RSS

Non-Labor Day

03 Sep

There was no laboring for me this Labor Day.  None.  At.  All.

Well, I did spend 45 minutes on the elliptical machine, and that was a little bit of work, but I never mind starting my day with a bit of exercise.  (Although I’d much rather have run.  *sigh*  It’s been 2 weeks now since I’ve diagnosed myself with a stress fracture.  The good news is, the ‘doc’ (me) thinks it might be okay to try it in as few as 3-4 days.  I’ll consult with myself again at that point.)

The rest of the day was down right FUN.

With morning temps in the 70s, we jumped on our motorcycles and headed to our meeting place. There, we hooked up with 9 other motorcyclists, planned our route, and began the journey.

I’ve never ridden with so many motorcycles before.  My heart was beating anxiously when we first took off. Could I keep up?  Would I make a fool of myself?  Would these big tough guys, and the big tough girls, make me look like the meek, little twerp that I am?

Nope.  Not once.  We only knew one of the couples, but everyone else was so friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home.

We headed south along the Bluff Road that follows the Mississippi River.  The weather was absolutely beautiful, the roads were curvy and smooth, and only the occasional armadillo road kill slowed us down.

If I closed my eyes, I could almost believe I was back in Colorado.

IMG_0455[1]But I didn’t dare close my eyes, so I knew I was still in Illinois.  A REALLY pretty part of Illinois.

About an hour into the ride, we stopped off at one of the many caves in the bluffs to cool off.

IMG_0454[1]

The cool air coming out of here was incredible.  We spent quite a bit of time here telling stories and resting our rear ends before heading on to our next stop.

IMG_0462[1]

Lisa’s was an extremely popular restaurant among bikers and regulars alike.  Probably because in this area there is only one place to eat.  We spent a good couple of hours eating, resting, and telling more stories.

None of us were ready to head back, so we continued south for a few more miles, admiring towns even smaller than ours.

The next stop was a Dairy Queen not too far up the road.  Believe it or not, Hubby and I passed on this stop and decided to make our way back.  We live the furthest away and knew our rumps weren’t going to make it much further.

185 miles we put on the bikes today, and our backsides are certainly feeling it.  But neither one of us would have traded it for anything!

It was a fabulous day, and well worth requesting it off!

Now please excuse me while I get intimate with my beloved foam roller.

foam-roller

My gluteus maximus is beggin’ for it.

(Hope your Labor Day weekend was just as awesome!)

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2013 in motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Non-Labor Day

  1. agg79

    September 3, 2013 at 10:48 am

    That sounds like a really great way to close out the summer – a long ride with some great weather. THAT’s the kind of work out I would love to have. Nice to see you guys have joined up with a gang.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2013 at 1:39 am

      It was fun being a part of a gang! This gang was pretty mellow and got along well, so we felt at ease. No one was in a real hurry, and everyone was flexible with the routes we took. (We had one leader and everyone else was willing to follow.)
      I recommend a long motorcycle ride for working out those hard to target butt muscles. :/

       
  2. meleah rebeccah

    September 3, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    That is absolutely fabulous. What a wonderful way to spend Labor Day. Good for you!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2013 at 1:40 am

      I was so glad I took off of work for it. I rarely request days off, but I didn’t want to miss a chance at a long motorcycle ride with this group. So fun!

       
  3. Abby

    September 3, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Wow, 185 miles! Tough Biker Chick, you!!
    Great way to spend the end-of-summer weekend, I’m glad your weather was so welcoming too. A moment of silence for the sacrificial armadillos…

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2013 at 1:45 am

      I had to keep the “I AM a tough biker chick” mantra up while riding with these guys, so I wouldn’t be intimidated. Okay. That’s not really true. Some of them DID look big and tough, but deep down they were teddy bears. And the girls were a great bunch. One reminded me of Lotta Joy, and I kept wondering when she’d made the trip up from Floruba to ride with us.
      Those poor armadillos! I thought we were too far north for them, but obviously not. There were so many who didn’t quite make it across the street. 😦

       
  4. territerri

    September 4, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Cracks me up that you’re going to consult with yourself again in a couple of days as to the likelihood of taking up running on that injured foot again! Now be sure to listen to yourself, no matter whether you like the diagnosis or not! 🙂

    So glad you had a day to relax and enjoy with your hubby. I know you don’t get enough real weekends. Sounds like a beautiful, awesome day out on the road.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2013 at 1:50 am

      Yes. I have another consultation with myself scheduled for Wednesday. And because I don’t want to damage it further, I will listen to my answer, like it or not.
      When Hubby told me this group was trying to get together on Labor Day to ride, I did not give my usual answer of “If I’m off I would love to go.” Instead, I TOOK off. You’re one of the reasons I made that decision. (I’m pretty sure on my death bed I won’t be wishing I had worked more…) remember?? 🙂

       
  5. llcooljoe

    September 6, 2013 at 10:15 am

    We don’t celebrate Labor day here in the UK so it was just another ordinary boring day. I used to ride a moped and a bike in my younger years when I was a bit more “biker” than I am now. Now I’ve gone for the lazy hip hop mode of transport. 😀

    Glad you had a lovely day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 6, 2013 at 2:24 pm

      Funny, I would NEVER have gotten on a bike in my younger years, but now that I’m older I’m loving it!
      Now that I’m not involved in school and instead, work in a hotel, Labor Day is just another day. I’m usually taking care of my guests while they enjoy their day. But not this year! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
