RSS

SUPn

22 Sep

We’ve been in Orlando for a day and a half, and have driven to Cocoa Beach twice already.

The first time was to see if I could handle the commute from our beach home to my work.  My hotel only has one branch in Florida, and it’s in Orlando.  If we move to Florida though,  we want to live on the beach.  I think.  Heck, we don’t know what we want.  BUT, I do know, if we lived on the beach, I could handle the drive.  It’s not much further than my commute now.

The second time we went, was to satisfy my urge to SUP.  I have wanted to SUP ever since I saw a guy and his dog SUPn’ in the Keys.

It was everything I dreamed it would be and more.

 

IMG_0610[1]
Stand Up Paddling

 

The morning was beautiful, and immediately upon standing, we saw manatees.

IMG_0557[1]

They were everywhere and would come right up to our boards, poking their heads up to pose for pictures and sometimes pushing us along.

IMG_0552[1]

IMG_0563[1]

Hubby couldn’t resist the urge to pet them, but we found out later it’s not a good idea, and could be considered harassment.  Manatees are so friendly, and there’s concern they will get too used to people thereby placing themselves in danger.

IMG_0591[1]

But these guys were already NOT afraid of us.  I was more afraid they’d tip me off my board.

I was watching 'em closely

We spent a lot of time paddling around these so-ugly-they’re-cute mammals, before heading up and down the coast of the cove.

The wind picked up a few hours into our fun, adding a little bit of a challenge to it.  But for me, more challenge equals more fun.  It wasn’t difficult keeping my balance, it was more difficult getting somewhere.  At times, I felt like I was on a SUPmill, which come to think of it, would be way more fun than a treadmill.

Eventually, we paddled our way back to the “loading dock”, a small trail leading down to the water.

I was sad our 3 hours were up, but I KNOW I’ll be SUPn again soon.  Although next time, it may be on the West coast…  because we might just want to live there….

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2013 in Family, Health and Fitness, Vacation

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “SUPn

  1. territerri

    September 22, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    What a COOL experience! And it looks like you had a beautiful day for SUPn. If the manatees are that friendly, I’m not sure I could resist petting them either.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 7:54 pm

      Oh my gosh. SUPn was SO cool! I really can’t wait to do it again.
      We’re thinking the manatees are just very social creatures. They loved hanging out with each other and often times couldn’t seem to get close enough to each other. When we came along, we quickly became part of the family and they wanted to be close to us. It was an awesome experience. If you ever get the chance to SUP, especially with manatees, jump on it!

       
  2. Abby

    September 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Hey Whassup!? Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. But really, I’d never heard the term “SUP” before. How fun! And friendly manatees, too. I agree with it being difficult to pet them. I’d probably be all, “Can we keep him??”
    A house on the beach sounds heavenly… except during a hurricane.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 7:59 pm

      I hadn’t heard of it either. I looked it up after seeing a guy and his dog paddling around the Keys shore, and I KNEW it was something I wanted to do. Our cove was perfect for beginners, but I can totally see myself wanting to try it in a place with soft waves breaking. More of a challenge to keep your balance.
      And yeah, the hurricane word has come up a few times. But right now we live in tornado alley. At least with a hurricane, you know it’s coming.
      And just so ya know, these manatees would not fit in your aquarium. Heck, I doubt you could even get them through your front door.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    September 22, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Wow, paddling with manatee. I am sold!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      RC, it was a fantastic experience! We tried going further out in the hopes of seeing some dolphins, but the winds were becoming stronger, and we knew we’d have a difficult time paddling back against the wind. Maybe next time…

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    September 23, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    Wow. I’ve never even heard of Stand Up Paddling. HOW COOL!

    Looks like y’all are having a FABULOUS time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

      I think it’s slowly becoming more popular with people. Doesn’t require quite as much skill as regular surfing, and can be pretty good exercise for your core, your arms, and your legs. Great reason to move to the beach!

       
  5. agg79

    September 30, 2013 at 12:43 am

    My friend in Austin has been promoting SUP in Austin for a while. I never quite understood the deal but, after you demoed it on your trip, I may have to give it a try. It looks to be a really great adventure, but I have to ask -you stand the entire time for several hours? What about wakes or choppy waves? Are those hard to handle (sorry, the engineer in me is coming out).

    Still, looks like something I would like to try.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2013 at 1:31 am

      The wakes and the choppy waves weren’t difficult. It was those huge manatees swimming under our boards that had us afraid we would fall.
      I’d have liked to have had a few more waves to increase the difficulty. Our feet muscles felt a little fatigued after a while, but once we figured out how to change our stance occasionally, it was fairly easy. Try it first in calmer waters, and I bet you’ll be begging for more of a challenge as well. It was incredibly fun!

       

Leave a Reply

 
