RSS

Variety

29 Sep

Variety is the spice of life.

It’s the spice of my hotel job too.  If it weren’t for all the different types of people moving in and out of our place, my days would be pretty mundane.

From the Mrs. Wi!!iams of the world, to the compulsive liars, to the Ev@n’s, a sweet middle-aged man with the mind of an 8 year old.

Ev@n comes every year to stay a few nights and attend a few Cardinal’s games.  He drives himself from Kentucky, always calling before he leaves to tell us he’s on his way.  “You remember me right? You’re expecting me right?  You got a room for me right?  You’re not going to give it away? And my dad told me to tell you I’m NOT paying more than what I owe.  So you’re only charging what I owe, right? ”  This sequence of questions always start a few days before his arrival, and occurs multiple times throughout his stay.

We’ve learned to have his room ready for him before he arrives, or else our other guests pay the price.  No matter how sweet it is, it’s annoying.  And if we’re busy at the desk, he’ll begin talking to others.

I don’t understand how I have so much patience with him.  I’m not usually known for my patience.  But I can assure him as many times as he needs assurance, that I have not checked him out of his room yet.  That I know he leaves on Saturday.  And that he CAN keep his car in the garage past our check-out time.

When I discovered that the bridge construction was going to mean a detour for him on his return trip, I worried tremendously how he would react.  I told him a day in advance so he could get set in his mind how the trip home would go.  I listened patiently as he reiterated the directions I had given him.  Each time he gained more confidence, and would orally convince himself he could do this.  “Even an 8 year old could do this, Ev@n.” he would say to himself.

I overheard other guests calling me a saint, and my managers commented on how kind I am.  But I hope they would have done the same if I wasn’t there.

I haven’t heard if he made it home with no trouble, but he’s expected back in the near future.  This time I’ll be excited to talk to him and hear how he managed.

I certainly have more patience with him than with Mrs. D@vis, who changed rooms yesterday, but left a shirt in the drawer of her previous room.  She couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t just call up there (at 7 AM) and ask the current guests to look for it.

“Well, it’s a little early to call, and I don’t want to disturb them,” I explained.

“But if you wait too long, they’ll take it home with them.  They’ll think I didn’t want it and will decide to just keep it,” was her rebuttal.

I tried to explain they probably didn’t even know it was in the drawer, and if she could just wait a little longer, I would be happy to call.

Well, she couldn’t wait.  And took it upon herself to call the room.  (After all, she knew which room since she’d stayed there the previous night.)

I was floored.  I’m shocked sometimes by how much gall people have, and how untrustworthy they are of others. Yes, some people do take what doesn’t belong to them, but for the most part, IF a shirt is found, they would have brought it down to us.  I know, because it’s happened.

I hope she didn’t wake them.  We’ll probably never know, unless it’s mentioned in a survey.

Yeah, I’ll take the Ev@n’s of the world over the Mrs. D@vis’s and Wi!!iam’s of the world.

But the best guests are the Mrs. C00k’s..

Wait til you hear what SHE did!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Variety

  1. Abby

    September 29, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    I once asked one of my hotel colleagues what he liked best about the job. He said, “All the people we meet!”. What he most disliked? “All the people we meet!”

    Good on you for watching out for the Ev@ns of the world. As for shirt lady, she seems like one of those people who really think the world revolves around them and is shocked that we don’t realize it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2013 at 1:06 am

      Your hotel colleague nailed it.
      Shirt lady really could not understand why we wouldn’t call. All she could think about was how they were going to rip off her shirt. I swear she came down so many times that we ran when she saw her! (okay… not really…) but sheesh! I got the housekeeping manager involved, and she wouldn’t listen to him either! It was 7 AM!! How would SHE feel if we did that to her?
      It still bothers me a bit….

       
  2. territerri

    September 29, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    I think Abby has Mrs. D@vis figured out to a tee! How rude of her. I can imagine you encounter all kinds of personalities in your job – people who are happy and cheerful because they’re on vacation, people who are cranky because they’re traveling for work, people who are self-righteous because they’re church people and they’re judging everyone! I suspect you have so much patience for Ev@n because even though he’s an adult, he’s like a child. And he makes you want to take care of him, even though his habits can be a little annoying. You ARE good for being so kind to him. I’m pretty sure he’s encountered more than his share of people who are NOT kind to him.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2013 at 1:12 am

      Ev@n was so much like a young child, and I, being the oldest of the front desk crew (sigh), took on the motherly role. I kind of enjoyed it. And I think you’re right, there are many others who aren’t as patient.
      We have so many personalities come through that every day is a new day. You never know what (or who) each day will bring. It’s honestly why I love my job.

       
  3. agg79

    September 30, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Wow. I am still totally impressed with your patience and stamina. Especially dealing with the personalities like Mes Williams and Mrs D@vis. I would have so gone postal on those two. I guess that is why I am not in the customer service business. Some people will treat others like crap, given the opportunity. Sad.

    Whenever I travel, I try to keep this in mind and be a good guest. Despite the circumstances, I find it annoying/disturbing to see people treat others with a menial attitude. Glad to see you are not letting them grind you down.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2013 at 1:17 am

      Luckily, most of our guests are wonderful, so it’s easy to provide great customer service. Any time someone compliments us on our service, I return the compliment. THEY are great guests making it easy to serve them. When I say it’s been a pleasure having them stay with us, I really mean it.
      I don’t let too many people get me down, but there’s been a few occasions where my mood for the day has been totally altered by a rude or non-understanding guest. Thank goodness they are few and far between.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    October 1, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    I like the sound of Ev@n – I know a few people like him. A sudden change of plan can really throw a spanner in the works, so can I thank you for helping him?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 1, 2013 at 4:56 pm

      Why yes you can. I have a pretty good feeling you would have done the same. Others may not have been rude necessarily, but I’m not sure they would have taken the time to make sure he was ok. I’ve become quite attached to him. But I must say I really don’t care to see his brand new car “just one more time?” Once was good enough for me. 🙂

       
  5. llcooljoe

    October 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Actually a sudden change of plan or a new route would throw me completely too and I haven’t got the mind of an 8 year old!

    If I’d been in that room and got a call at 7.00am I would have got the shirt put it in a bag and left it outside the bedroom door. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 2, 2013 at 11:45 am

      I don’t like sudden changes either, which is why I thought it best to let him know a few days in advance. And then I listened for two days while he explained to me the detour route over and over again. But I think he got it! 🙂
      I would’ve been mad to have gotten a call at 7 AM from a different guest. Especially one accusing me of possibly going home with her shirt. Sheesh

       

Leave a Reply

 
