RSS

Treat or Treat

12 Oct

I know I’ve said this before, but it’s been at least a year, so I feel the need to say it again.

I LOVE OCTOBER. 

It always starts with a bang, (Link’s birthday is Oct. 1), which sometimes brings me down a bit, (’cause he gets older every year, which if I think about it too long means I’m the mother of someone who keeps getting older each year.  This year, he was 21. **breathe**).  Before long, he’ll be catching up with me.

But once that’s out of the way, it’s all uphill.  Not even MY birthday, which falls mid-October, gets me down.  How can it, when October brings cooler weather, colorful trees, baseball playoffs.  (GO CARDS!)

And most importantly….  candy corn and peanuts.

Honestly.  Candy corn and peanuts are The. Best. Thing. about October.   Well, you can have ’em anytime of the year, but I only allow myself to indulge during the month of October.  And indulge I do.  Nightly.

I wanted to share my love of them with my family and co-workers, but thought it too easy to just mix up a bowl of them and set them out.

So I baked with them.

Scarecrow Treats

Scarecrow Treats

Scarecrow Treats - Gooey Butter Cake with marshmallows, peanut butter Rice Krispies, Candy corn and peanuts

Scarecrow Treats – Gooey Butter Cake with marshmallows, peanut butter Rice Krispies, Candy corn and peanuts

 

 

Peanut Butter Fudge

Peanut Butter Fudge

 

They turned out okay.  I mean, they were good, but to be honest,  they’re not as good as plain ol’ candy corn and peanuts.  So along with the treats, I’m bringing in a bowl full of simple goodness.

Simply Delicious!

Simply Delicious!

If you haven’t tried ’em yet, do yourself a favor.  And since you’ve gotten a late start, it’ll be okay to take your new addiction into the month of November.  And if you insist, I’ll continue on as well.

***Update***

I took the treats to work.  They were loved by all.  But I could NOT bring myself to share the bowl of candy corn and peanuts.  I wanted them all to myself.  It’s my birthday month.  I don’t have to share if I don’t wanna.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2013 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Treat or Treat

  1. jirafaa

    October 12, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    I really want the recipe for the peanut butter fudge. 0.o
    I like the same October foods. 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2013 at 3:06 am

      Well… technically they’re salted nut bars that I topped with candy corn. But it’s fudgy and has peanut butter in it so I called it peanut butter fudge. 🙂 But I linked the recipe for you. Hope you like them!

       
      • jirafaa

        October 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm

        Thank you so much! 🙂
        They will be delicious.

         
  2. Abby

    October 12, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    I’ll admit that I’m no fan of candy corn, but like peeps at Easter, it just wouldn’t be October without it! Happy belated Birthday to your little one!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2013 at 3:12 am

      Wait. What?! Did I know this about you? You don’t…. like…. candy corn? But have you tried ’em with peanuts??
      Then again, I’m not a huge fan of peeps. I much prefer jelly beans at Easter. Without peanuts.
      My little one…. sigh…. hard to believe he’s 21.

       
  3. territerri

    October 14, 2013 at 1:09 am

    The scarecrow treats look AMAZING!

    I love October too. I wish it would hang around as long as winter seems to do!

    Enjoy your month of candy corn and peanuts. Me? I’m enjoying pumpkin pie ice cream. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2013 at 3:16 am

      The scarecrow treats WERE amazing! They were a huge hit at home and at work. Fairly easy to make too. Here’s the recipe I used if you’re interested. http://lilluna.com/scarecrow-treats/

      Pumpkin ice cream? Mmmm…. may have to get me some of that!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    October 14, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    Looks like candy corn is another thing that we do not get over here – what is it? Those treats look wonderful!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2013 at 2:32 am

      Ummm… it’s probably best if we don’t find out what candy corn really is. I can tell you they are very sweet, chewy candies that when mixed with salty peanuts are to die for. Want some? I can swing by London on my way to work.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    October 15, 2013 at 11:16 am

    I’ve had candy corn a couple of times when I was in the States and wasn’t that impressed! I have to admit I do prefer British sweets (candies) to most American candies I’ve tried, especially chocolate.

    But apart from that, most other things, Americans win at, so it’s all good. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2013 at 1:25 pm

      I can see how people wouldn’t like candy corn. Very sweet and almost waxy. In fact, if I eat just the candy corn it’s not near as good. BUT, paired with salty peanuts, they taste just like a Payday bar which is one of my faves.
      I can’t remember having any British sweets when I was over there. I do remember chocolates and candies from my Germany days that were delicious. Perhaps I’ll have to make a trip….

       
  6. llcooljoe

    October 18, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    I’ve never heard or had a Paybar either but we have Snickers which are chocolate and peanut and I can’t stand them.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 18, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      Now I’m curious about what you DO like. Any of your favorite treats available over here? I’m more than willing to try them out!

       
  7. Meleah Rebeccah

    October 21, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    October is also MY favorite month!!

    And OHMYWORD those treats look amazingly delicious!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 22, 2013 at 2:38 am

      October seems to be flying by! 😦
      These treats didn’t last long, but I still have a stash of peanuts and candy corn that I snack on every night. I limit myself to the month of October. One more reason to be sad it’s almost over.

       
  8. agg79

    October 23, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Yea, I think you have expressed your love of October before. I can totally understand why. The cooler weather, the hint of the upcoming winter, holiday baking, the playoffs…

    Candy corn and peanuts? I have to admit I have never tried that combination. The mixture looks like some sort of sugar coated amalgam of sticky goodness. That sounds so bad I just gotta get me some. Where can I put in my order?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 23, 2013 at 4:49 am

      Sugar coated sticky goodness. Yep. So bad but so good. One bite was plenty. The simple mix of candy corn and peanuts is enough for me. Hurry and try it before October is over!

       

Leave a Reply

 
