RSS

Just say NO already

12 Sep

My hubby walked into the kitchen to find me splattered in chocolate, hair dusted with powdered sugar, spatulas, cake pans, and mixing bowls piled in the sink, and a befuddled look on my face as I pondered what to do with my lopsided, 2-toned cake.

“Let’s practice,” he said.  “Say it with me….”

I didn’t have to ask.  I knew what he was getting at.

I sighed, and said it along with him.

“NO.”

But in truth, I was having fun.  I was asked to bake strawberry cupcakes, chocolate cupcakes, and a half vanilla and half chocolate cake.  Seemed easy enough.  And besides, Mario’s birthday is on Thursday, and she wanted strawberry cupcakes for her and her friends too.

There were obstacles of course.  Like having to wait for my only day off.

And when that day arrived, I had to wait for our new kitchen floors to be installed.

Looks just like ceramic tile.  I love it!

Looks just like ceramic tile. I love it!

Finally, I was able to make the cakes.  Things were rolling along quite smoothly, until the stacking of the chocolate cakes.  I learned a little too late that I should have taken the time to level the cakes first.  But in my usual plow ahead fashion, I stacked and iced them, and took a step back to eye my creation, slightly off kilter. (The CAKES, not me.  Okay maybe me too.)

It’ll be alright , I thought.  I’ll just fill any inside space with icing.  Who wouldn’t want that?

But then the vanilla side stacked just perfectly, making the chocolate side look even more like the leaning tower of Pisa.

So I hemmed and I hawed and I deliberated, and that’s when hubby came in.  He offered no help.

I tried propping the chocolate side up to no avail.  I debated whether or not I should bake another cake and stuff it underneath, but in the end I decided to fake it, and stuffed some leftover vanilla cake underneath.

I’ll tell her of course, and if it bothers her, she won’t ask again.  Fine. By. Me.

IMG_0477[1]

Not so bad from this angle.

 

But from this angle……

 

 

 

IMG_0473[1]

Yeah.  Perhaps it’s time to start saying NO.’

 

 

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2013 in Baking, Blunders

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Just say NO already

  1. Rock Chef

    September 12, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Mmm, yes, the top down view is much better. I have never really done cakes (I only do a 3 milk cake at Christmas) but know that it does not always go to plan from watching Mrs RC at work.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2013 at 12:14 am

      It was all going great, until I had to match them up.
      I found out today, she just wanted it to share with her co-workers down in the laundry department. How sweet is that? (big sigh of relief that it wasn’t for some important party!)

       
  2. Abby

    September 12, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    From your opening paragraph, I thought maybe this post was going to the marital kinkiness gutter…

    Bipolar cakes, now that’s a challenge! Love your new floor. When we first decided to buy this house, I knew I would have to replace the kitchen floor. That was almost 10 years ago now. Floor’s still there. Ho hum.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2013 at 12:17 am

      Sorry to disappoint. (You AND my hubby.)
      Somethin’ about having 1/2 the kids move out, is putting us in the mood to finally get some nice(r) stuff. We’re still refusing to replace Mario’s carpet though. She doesn’t hold the best track record.

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    September 12, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    oooooh – your new kitchen floors are gorgeous!

    Actually – I can’t tell the cake is lopsided from either angle!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2013 at 12:19 am

      The ceramic look-a-like was a great choice. It even feels a little like ceramic, without the coldness and without the cost.
      My cake looks straight to you? Maybe I should have what you’re having. 😉

       
  4. territerri

    September 13, 2013 at 12:13 am

    I think saying “no” is something you’re going to have to keep working on. But I don’t think you really WANT to say no to these requests. You love baking. That’s why you do it. I love the lopsided cake. It’s got character!

    Nice floor! I’ve been looking at my carpets and thinking about getting a good professional cleaning… and then wondering if we can afford to just rip them up and replace them! 🙂 (Probably not.)

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2013 at 12:27 am

      You’re absolutely right. I don’t really want to say no. And I told hubby that too. The lopsided cake was a learning experience for me. Makes me look forward to trying it again for someone else.
      When we had Link’s carpet cleaned after he moved out, the cleaner took one look at it and said it would be cheaper to replace it. We told him to just do his best. We’ll replace it only after Mario finishes with it. lol
      I’ve been happy with our new hardwood (although we have many scratches from the dog – mostly noticeable by us only) and the fake ceramic looks great too. I’ll have to get the name of it. It’s layed and grouted just like tile.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    September 13, 2013 at 10:02 am

    I agree with Abby, after reading the first line, I thought “hmm, what’s coming next?” I wasn’t expecting a lopsided cake! Anyway it looks amazing and I bet it tasted great too. I’ve been on a diet for months now and have only lost 10 pounds, so seeing a cake like this makes me wanna chuck the towel in and stuff myself full of anything sweet!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2013 at 10:31 am

      I think my cake weighed ten pounds. Definitely not for people watching their weight. The amount of butter and sugar that goes into icing is insane. Which is why I bake for OTHER people. But the chocolate fudge icing was hard to resist.

       
  6. agg79

    September 13, 2013 at 11:16 am

    Repeat after me: No. Nein. Nyet. I think that Terri is right. No is not in your vocabulary. Even with the lopsided outcome, i can see you doing it again just to “get it right”. Despite the results, I still bet the cake was a hit.

    I love the new tile.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 14, 2013 at 12:18 am

      I wish I had known her plans for it before baking. If I’d known she’d wanted to share it with other coworkers, I wouldn’t have worried so much. And I certainly hope it tasted better than it looked!
      I love my new tile too! The house is looking so “awake” these days. After years of looking tired, it’s a nice change of pace!

       

Leave a Reply

 
