned.”

Yeah.

I got the call just after bellying up to the bar (my kitchen bar) after a long day of work.  I figured Amp was having trouble picking out his school uniform shirts.  Ha.  If only it was that.

Instead, he informed me that he’d been in a wreck.  He was quick to assure me he was fine.  He was at an intersection trying to turn left.  The oncoming traffic at that intersection is blocked by a building that sits right along the street.  He was trying to see around it, and watch to the left, and take note of the cars in the turn lane, when the driver across the street motioned it was okay for him to cross.  He began to pull out when he noticed a car was coming from the right.  He slowed down which surprised the big truck coming at him from the left.  The truck ran smack dab into the driver and passenger door.  Airbags exploded, he continued rolling forward, and eventually came to a stop on the other side of the street.

My hubby happened to be picking up Mario from school, so he was first on the scene.  I came shortly after to lend sympathy and support, and to drive him home since Hubby and Mario were on the motorcycle.

For the second time since we’ve had it, the Fit was towed away after being broadsided.  This time I don’t think we’ll be as lucky. Hubby thinks it may be totaled which will be devastating to Amp.   He absolutely LOVED that car and wanted to buy it from us after he graduated.

IMG_0449[1]

The airbags look like shades to me.  I’ve never seen them out before, but they definitely did their job.  I hate to think what may have happened to him if they hadn’t been there.

While we are certainly relieved that Amp is okay, all of us are saddened that our sweet, money saving, reliable, everything fits Fit may never come home.

In fact, it’s so loved I wrote a blog about it over a year ago.  I ended that tale with:

My penny pinching 15 year old has already called first dibs on it when we’re ready to sell.  We plan to keep it as a 3rd family car until all kids have their license and are out of the house.  With the Honda name, and their excellent service, we expect it to last a very long time.

Funny, how we’ve all become so attached to it.  It’s the exact definition of “wussy-ish”, but it’s like the runt in the family.  It’s determined to keep up with the bigger boys, it tends to forget its size, and it’s claimed a soft spot in all of our hearts.

Please get the blog juju flowing.  Or at the very least send money.  Let’s all work together to bring ALVin home!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Help bring ALVin home

  1. llcooljoe

    September 1, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Oh no that really does suck, I’m just glad everyone is okay. My elder daughter had an accident in her car and just drove away from the scene! She didn’t realise she had to leave a note to say she’d hit the car.

    Btw, although I’m following your blog your new posts never show up in my reader which is why I keep missing them, sorry!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      These are certainly learning experiences for our young drivers. Fortunately they’ve been allowed to learn from them. We’ve had too many wrecks around here where lives are lost, or major setbacks have occurred.
      I’ve never been able to figure out how to be notified of Blogger’s bloggers’ new posts. (Did I say that right?) I follow quite a few of you all, and have to physically click on your link to see if you’ve posted something new. If you figure it out, let me know. And please don’t feel guilty about missing any. It’s nice to have you visit, even if only once in a while!

       
  2. territerri

    September 1, 2013 at 11:53 am

    So sorry to hear that Amp was in a car accident. I’m glad he’s okay and hope ALVin will come through alright in the end too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      I guess we’ll find out this week if it’s worth having it fixed. I hope Amp’s prepared for whatever conclusion we come to. It was such a great car! I hope ALL of us are prepared for the results.

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    September 1, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Oh my word!! I am so relieved no one was hurt – but YIKES!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 4:50 pm

      YIKES! was my thought exactly! Link’s been in two wrecks, Amp one, Chip a half (a deer ran into him), and Mario… well that remains to be seen as she doesn’t have her license yet. So scary when they start driving. And we live in a small community! How do parents in busy areas do it? Really – how do YOU do it?

       
  4. Abby

    September 1, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    Well SHEESH, I’m so glad Amp wasn’t hurt – well, physically anyways. That’s a nasty “bruise” on ALVin. Yes, I remember your loving tribute to the Fit. You know I love Hondas. Know that Ellie Mae, the un-named Civic, and I send our best juju.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      Amp’s heart is the only thing broken, thank goodness. I’m sad for him, but relieved as well. Thanks for the Honda juju! Keep it comin’!

       
  5. agg79

    September 2, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about ALVin but glad to hear AMP wasn’t hurt. Sheet metal and glass can be replaced. I’ve had two similar calls from Junior – none of those are easy to take as a cold call: “First of all, I’m ok, dad”, Given the damage ALVin sustained, I am amazed there wasn’t any broken windows. I hope that ALVin can be fixed, but given the extent of the damage, I tend to side with your husband and think they will total it out. Junior got sideswiped earlier this year and it damaged the front clip of the car. I thought it was repairable but the insurance wrote it off. Hope that they give you good news and ALVin can get to come home soon.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2013 at 10:33 pm

      I was surprised too that no glass was broken. I doubt there was much speed behind the truck, thank goodness. I suppose we’ll find out this week what ALVin’s fate is. I’m very sad thinking you and Hubby may both be right 😦
      Those calls are quite scary and we still have ONE more to get out on the road. I hope my heart can take it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
