RSS

GASP!

22 Oct

I’m finally coming up for air.  Sheesh, it’s been a heck of a  week.

8 consecutive days of work.  All night shifts.  Rare glimpses of my family here and there.

I’d heard through the grape vine that Mario was sick.  After three days, my hubby took her to the doc.  Upper respiratory infection they said.  She stayed home from school.  She slept. She coughed. She slept. She showered. She slept.  The next day, she was home again.  And the next.  And the next.

By this time I was off so I took her back in.  A change of antibiotics and some steroids has finally allowed her to stay awake long enough to eat and try to make up a week’s worth of lost schooling.

Personally I think she was bitten by the show biz bug.  For years she’s wanted a main part in a play.  Right now, she has a main part in TWO plays.  The school’s and the County’s.   Between all the practices and all her homework, she was feeling a bit stressed.  Perfect chance for a bug to bite.  And it got her good.

She missed one performance of the County play.  One out of SIX!  At least the school play coming up in November has only one performance.   I have a feeling these next few weeks will feel easy peasy to her compared to these last few weeks.

I, myself, have a developed a fever this past week.  Cardinal Fever!!   Such an exciting time in the city right now.  The Cardinals are once again in the World Series, and we are pumped!  I find myself drinking it all in, reading every story and watching every video.  I can’t help but be impressed with how well they are doing as a team.  And to have all these young pitchers who can perform under the playoff pressures, blows my mind.  Wacha is only a year older than Link, and his poise and focus is amazing.  Gawd it’s fun to watch!  I can’t wait for Wednesday night.  If you’re not doing anything, help cheer us on.  Not only is it fun, it’s good for the hotel business! Which means I’ll be working… a lot….

No matter.  I’ll see you all again the next time I come for air.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “GASP!

  1. Rock Chef

    October 22, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Glad that Mario is on the mend!

    Show biz, eh? It’s all that hugging and stuff, spreads the germs like anything 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm

      I was really getting worried about her! She’s definitely better, but still doesn’t have much of an appetite and she’s still coughing quite a bit.
      There is definitely a lot of hugging and stuff that happens in show biz. Funny thing is, none of her co-stars are sick. Yet.

       
      • Rock Chef

        October 23, 2013 at 2:40 pm

        Maybe they are just toughing it out – “The show must go on…”

         
  2. Abby

    October 22, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Oh ugh, sorry about Mario’s ills! Sounds like she’s turned the corner. It’s tough being a star!

    I don’t really follow baseball (good thing considering where I live), so I’ll happily jump on the Cardinal bandwagon. Go Cards!!

     
  3. agg79

    October 23, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Sorry to hear Mario was under the weather. Hope that the new meds help her recover quickly and get back to her audience. Wish her the best in her roles. “Break a leg”.

    I am envious of your Cards, but totally get your enthusiasm. We’ve been out of the playoffs since July so our news down here doesn’t play up the series as much. I imagine that things are hopping at the hotel right now with the playoffs going on. I will be pulling for the Cards to come out on top of the Red Sox (even though my co-worker is a Boston fan).

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 23, 2013 at 4:54 am

      Her next performance is early November. It’s Shakespeare and she has tons of lines to memorize with no idea what they mean. lol I’ll let her know you want her to break a leg. 😉

      The Cards are definitely looking for Revenge of the Red Sox. Based on what I’ve seen all year, I’m thinking we have a pretty good shot. A little help from Texas will certainly help! I won’t tell your co-worker…

       
  4. llcooljoe

    October 23, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Poor Mario, yes working too hard, and get stressed out is the quickest way to get run down and ill. The poor body just says enough is enough. Sounds like you need to watch it too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 23, 2013 at 1:23 pm

      Bah. I never get sick. Well, except that one time… when I was down and out for 10 days. Yeah, perhaps I should be careful too.

       
  5. Meleah Rebeccah

    October 23, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    Oh no. I hope Mario feels better soon! Being sick sucks! I hope the new antibiotics & steroids work!

    Go Cardinals!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2013 at 2:00 am

      Slowly but surely she’s getting better. 🙂

      Gotta cheer louder for the Cards. Not off to a very good start.

       
  6. territerri

    October 24, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Poor Mario! It does sound like her hectic schedule caught up with her and the bug bit when her immunities were down. Hopefully that was her illness for the winter and she won’t have to endure any more.

    I’m not much of a baseball watcher, but I’ll root for your Cardinals from afar! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2013 at 2:02 am

      It would be awesome if this was her illness for the year. Most years, she’s sick over Christmas or New Years. Maybe she’ll get a break this year!

      With the way the Cards are playing so far, we can use all the rootin’ you got!

       

Leave a Reply

 
