RSS

No weekend? No matter.

05 Oct

Since we’ve been back from Florida, I have not had two days off in a row.  The house is a mess, and I can’t remember the last time I talked to my kids without my thumbs.

But I have managed to do a few important things.

Like bake.

A coworker asked me to bake for a friend of hers that was going through some rough times.  And while I was at it, could I just bake her a little something too.

Of course I agreed, especially since I was eager to try out a new frosting tip.  Look how pretty they are!

Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream Frosting

Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream Frosting

The tip didn’t work well with the chocolate mint frosting, however.  The chocolate bits kept getting stuck, so I gave in and just plopped it on the cake.  Not so pretty, but quite yummy!

Chocolate Mint Cupcakes with Mint Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Mint Cupcakes with Mint Buttercream Frosting

And remember the bags of Nestle candy given to us by a very appreciative guest?  Well it was decided that I should use the bag of Butterfingers to make cupcakes.  I jumped at the chance and began pinning right away.  I used a variety of recipes to come up with these:

Caramel Cupcakes with Butterfinger Frosting

‘ Caramel Cupcakes with Butterfinger Caramel Frosting

The Cardinals playoff game was on while I whipped the icing.  I found myself getting caught up in the game while my Kitchen Aide mixer continued to work overtime.  The frosting turned out so light and creamy, and the Cardinals won!  Win/Win!

I’ve also managed to fit in a few days of running.  That’s RUNNING! if you didn’t hear me right.  Six whole weeks of rest, and my foot is feeling terrific!  Both times I ran 5.5 miles and the only thing complaining are my muscles.  They’ll get over it.

Hubby left today to go to Colorado.  I’d be a little sadder about being left behind if he wasn’t going to some Podunk town I’ve never heard of to study solar stuff. He picked a good day to go.  With all the banging, drilling, scraping going on up on the roof, it’s not the quiet, relaxing day off I’d hoped it would be.  BUT.  We’re gettin’ a new roof.  Eventually we’ll have the house all spic and span and new… and then we’ll sell it.  As soon as we know where our new house will be.  

Okay.  Gotta go.  The bathrooms are in desperate need of some TLC.  And my kids are growing up without me!

IMG_0696[1]

IMG_0699[1]

(Homecoming night. Neither one wanted me to take their picture.  Mario at least smiled.  Amp allowed one snapshot.  This was it.  Hopefully I’ll see better pics of him and his date later on….)

 
19 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Baking, Everyday Living, Family, Parenting, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “No weekend? No matter.

  1. Abby

    October 6, 2013 at 3:24 am

    Well! Nice catching up! The cupcakes look yummo as always, the homecomers are pretty sweet looking too. And you’re back running – yay! New roof… you’re on a roll!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2013 at 10:32 am

      oops. The male homecomer is actually Amp, not Link. Sure sign I got too much going on.
      With as busy as it’s been, I’m feeling surprising underwhelmed. I hope the roll continues!

       
      • Abby

        October 7, 2013 at 2:22 am

        I was thinking, “gee that sure looks more like Amp, plus Link’s not in high school, I bet she means Amp”. At least you didn’t call him Mario.

         
      • shadowrun300

        October 7, 2013 at 12:41 pm

        Yes. There are worse things I could have called him. 🙂

         
  2. agg79

    October 6, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Great way to wrap up a weekend. Even if the cupcakes didn’t quite live up to your expectations, your baking skills are still over the top but I thought you were learning to say NO.

    Great to hear you are back running again. I haven’t been very much of late and really need to get back out on the trails. Just remember to take it slow & easy. Use my running strategy: Start out slow and then back off. Cute homecoming shots of the kids. I can see that Amp is thrilled about having his picture taken. .

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2013 at 11:54 pm

      Umm yeah… about that NO thing. I haven’t quite mastered it yet.
      It feels so good to be running again. I’m trying to jump back into it slowly. Trying. And I wondered if you’d been able to get any running in with all your traveling.
      Amp has my feelings about pics. They’re better if we’re not in them.

       
  3. territerri

    October 6, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Mmmmm, you’re baked goods always look SO good! The caramel and butterfinger ones sound especially yummy!

    Your kids look so nice, all dressed up like that! Hope they had a great time at the dance!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2013 at 11:57 pm

      Amp had a “surprisingly enjoyable time” at the dance, and Mario had a blast. Neither one took a lot of pics though. I’ll have to scrounge from their friends.
      The Butterfinger cupcakes were so fun to bake. Nobody was paying me for them, so I could let loose and try new things.

       
  4. territerri

    October 6, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Almost forgot…. Congrats on getting back to running! Way to go!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 6, 2013 at 11:57 pm

      And thanks! It’s a great feeling to be running again. And the weather is perfect for it!

       
  5. Sandi

    October 7, 2013 at 7:30 am

    I confess to discovering Butterfingers when travelling through US and it’s probably a good thing I would have to find an import shop to buy them here. Those cupcakes look DIVINE and would have me falling off my healthy-eating-week wagon far too quickly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 8, 2013 at 3:16 am

      These cupcakes are not for those watching their weight. So much butter and sugar involved! And then I added a candy bar! lol
      I love to bake them, but then I take them to work where I have plenty of co-workers who aren’t as concerned.
      I’m interested in all the new foods you discovered while you were in the US. Tell me at least some of it was healthy. We’re not very known for our healthy lifestyle. :/

       
      • Sandi

        October 8, 2013 at 5:25 am

        Oh I can’t really tell you about healthy food, I confess we enjoyed the ‘junk food’ very, very much … 🙂

         
  6. lottajoy

    October 7, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Nothing is crispier or crunchier than a Butterfinger. I’m willing to risk a diabetic coma at times when I see them….But I’d never stop.

    The icing in the top photo looks like it came from Pinterest, which I’ve never been able to duplicate on any level. WE just returned TO Florida. Not having kids, I cleaned my house before I left, then got to walk in and see how OTHER people live. Everything was neat!!! (not for long)

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 8, 2013 at 3:22 am

      I DO love a good Butterfinger….
      I’m on Pinterest all the time and am so envious of how pretty their cupcakes always look. I finally found a tip that would make mine look just as good! I’m thrilled you think it’s Pinterest worthy. (At least that’s what I’m taking your comment to mean.)
      I can’t remember the last time I walked into a clean house that belonged to me. After work today, I walked into a kitchen filled with wall-to-wall trash. The dog had helped herself to some coffee grounds, or SOMETHING, and forgot to clean up after herself. My 16 year old boy was the first one home, but I doubt he even noticed.

       
  7. Rock Chef

    October 8, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    The kids really are growing up, aren’t they? My youngest just turned 15 and is getting into weights, running and stuff…

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 8, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      Mario just turned 15 too. She’s into plays and has little time for anything else. The poor girl auditioned for 2 different plays and got a lead role in each. Now she’s kicking herself because she has so many lines to memorize and so little time. I keep telling her she’s learning a lot about herself – and how much of a challenge she can take on.

       
  8. llcooljoe

    October 8, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Your cupcakes look amazing! Very professional, and your kids look handsome and beautiful too.

    We need a new roof but when we heard how much it was going to cost we went for the patch up version for now!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 8, 2013 at 6:23 pm

      We already did the patch up version. It DID put the cost of a new roof off for a few years, but eventually we had no choice but to go all out.
      It’s fun to watch the kids mature and come into their own. Even with the occasional attitude, I’m quite proud of who they are. And yeah, I think they’re pretty good looking too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
