RSS

Another year gone

25 Oct

Another birthday come and gone just like that.

I spent the day working, which is nice.  I like my job.  And except for the one guy that was mean to me, things went fairly smoothly.  He probably didn’t know it was my birthday.

Mario remembered  to get me a card.  Amp signed it.  Chip came by for some goodies I’d made, saw the birthday cards, and without missing a beat, gave me a birthday hug.  I’m quite sure Link’s card is in the mail….

Hubby had a beautifully wrapped present for me on the bar.   I almost didn’t want to unwrap the perfectly taped Amazon box.  Almost.

I tore into it and immediately let out a squeal of delight.

It was just like Abby’s.  But not.

Coffee!

I love it because it holds 12 cups.  Hubby loves it because there’s no hot plate drawing electricity, thereby saving energy.  (Which I then use to run my little heater in the bathroom each morning.  And night.  And anytime I’m in there.)

The day before my birthday, I spent baking some cupcakes that have been on my pin board for a while now.

Candy Orange Slices are a favorite among the back office employees.  On good days, the bowl is passed around in celebration.  On hard days, the bowl is passed around for comfort.  So when I saw the recipe for Orange Slice Cupcakes, I had to make ’em.

Orange Slice Cupcakes

They look great!  But they weighed a ton.  I took one bite, and although the flavors were right on, the cupcakes weren’t light and fluffy like I prefer.  Maybe something to do with the melted down candies that were part of the batter??

A fun idea anyway.  And now I can knock it off my list.

Oh, and you know how I always have a difficult time saying no?  Well, this time, I was practically forced to say it.  The same coworker for whom I baked all those cakes, asked me late Wednesday night to bake 4 or 5 cakes for a party they were having on Saturday.

My heart sunk when I told her I couldn’t.  But I really couldn’t.  My work schedule for the days between would not allow enough time to bake that many.  At least not without feeling a bunch of stress.

So now I know I CAN say no.  But I don’t like it much.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in Baking, Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Another year gone

  1. Abby

    October 25, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    Happy Birthday!! {{virtual birthday hug}} Nice addition to your kitchen counter too!

    The cupcakes look great. Funny, I just came from Terri’s and the debate about colorful foods to this perfect example.

    And congratulations on giving yourself the gift of “No”! Well done.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 26, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      My new coffee maker fits right in with my other black and stainless steel appliances. I love it!
      I read the great debate over at Terri’s too. Orange is an important addition to a meal. While these cupcakes may not be as beneficial to your health as carrots, they’d look very pretty next to an all white meal. 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    October 26, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Happy belated birthday! What a great gift your hubby got you! (Personally, I love gifts like that. I’m a practical girl.)

    While I’m not a fan of the orange slices themselves, I do LOVE orange flavored things. Your cupcakes sound amazing. And what didn’t appeal to you – the heaviness – is something I love in cake. And your cupcakes are so pretty. Really, you could make a living running a specialty cupcakes bakery.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 26, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      I am all for practical gifts. And because I wouldn’t normally splurge on a new appliance when the old one is “ok”, it’s a fun treat to get a new one. I’m hoping for a new vacuum for Christmas.
      I suppose this cake was similar to a pound cake in density. I got lots of compliments on them, so they must have been edible. I’ve often thought about the bakery idea, but I’ve learned I really just like to make them for fun. Baking and decorating relaxes me if it’s not a job.
      Perhaps there’s some baking in store for you and Kacey this weekend?

       
      • territerri

        October 26, 2013 at 2:10 pm

        I can understand that! I guess it could stop being fun when it becomes work.

        Yes, we’re going to make some pumpkin cookies and pumpkin spice bread (per Jake’s request. Really an odd thing for him to ask for, since I’ve never made it and he’s so undomestic that I can’t imagine where he got the idea he wanted pumpkin spice bread!)

         
      • shadowrun300

        October 26, 2013 at 2:16 pm

        The fact that he even offered up a request is reason enough to bake it! (Perhaps he has a secret pinterest account.)
        I know exactly how you feel now that Jake is opening up a little, and coming out to be with the family more often. Sure sign that he’s happier! I’m getting those same warm feelings from Link and Chip. My heart rests a little easier these days, in that respect.

         
      • territerri

        October 26, 2013 at 2:18 pm

        Pinterest? I doubt it. A girl-friend? Maybe. But you’re right. When he expresses a desire for me to do something like this for him, I’m all over it.

        He has always been the quiet one, the one who struggles and the one I worry about. You’re right. It’s an amazing feeling to see these little signs that he’s happier.

         
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 27, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Those cupcakes do look super cute… I am sorry they weren’t what you were expecting… that is disappointing! How wonderful that your co-worker asked for more cakes… that is just another proof that she wasn’t just “flattering you” when she said she loved the previous cakes… I KNEW she had to love them! FRIEND! Happy b-lated birthday! I feel horrible I wasn’t here for you to celebrate with you! May you have many many more happy birthdays.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 27, 2013 at 11:46 pm

      I just thought the cupcakes were too heavy, but people seemed to like them. It’s probably a good thing that I don’t like every treat I make…..
      I do feel a little flattered that she asked me again, and had she asked me sooner, I probably would have said yes. I also would have made the cakes on my terms, not based on pictures. That’s what put so much pressure on me the first time.
      Thanks for the birthday wishes! My birthday lasts the whole month, so you didn’t miss it. 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    October 31, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    First off, let me wish you a happy belated birthday! Congrats on making one more lap around the sun! Remember – age is all a matter of perspective.

    Nice new toy. Hope it brings you years and gallons of caffeinated joy.
    And kudos on using that new vocabulary word: “no”. Hard to master at first.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 31, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      I’m lovin’ my new toy! Now I can refresh my coffee without having to get up. And it keeps it so hot! Without extra electricity!
      That “no” word was very difficult for me to say. In fact, not long after, another co-worker asked me to bake a cupcake just for her for her birthday. I said I would love to! I’ve just taken two steps back….

       
  5. llcooljoe

    November 6, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Damn I missed your birthday!! Sorry, your posts don’t show up in my reader!!

    Very cool present, and those cakes look great! It looks like you bake every day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Don’t worry about missing my birthday. I accept birthday wishes (and gifts) any time of the year.
      I definitely like to bake, but not every day. It relaxes me, and my family and co-workers don’t mind being my guinea pigs.

       
  6. Meleah Rebeccah

    November 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Oh man!! Sorry I’m so late! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
