RSS

Waaah!

04 Nov

I can’t believe it’s over. That was the fastest 31 days I’ve ever had. I still have candy corn and peanuts left over, how can it be November already?

Don’t get me wrong, I like November too. I can still bake fall goodies and still experience the changing colors, and Thanksgiving is a favorite holiday of mine, but we’re that much closer to winter. I’m not ready!

i want my flip flops!

Well, it was good while it lasted. The Cardinal’s added a lot of excitement to downtown St. Louis and to our hotel. It was sad to see them lose in Boston, but I have no doubt they’ll be in the running again next year.

And I knocked a few more pins off my list. Besides the candy corn treats, I also tried an apple tart,

20131103-161645.jpg

chocolate and peanut butter cupcakes,

IMG_0756[1]

and twice-baked peanut butter cookies.

IMG_0762[1]

The twice-baked part was not planned. I’d taken them out of the oven before they were done, because I thought they were done.  They weren’t.  At first I shrugged my shoulders, but after stewing over it for a while, I reheated the oven, and shoved them back in. They turned out surprising well.

Not a bad way to end my favorite month.  And since I still have candy corn and peanuts leftover, these first few days of November have been manageable.

The weather has helped too. I captured this view from the stoplight I’m always stuck at after work.  It’s something I see every day, but today, I took the time to take in the beauty of downtown St. Louis on a sunny November day.

IMG_0765[1]

Perhaps if I spent more time focusing on the beauty of November instead of allowing it to be tarnished by the W word, I wouldn’t be so sad that October is over.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Baking, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Waaah!

  1. Abby

    November 4, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    November. We can do this! In a relative sense, it’s way better than December, right? Yummy looking goodies!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 5, 2013 at 11:31 am

      Yes. We. Can.
      And December is way better than January. That’s the worst!

       
  2. lottajoy

    November 4, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    I have a photo of the arch from the car window. The trouble is, there’s the back of my furchild’s head in the way, looking too. I LOVE my photo.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 5, 2013 at 11:33 am

      Were you like so many others who just pass through St. Louis and have never stopped?
      Next time you head this way, at least bring Beau onto the Arch grounds. Then you can take a pic of him pretending to hold the Arch up.

       
  3. territerri

    November 6, 2013 at 2:02 am

    I’m okay with November. I like the fact that it’s not yet Crazy Christmas month and the W season usually isn’t in full force just yet, (though we have snow predicted overnight!)

    The chocolate/peanut butter cupcakes look SO good. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are one of my favorite candies. I think I would be in trouble with those cupcakes!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2013 at 3:58 am

      My hubby is in your neck of the woods right now. He said it had started to snow. (And he’s not happy about it. Lol)
      Reese’s is a favorite around here so the cupcakes were a big hit here and at work. I was excited to try out the double frosting trick. Not bad for my first try.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    November 6, 2013 at 4:32 am

    I prefer November and December to January and February. At least we have Christmas to look forward to, but after that it’s just cold, wet and dark for 2 months with nothing to look forward to. Well Spring I suppose.

    Your baking looks fantastic, and now I’m hungry!

    Great Arch!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2013 at 1:52 pm

      Oh I much prefer November and December to January and February. But I prefer October to November. And now it’s over. 😦
      And yes, the only good thing about February is the coming of Spring.
      Have you traveled to places other than Arizona when you come to the States?

       
  5. llcooljoe

    November 8, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Oh yeah before we got our house in AZ we travelled quite a bit. Really it was the weather that was the deciding factor. The idea of getting some winter sun was hard to resist, but I love a great many places in the States. I think it’s a beautiful country and the people are friendly. I’m not a great fan of the cities, even though they were fun to visit.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2013 at 2:44 am

      We are on the hunt for a warmer climate too. You make Arizona sound enticing. We may have to check it out.

       
  6. Meleah Rebeccah

    November 10, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    I can’t believe how fast October went either. And I am also still hoarding my Candy Corn!

    And now I am drooling over your foodie goodness!

    “Perhaps if I spent more time focusing on the beauty of November instead of allowing it to be tarnished by the W word, I wouldn’t be so sad that October is over.”

    Perhaps!!

     
  7. Mike

    November 11, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    You’re in good company with your dread of winter’s approach. I get the same way every year. And although I’ve probably seen the arch a thousand times, I still think it’s cool-looking. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 12, 2013 at 3:07 am

      I try to look at the Arch with new eyes every time I see it. Helps make my commute a little nicer.
      Unfortunately, winter is rearing it’s ugly head today. Chances of snow? Cold, blustery winds? I’m. Not. Ready!!

       
  8. agg79

    November 12, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    Ya know, if you were to be down south, you could enjoy summer a little linger (more two wheel time). Nice picture of the Arch. Too bad October is over, but now you can work on your Thanksgiving and Christmas recipes. Wild love to taste the chocolate and peanut butter cupcakes.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 2:04 am

      My two wheeler has been winterized for a month now, so I would definitely love to have a longer summer. We haven’t given up on moving south. Just trying to find the right time.
      I’m not thinking Christmas yet, but I’ve been pinning away at Thanksgiving recipes. It’s my favorite holiday! Sadly, there are not enough people in our family to devour all the goodies I want to make. I’ll end up bringing them to work, which will spark a zillion requests for baked goods. Better start practicing….
      NYET! NEIN! NO! OH HELL NO!
      I think I got it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
