RSS

Today belonged to me

09 Oct

I still haven’t had the luxury of two days off in a row, and there’s no sign of a “weekend” in the near future.  But boy have I learned to enjoy the one day that I do get.

Take today for example.  I got up early to get my run in before the kids left for school.  I shooed them out the door and with that, the day became all mine.

I enjoyed a peaceful breakfast while catching up with Alex Cross as he tries to solve multiple acts of crime.  Never a dull moment in that guy’s life.

Then, with my favorite Pandora station in the background, I puttered around the house, cleaning only what I felt like.  I took some time out to bake chewy oat bars for my family, and then headed outside to wash my car.

I think the thing I’ll miss most when we move to Florida (or wherever….) will be the fall temperatures and beautiful colors this time of year brings.  I took my time washing and drying and tire shining my car.  It was too nice to rush back inside.

The rest of the afternoon was spent just enjoying a quiet house.  It’s amazing how calming that can be. The clicking of the cicadas drifting through the open windows, and the hum of the fans as they softly stirred the air, were the only sounds I heard.  Until the satellite guy came.  I don’t think he was aware of my efforts to go a whole day without talking. I found myself having to say things like “The dish is on the backside of the house.  Come this way.”  and “Thanks for fixing our TV reception (now get the heck out!)”

Luckily it didn’t take him that long.  Just a quick repointing of the dish since the roofers’ guess wasn’t quite right.

After a bit more relaxing, it was time to head to Chip’s first college concert of the year.  I put on stayed in my best cleanest comfiest sweats, donned my favorite cap, and was just leaving the house when Chip called begging me to quickly bring him a different pair of black pants.  Since his last concert he’s grown taller and bigger, I guess.  I grabbed an old pair of my hubby’s from downstairs and raced to the college.  I arrived with moments to spare, caught my breath, and settled back into my relaxed, taking-it-easy, self.

The concert was fabulous, as always, and I was so proud to watch him play.  I’m only sorry my hubby, who’s still in Colorado, and Amp, who had his own band practice, missed it.  Then again, they’ve seen plenty that I’ve had to miss.

IMG_0709[1]

Click pic for a close up of Chip. He’s in the first chair of the first row playing the sax. This is the jazz band, about half the size of the concert band that played earlier.

So back to work again tomorrow.  I’m looking forward to it actually.  I’ll be training the new girl on evening shifts, and the night promises to be very fun!  The Cardinals pulled out a big win in Pittsburgh, and the tie breaker for the series will be played in St. Louis Wednesday night!  There’ll be so much excitement in the air.  I wouldn’t want to miss it – even for another day like today.

And to not be outdone by RC, who’s posting spider pics, take a look at the spider that has chosen our backyard for his home.  **shiver**

IMG_0703[1]

 
18 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2013 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “Today belonged to me

  1. Rock Chef

    October 9, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    The sax is a great instrument – always wanted to learn but it was out of my price range when I was young.

    That is a NASTY looking spider! Looks like something from Starship Troopers!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Yes, saxes are very costly. We started out renting, but when Chip and Amp showed they were going to stick with it, we bit the bullet. It’s been well worth the cost.
      Those spiders are the biggest, ugliest things I’ve ever seen. I’ve heard them called tomato spiders, but I have not confirmed that. They’re probably harmless, but It took everything I had to get close enough for a pic. YUCK.

       
  2. lottajoy

    October 9, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I could not read past the word “FLORIDA”. Don’t toy with me child. Were you joking???

    Just so you’ll know, winter down here is between 60 and 70. No rain, and perfect for running. I SHOULD KNOW. I’ve seen people doing it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 10, 2013 at 4:26 am

      We don’t know WHERE we want to live, but when we entered St. Pete’s Beach, we both looked at each other and said, “okay!” It was so beautiful and had just about everything we’re looking for. The only thing missing was one of my hotels nearby. I’d like to not have to change hotel chains, but I must admit, when I saw The Grand Hyatt down there, I felt a flutter of excitement. That place looks fantastic!
      So lots of things have to take place before we make a decision, but if it’s Florida, you’ll be the first to know! Well, after my mom… and dad… and my job… and a few of the kids… and THEN you. 😉

       
  3. territerri

    October 10, 2013 at 2:48 am

    Enough with the spider pictures, you guys! 🙂

    Every once in a while, I figure out how to take a day in stride like you’ve described. It’s so good for your state of mind, isn’t it? So glad you did things you enjoyed and managed to get the satellite guy out of there in a hurry!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 10, 2013 at 4:29 am

      I know! I felt sick taking that picture, but I couldn’t let RC be the lone spider post-er.
      I just came from your site. Sounds like YOU need what I just had. Minus the satellite guy, of course.

       
  4. Abby

    October 10, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Nice day off, although I have no idea who Alex Cross is! Glad you got to enjoy the band concert too. Nice pants :).

    That spider is creepy. Why didn’t you put your hand right next to it to give us some scale?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 11, 2013 at 12:50 am

      Ha. I was proud of myself for even LOOKING at it. I knocked one down one time when dusting the gutters of webs, and it fell to the deck with a loud thunk. YUCK!
      Alex Cross is this guy who solves lots of crimes, and always seems to have some kind of drama in his life. I think it’s all made up though….

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 12, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    ok first of all… the cupcakes in the previous post look yummy!!! … then… that spider looks… creepy! and your day sounds absolutely fabulous! How relaxing! 😀 … so… I definitely need to do a better job keeping up with you and your blog… when are you moving to Florida? why? are you absolutely sure? Talk about having creepy neighbors build their houses in your yard! very warm weather is very welcoming of scary critters… of all sizes… I am telling you this NOW that I live in Houston! … eeeek! LOL!… But of course if you are not as fearful as I am you’ll have a grand time there! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2013 at 3:00 pm

      You’re funny. 🙂 First of all, no, we’re not sure about Florida. We’re not sure about anything. But we fell in love with St. Pete’s Beach, and it was the first place in all our recent travels that we both felt we could call home. Creepy critters and all.
      Nice to see you again. Thought maybe one of those Texas snakes got ya. 😉

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 12, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    BTW … Chip looks very handsome! I love the sax!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      I love watching him play. I get as close as I can, so I can see HIM. Who cares about the rest of the band. 🙂

       
  7. llcooljoe

    October 15, 2013 at 11:20 am

    I love having a quiet day to myself in the house, but they seem to be becoming increasingly rare nowadays.

    The saxophone is one of my favourite instruments, so well done to Chip!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2013 at 1:20 pm

      I know what you mean. To have the entire house to myself is a rarity, and I loved every minute of it!
      Two of my boys play the saxophone. They’re not cheap, but well worth it! Especially since they both play so well!

       
  8. Meleah Rebeccah

    October 21, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Oh man – that sure sounds like the PERFECT day off! Glad you enjoyed it so much!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 22, 2013 at 2:34 am

      Days off seem so rare to me, so it was fabulous to be able to spend it the way I wanted!
      Good to see you again!

       
  9. agg79

    October 23, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Great way to enjoy the day off. Everybody deserves a day (or two) like that. Glad you were able to take time out of your hectic schedule to make it up to Chip’s concert. Those memories are ones that you cannot buy and can never recreate.

    That is one bad-assed spider. Reminds me of of a few of the banana spiders we have down here – about the size of your had and love to spin their web right about face height.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 23, 2013 at 4:58 am

      Their concerts are one of the few reasons I’ll ask for a specific day off at work. I really do LOVE to go and see them play. And I think they secretly like to have me there.
      Banana spiders… maybe that’s what they are. I thought I’d heard they were tomato spiders. Either way, YUCK!

       

Leave a Reply

 
