RSS

Fantabulous

03 Oct

We’ll occasionally get tips at the front desk. They’re always appreciated, but never expected. Our job is to bend over backwards for people, so that’s what we do.

There have been times when people have brought up their leftover pizza or St. Louis BBQ. The younger agents gobble these up, enjoying the chance for a free meal. Our frequent guests are known to bring us delicious treats and snacks. And just recently, some of our Nestle guests brought in two big bags full of candy, including a whole box of the yellow Laffy Taffy that they remembered I LOVE!

Whether we enjoy these treats or not, it’s always heartwarming to know they are thinking of us and want to show their appreciation of what we do.

Most recently, Mrs. C00k showed her appreciation of everything I do for her, in a big way. She’s a weekend season ticket holder for the Cardinals, and has been staying at our hotel for 11 years. Any time they’re playing at home, she’ll bring along different family members to go to the game.

For the past couple of years, I have set up all her reservations, negotiating rates as best I could, and upgrading her whenever possible. She’ll occasionally hand me a few bucks over the counter, and I always tell her it’s my pleasure to help her out. Throughout the years, she’s lost her husband to brain cancer and gone through chemo herself for breast cancer. And through all this, she’s never missed a game. It was a tradition for them, and she’s carried it on all this time.

This past weekend, none of her family members were able to attend the game, so she offered the two tickets to me.

I hesitated for only a second, and then gushed about how I’d love to go. Hubby and I have only been to one game at the new stadium, yet we follow the Cardinals pretty closely. It was settled. We’d go on Sunday afternoon. I could get off early from work. Hubby would take the metrolink in, and we’d take in the last game of the season against our rivals, the Chicago Cubs.

And it was fantabulous!

The day was beautiful. The hot dog and nachos were delicious. And the company, Mrs. C00k and her beau, was very enjoyable.

IMG_0658[1]

If you look closely, you can see my hotel. It’s between the Arch and the tall glass building. It’s short, and the top barely peaks over the top of the white parking garage. See it??

I’m still carrying her kindness with me. Four days later, and the warm fuzzies are flowing full force. I now feel like I need to repay her. I was doing my job. She was acting with kindness. I hope I was able to portray how appreciative my hubby and I were at the chance to go to a game.

Guests like Mrs. C00k, totally make up for the Mrs. Wi!!iams’ and Mrs. D@vis’s of the hotel world. With luck, the Cardinals will continue their winning streak, so she can continue staying with us for a while. And if I’m really nice, maybe she’ll let me attend a playoff game. I need something to help me get over the fact that Link just turned 21.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Fantabulous

  1. Rock Chef

    October 3, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    From my limited hotel experience, I know that the attitude of the staff does make a huge difference. I am sure that you deserved every minute of this treat!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 4, 2013 at 12:51 am

      I think your right. Mrs. C00k loves our hotel because every staff member makes her feel at home. But it goes both ways. We make her feel at home because we LOVE her as a guest. Kind, appreciative guests get so much more from us than demanding guests.

       
  2. territerri

    October 4, 2013 at 12:40 am

    I don’t think you need to repay this kindness. I think it was Mrs. C00k’s way of repaying YOU for going above and beyond so many times.People appreciate being treated well and she was just showing you her appreciation. Give yourself a pat on the back for doing what you do so well!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 4, 2013 at 12:56 am

      I think ACCEPTING the tickets was enough to repay her. When she saw how happy we were and how much fun we were having, it made her feel good. Even so, I wrote her a thank you note and included a few treats I noticed she liked, and placed them in her upgraded (for free!) room before she arrived today. I’d say we’re even, and it’s time to go back to me taking care of her. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    October 4, 2013 at 10:32 am

    What a great gift. That really makes up for the ones who treat the staff like their own personal servants. It may be hard to not reciprocate but I agree with Terri that Mrs C00k is repaying you for all the help and kindness you have given her over the years. To me, that is a lesson they don’t teach in school – show kindness and respect to people and it will pay off in ways you cannot imagine. Glad you got to enjoy the game. You deserved it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 4, 2013 at 10:13 pm

      I talk more about our grumpy guests than I do our kind and appreciative ones. We’re lucky to have people stopping by all the time to tell us how much they love our hotel. That’s always nice.. but tickets to a Cardinals/Cubs game!! On a beautiful Sunday afternoon!! It was more than I could ever hope for. You can bet she’ll get all the upgraded rooms she wants from now on. 😉

       
  4. lottajoy

    October 5, 2013 at 1:19 am

    FIRST, after nearly getting killed in Atlanta, we had no choice but to grab the first motel we could find. I refused the room in back (by the dumpster) and was given another choice location with cockroaches in the hall and a pee stain on the mattress pad. (I LOOK with a flashlight) But we were too shaken up to drive farther.

    Our next motel was chosen because it used to be clean and fastidious. I asked for two queen beds instead of one king, so I could check both beds and take the cleanest one.

    Traveling is no longer enjoyable and we had NO choices due to having a small dog along.

    Give me a hotel that is spanking clean with helpful employees and they’d have me as a friend for life.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 5, 2013 at 1:37 am

      AND we all accept pets! Come on over!

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 5, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    That is so awesome! You totally deserve it but how nice it is when people notice the good job… even when it was just “your job” … not everybody does their job like that… look even at the way you described her… you’ve paid attention… you’ve cared! Nobody can ever pay someone enough for that! 😀 Great job! Happy you enjoyed! and yes… I see your hotel! hi! (waving at you! LOL) it’s incredible to think I’ve probably been so close to you without knowing… LOL! I married hubby in 2007 and on our way from my home in Mexico to his home in Milwaukee, Wi we stopped at many places, including the arch… 😀 very cool! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2013 at 10:37 am

      Oh my goodness! You were so close! But in 2007 I was teaching in my small home town 50 miles away from the Arch. If you’re ever this way again….

       

Leave a Reply

 
