RSS

And we’re off!

20 Sep

I skipped out of work Wednesday afternoon with a cheery “Goodbye!  See ya next week!”

I LOVE my job, but even I need a break from it once in a while.

I dashed the 50 miles back home, threw everything I owned into a suitcase, ran down the list of do’s and do not’s for the two high schoolers staying home alone, and then proceeded to make the 75 mile trip back to the airport hotel.

We had an early flight Thursday morning, so we decided to stay the night at one of my hotel’s properties near the airport.  This way, we wouldn’t have to get up quite so early, AND it was actually cheaper to stay at the hotel and use their long term free parking, than it was to park in the long-term airport lots.   Seemed like a no-brainer to me.

All was going according to plan, until we tried to sleep.  The Cardinal’s game was on in the background, a nice treat for us as we don’t get that particular channel at home.  We found ourselves entranced in the game, making it difficult to sleep.  We gave up on our efforts and just watched the game to the end.  I’m a little sorry that it was Colorado that we defeated, but I’m super excited that we won and have increased our lead in our division.

ANYWAY, once that was over, I thought I would finally sleep.  I laid still for a good 20 minutes when my phone rang.

A flutter of panic went through me when I saw it was Chip calling.

“Hi Mom!”  He said cheerfully.  “Are you on your trip?”

My racing heart slowed a bit as I explained that we were still in St. Louis but leaving early in the morning.  He apologized for the late call, but wanted to tell me he’d gotten a B on a difficult accounting test he had taken.  This time my heart soared!  Not because he got a B, but because he wanted to share the good news with me!  We chatted a bit more, and began saying our good-byes.  Just before I hung up, I heard him say “I love you, Mom.”

He said it out loud, and he said it first.  For a minute I wondered if I was dreaming.

I am far from the world’s greatest mom, but to hear my 19 year old son tell me he loves me  gives me a little hope that I haven’t totally screwed up.

A great way to start my vacation.

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2013 in Family, Parenting, Uncategorized, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “And we’re off!

  1. lottajoy

    September 20, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Okay. A little common sense injected here: was he high? lol

    No. Really. I read that out loud to Joe and all you could hear was us saying “AWWWWWWW”

    SO WONDERFUL!!!

    Hey, since you know all about hotels…..did you check the mattress for bedbugs before you laid down? Just curious, cuz I do.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 20, 2013 at 12:55 am

      Perhaps he was high. Or maybe I was?
      Even 24 hours later, my heart is still melting. He has a bit of a temper, but a very sweet heart, and I’m proud of the person he’s becoming. Thank YOU for thinking it’s sweet too! (By the way, Chip’s name is Joe.)
      A LOT of people do check for bed bugs, but I don’t. At least not in our line of hotels. Not because we’re exempt from them, nobody is, but because I trust our process of checking for them.

       
      • lottajoy

        September 20, 2013 at 4:03 am

        Since we’re going to be on the road, what’s the hotel line???

         
      • shadowrun300

        September 20, 2013 at 9:21 am

        I’ll send you an email. I’m sure you’ve never heard of it. They just opened a new one in Orlando where we’re staying, but they started out in the Midwest. So maybe you have heard of it….

         
  2. meleah rebeccah

    September 20, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Awwwww! Hooray for Chip getting a B on a tough test. And also, hooray for the late night phone call being GOOD news!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 12:38 am

      Yes! Late night GOOD news is welcome any time!

       
  3. Abby

    September 21, 2013 at 3:16 am

    Wow, you’re one a roll! Off on vacation, win for your team (so what if they beat Colorado, everyone else is doin’ it), kids giving you love! You should go buy some lottery tickets! Although, maybe with that phone call, you already won :). Sweetness.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 12:40 am

      Yeah – it’s hard to ask for much more than that phone call. Yet, we’ve had a great vacation so far, and another few wins from the Cards!

       
  4. territerri

    September 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    That phone call was one of those moments in life when you know you’ve done something right. You definitely have done a lot of things right. It’s obvious from the way you write about your kids and family life. Hope you have a GREAT time on your trip!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 12:50 am

      Honestly, I don’t know how my kids turned out to be such great people. I feel pretty lucky to tell you the truth. Looking back, there are plenty of things I would do differently, so it’s pretty cool they turned out okay despite me. 🙂

       
  5. llcooljoe

    September 22, 2013 at 7:39 am

    What a great phone call to receive just before your holiday! Have a great time!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you! We are having a terrific time!

       
  6. agg79

    September 30, 2013 at 12:46 am

    Of course, I am working backwards on this trip, so I know the outcome. Still, I am glad to know you had an awesome time. And the phone call from Chip is something that every parent dreams of. Kudos, Mom -I think you’ve done well.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2013 at 1:27 am

      What? You read the last chapter first? You ruined the suspense! 😉
      I loved the phone call from Chip. He’s opened so much more since moving out. Like Mario said, we’re becoming a little closer now that we’re further away. Our time together is much more meaningful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
