RSS

Dumbed

09 Sep

It’s been one of those days.  One of those dumb days as Abby likes to call them.  A day where there’s lots to do, but no motivation to do them.

I awoke at 7, a mere five and a half hours after I crawled into bed.  I could say I’d been out partying, but in truth I was watching people at the hotel live it up.  They were having a grand time, and I enjoyed being a spectator.  There was a surprise 50th birthday party, a bachelor party, a wedding party, tons of Cardinals fans, and even a few Pittsburgh fans, all mingling in the lobby.

I hopped on the elliptical immediately after waking, and then we hopped on the motorcycles to hit up IHOP for breakfast.  The cool temperatures, the rising sun, and the wind in my hair made for an incredible ride.  Another 65 miles on the Shadow!

It wasn’t until I sat at the kitchen bar once we arrived home, that I realized how dumb I wanted to be.  The more I sat, the dumber I became.

Oh, I managed a few things – like mow the lawn mow only the really high parts of the lawn, and half-heartedly sweep the dog hairs, and bake a semi-homemade honey bun cake, but ONLY because I felt guilty about sittin’.

I don’t know why I feel guilty.  My dumbness is certainly justified.  My windows and screens still look fabulous after their yearly bath the other day.  And although I’ve been pretty lucky with my off days these past few weeks, the days are split, so I feel like I’m at work all the time.  One day off, three or four in a row, another day off…

Some of my lack of motivation may be that we have to say goodbye to ALVin.  The results are in, and it’s been determined that monetarily  it’s not worth fixing the damage.  No one asked me what my heart says.  Or what Amp’s heart says. We drove by the final resting place on our way to breakfast, and I felt a flutter of sadness pass over me.  How do you say goodbye to such a reliable, trustworthy, hardworking member of the family, who’s time with us was so short lived?

But life goes on.  Amp is now driving Hubby’s car with a “BE CAREFUL!” at every send-off.  Today’s send-off was to his new GF’s house.  Do you remember the old one?  The 18 year old?  Well, we found out from Chip soon after they began dating that she’d had a baby a while back. We immediately declared an emergency meeting with Amp and strongly voiced our opinions and concerns.  Luckily, he agreed with us and it ended soon after.

Whew.

The new girl just recently transferred to our high school since her parents feel education is important and didn’t think her old high school was standing up to the test.   Hubby had the pleasure of meeting her a few weeks ago, and she mentioned how she’s been texting Amp and making sure he’s getting his homework done.  I’ve already set their wedding date.

In movie news, (I think this is the first time I’ve had movie news) we watched TWO movies this week!  I enjoyed The Great Gatsby, but Argo was outstanding.  We’re watching Red Tails tonight.  It’s refreshing to finally have decent choices to watch on our satellite TV, but alas, it’s only for a short time.  They’re hoping to lure us into buying more stations.  Ha.  We have too many unwatched stations as it is.  If anything, it’ll convince us to finally give up the satellite and rely solely on Netflix for our viewing pleasure.

First we disconnect the phone lines.  Then the satellite TV.  Dare we get rid of internet too?

Naaah… I’d miss you all too much.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Dumbed

  1. Abby

    September 9, 2013 at 2:50 am

    Happy Dumb Day! You deserve to be a total dummy!
    I am sad about ALVin. I had a feeling he’d be put to sleep. Funny how attached we get to our vehicles. RIP.
    Yes, I do now remember that cougar that was after Amp. And a mom too, no less. That was a justified intervention. Congratulations to the new bride.
    Give up the internet. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…..

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2013 at 12:40 am

      Every time I see an ALVin look-a-like, my heart aches. I may be in mourning a long time.
      My hope is Amp’s “fiance” gets him through high school. After that, HE can choose if he wants to keep her.
      Giving up the internet…. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA…ha….ha.

       
  2. agg79

    September 9, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Everybody deserves a dumb day. Heck, I’ve had some dumb weekends. After all that excitement at the hotel, I would have slept the entire day.

    Sorry about ALVin but, I figured it was inevitable given the damage. Long gone are the days when you could patch up car for a reasonable cost and keep driving it for years.

    I, too, remember the cougar that was eyeing Amp last year. Nice to hear he’s found a keeper. Let us know when they start picking out wedding patterns.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2013 at 12:47 am

      You’ve had a dumb WEEKEND? Well, I KNOW you deserve it. You’ve been crazy busy these last few months!
      Even patching ALVin up would cost a ton of money. Still not worth it. Sigh.
      So far Amp’s girlfriend seems to be a keeper. She’s focused on school and doesn’t have children. All pluses in my book.

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    September 9, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    “A day where there’s lots to do, but no motivation to do them.”

    Oh yes. Those days sure are tough! But totally necessary.

    Awww. RIP ALVin!

    And Argo = one of my FAVORITE movies, EVER!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2013 at 12:50 am

      They ARE necessary, aren’t they. I should try it more often.
      I was surprised at how much I loved Argo. I knew it had earned lots of awards, and now I know why. An awesome movie!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    September 9, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    I am having one of those days now, with the added attraction that it is pouring with rain outside and I have to cycle home in it soon 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2013 at 12:56 am

      Oh no! Hopefully you made it home without getting soaked! My dumb day was hot and sunny!

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    September 10, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    😀 … is it just the weather maybe? or why many of us are feeling that way? LOL! 😀 … sorry about ALVin passing… I can imagine how nervous your hubby gets to see his car “drive away” every time 🙂 … understandable 🙂 … thanks for the movie recommendations…I saw those 2 were on tv but had already started… I’ll have to check them out!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 11, 2013 at 1:15 am

      For me, I just wanted to be lazy, but the guilt was bringing me down. 🙂
      Yes, we are ALL nervous to watch Amp drive away. But really, he’s very cautious and deliberate when he drives, so we don’t worry too much.
      I’d recommend Argo for sure! Red Tails – not so much.

       
  6. territerri

    September 11, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Yeah, why can’t we just enjoy a dumb day without feeling guilty? Huh? Huh? I had a dumb afternoon on Sunday, and while I enjoyed it, the guilt of my lack of productivity lingers on.

    Sorry to hear about ALVin. I know how much you were hoping he’d pull through. Give your heart time to heal, then maybe there will be room for a new car!

    Yay for Amp finding such a great new girlfriend. Starting off with a pre-made family is admirable, but really difficult, especially at such a young age.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 11, 2013 at 1:22 am

      I’m really good at being dumb for an hour. Maybe two. But it’s hard to be dumb for a whole day.
      Our bank account probably won’t allow us to “move on” for a while, so we’ll be mourning ALVin for a long time to come.
      And yeah, so far, Amp’s new girlfriend seems to be a better fit for him. At 16, he did not need to be with an 18 year old who’d had a baby at 17. Not quite the sweet innocent girl we were envisioning for him. :/

       
  7. lottajoy

    September 11, 2013 at 4:41 am

    When I convinced Joe it was time to get rid of “THE BLUE BEACON” (it was a customized van with cushy seats and sat tall on the highway) we later saw it in town. The new owners had let rust take over and treated it cruelly. Bad, bad people. Odd how we bond with our wheels.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 11, 2013 at 12:52 pm

      What’s most surprising is I rarely drove that car. Its sole purpose was to get each child back and forth to school and their activities safely, reliably, and without costing us a whole lot in gas and/or maintenance. And it did its job SO well! Until it got smashed in to. My heart’s breaking again just thinking about it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
