RSS

Postponed

07 Nov

Ahhh… two days off in a row.

Or so I thought.  At the end of the first day, I got THE call.  Only one person was scheduled on the morning shift tomorrow, and with 140 checkouts they were wondering if I could come in and help.

Sure I can!

hmmph.

At least I accomplished a few things today.  Cleaned out my baking cabinet.  Baked some yummy oatmeal cookies.  Started the dough for chocolate chip cookies.  And washed a load of clothes.

Mario finally convinced me to go driving with her.  She’s had her permit for a few months now, and has only been out a couple of times with my hubby.  I warned her I’m a terrible passenger.  She warned ME she’s a terrible driver.

Luckily, we have plenty of country roads for her to navigate.  Little to no traffic, and very few intersections.  Still, I sat with my hands clenched and tried to remain calm.

nervous parent

At least I knew she was scanning the driveways for cars and pedestrians, because each time she looked, we veered off the road.  I clenched my jaw and managed not to say anything.  She knew.

After we were on the road a while, she let out a secret.  “You know Dad always teaches me to drive by telling me what it is YOU do wrong.”

What!?  What I do wrong?  I don’t do anything wrong!

“Let me tell you what HE does wrong,” I shot back.  I had to think quick.  What does he do wrong?  There’s gotta be something!  I mustered out a weak, “well he looks at the map on his iPad way too much.”

I felt better.

Another 1/2 hour of drive time checked off.  Only 46 more hours to go.  Hubby will probably have to do all the rest, since I never seem to be off of work.  I hope he’s teaching her this.  Not.

 

student driver 1

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2013 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Postponed

  1. territerri

    November 7, 2013 at 3:55 am

    Somehow, I ended up being the driving coach around here. And my kids all managed to earn their drivers licenses. Miracles!

    I feel for you. It is nerve wracking to sit over there on the passenger side and have no control over the car.

    My husband doesn’t use his turn signal much of the time. That’s not important to you, but I just wanted to vent about it somewhere. Complaining to him does me NO good!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 7, 2013 at 12:48 pm

      Glad you finally got the opportunity to vent about the turn signal. Around here, we don’t need turn signals. Everybody already knows where we’ll be turning. Benefit of a small town. 🙂
      Kudos to you for being the main driving instructor. I have a difficult time letting anyone else drive – experienced or not.

       
  2. Abby

    November 8, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    HA! That’s funny – you are the anti example?!

    Like Terri, I’ve been the resident driving coach here. My reward? Hours at the DMV to get the licenses. Happy trails!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2013 at 2:41 am

      But I’m not! I’m a very good driver. *pout*
      Most of the time….
      I THOUGHT I was going to be the coach, until I got in the car for the first time with Link. I panicked so often I thought it best that my hubby do it. It’s very scary! Although the DMV can be scarier.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    November 8, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Ha ha. I went out with my 19 year old when she was learning to drive. Never again. I kept putting my foot on an imaginary brake and shouting stop. Apparently I wasn’t very helpful. 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2013 at 2:43 am

      Me too! I panic when my hubby drives so I should never be in the car with a new driver. I’d be the cause of the wreck.

       
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    November 10, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    “Mario finally convinced me to go driving with her.  She’s had her permit for a few months now, and has only been out a couple of times with my hubby.  I warned her I’m a terrible passenger.  She warned ME she’s a terrible driver.”

    That literally made me laugh out loud for real.

    And sorry you didn’t get to enjoy TWO days off from work

    😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 11, 2013 at 1:51 am

      She’s a better driver than she gave herself credit for, but I’m still a pretty bad passenger.
      I’M sorry I didn’t have two days off. If I had known how crazy busy the next four days were going to be for me, I mighta told them no. Oh, who am I kidding. I CAN’T say no.

       
  5. Mike

    November 11, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Man… you hospitality folks NEVER seem to get a day off. Jules is the same way.

    And by the way… you can’t get off that easily. What DO you do wrong when you drive? I expect a full report. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 12, 2013 at 3:16 am

      Yep. We may think we’re getting a day off, but we can never be sure….
      What do I do wrong while driving? Ummm… I better just plead the 5th.

       
  6. agg79

    November 12, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    Boy, I do NOT miss those times. ALOT. I coached my son on a few trips, mainly around the country back roads and the local football stadium. Lots of imaginary breaking done on my side of the car. Note the real question is: are you teaching her to drive the Mustang? When are you gong to let her try out the Shadow?

    Good idea on sticking to the country roads. Imagine her learning to drive in the Austin area.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 1:54 am

      NO! (omg, I CAN say it.) I am NOT teaching her to drive the Mustang. My husband has only driven it a handful of times. It’s MY car. 😉
      I would freak out if she had to learn to drive in Austin. And once she got her license I would be so nervous about letting her venture out on her own! My heart couldn’t handle it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
