RSS

If at first I don’t succeed….

12 Nov

Apparently I don’t catch on very quickly.  So let me remind myself once again.

JUST.

SAY.

NO.

It’s such a simple word.  Why is it so hard to say?

And do I really think it’s easier to say yes, then have to actually DO it, than to say no and be done already.

Yep.  I do.

Which is why I found myself baking a cake in the few short hours I had at home before having to go to work.

Fail.

Fortunately, it won’t be long before I get another chance to try the NO word again.

I came close when one of the breakfast cooks asked how much I charge for cakes.  My reply was “Too much”, and then I hurried away.

Another housekeeper hunted me down and said, “I didn’t know you baked cookies too!  Can you make me some Christmas cookies?  I like sugar cookies.  I want pretty ones… red and green…

Seriously?

I hemmed and hawed a little, but she wouldn’t give.  “That’s why I’m giving you so much notice,” she responded.

ugh.

I LOVE to bake, but I’m not a baker.  I don’t live in a bakery.  I live in a house with a small kitchen, one mixing bowl and one cookie sheet.  And I have a FULL. TIME. JOB.

I’m getting close to learning my lesson.  And I know practice makes perfect.  And I’ve succeeded before.

I CAN do this!

But I doubt I will.

success

 

 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in Baking, Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “If at first I don’t succeed….

  1. Abby

    November 12, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Heck, make Christmas cookies for the whole staff why doncha!?

    Okay… deep breath… repeat after me… “NO!”

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 1:36 am

      Why sure! I’d be happy too!

      Wait. Let me try again.

      *deep breath*….. no?

      ugh.

      *deep breath*…. NO!

      Ok. I think I’m ready. Thanks Coach!

       
  2. llcooljoe

    November 12, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    Ha ha, you love it really, if you didn’t you’d say no. You know it. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 1:44 am

      It’s true. I feel honored they like my goodies enough to keep asking. And most times, I can find the time to bake for them. But sometimes, my work schedule seems so overwhelming that the last thing I want to do is bake when I get home, yet I’ve already promised I would. THIS time, I knew it would add to an already busy day, and THAT’s why I wish I could say no. I guess I would rather put myself in a stressful situation rather than let someone else down.

       
  3. agg79

    November 12, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    Perhaps you are not saying it correctly. Try a few of these:
    No.
    Nyet.
    Nicht
    ノー
    没有
    Heç bir
    Or one of my favorites: Oh, Hell. No.

    They really know how to milk your talent/good nature. Either that or you are just a glutton for punishment of the culinary kind. Time to admit you have a problem. Perhaps you could get help from Dr Phil – but you might have to bake him something first…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 1:50 am

      I bet you’re right! Most times, my ‘no’s don’t even contain the word ‘no’. They’re more like, “um… I’m not sure I’ll have enough time.” Maybe I’ll try it with Nyet. Sounds better to me than No.
      I think Dr. Phil would make mince meat out of me. I would certainly be bribing him with food to let me down easy.

       
  4. lottajoy

    November 13, 2013 at 6:32 am

    Sit at my knee and listen closely: Never take a breath or offer an excuse. “I can’t do it this time. Maybe another day.” Say it……SAY IT……

    “No Dana. I can’t do it this time. Maybe another day.”

    THAT’S my little girl!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 2:00 pm

      Well that certainly sounds so much nicer than NO. And I think I might be able to say it. But no excuses? *sigh* THAT will be the tough part.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    November 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    I get myself often involved in way too much too! I am sorry! I wish I could tell you “how to do it” but I still haven’t figured it out myself… I like the advice you have received in the comments here… I am probably in a worse situation… Not only I don’t say “NO” but I actually throw myself into volunteering to do something quicker than I even have the opportunity to tell myself “are you crazy!!!?” and that’s how I ended up only spending 1 hour at home yesterday and that’s how I end up shaking sometimes on Sunday afternoon and/or crying spontaneously when someone asks “how are you doing?” after having stretched myself between Praise Team/Choir for two services, Coordinating Lifegroup and Translating the sermon for the second service… even when I’m sick… honestly… nobody is taking advantage of me… those are all things I love, enjoy and feel honored to be doing… I even “created” some of the titles I got… LOL! but now they are THE THING I do and that is now needed where I’m at … now we have happy faces coming from around the neighborhood ready to grab their ear piece where they’ll hear the whole sermon in Spanish and if they get to see me around… they’ll just stop me teary eyed and hold my hands saying “Muchas gracias!” how can one back out of that one? … right? so… If anything I can say… hang in there… your work is meaningful and you make many people happy… try to keep it balanced and at least don’t volunteer 😛 LOL!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      “And at least don’t volunteer.” I laughed out loud at that. I have been in that position as well when my kids were in grade school. I volunteered for EVERYTHING and then got so burned out I did nothing. I have definitely learned to not do that anymore.
      So good to see you again! I’ll be catching up with your post soon!

       
  6. territerri

    November 14, 2013 at 1:18 am

    So I was wondering if you could bake Christmas cookies for me too!

    Just kidding. I sort of know how you must feel. You love to bake. You’re a people pleaser. You want to make others happy, and saying no will not make them happy. You tell yourself you can probably make it work…

    And that’s how it happens. I don’t know how you can change it, but just keep practicing setting boundaries.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2013 at 1:51 am

      You know, it’s funny. I love to bake to please peopIe. I find much more joy in surprising people with baked goodies that are tailored to their likes, than baking something I’ve been asked to bake. Sometimes I don’t mind it, but I’ve also found if I say yes to some and no to others, they take it personally.
      I’ve come to the conclusion that I either need to be okay with taking orders, or I need to start saying no to everyone.
      I got some thinkin’ to do….

       
    • Meleah Rebeccah

      November 18, 2013 at 1:44 am

      I totally agree with what Terri said. Especially about “practicing setting boundaries” – and one day you WILL be able to say NO!

       
      • shadowrun300

        November 18, 2013 at 1:52 am

        Setting boundaries makes a lot of sense. I need to let them know I can do it, only if it’ll work into my schedule. And if I can’t fit it in, they’ll just have to bake it themselves. Or hit someone else up…

         
  7. Mike

    November 14, 2013 at 1:53 am

    You do seem to be an amazing baker, based on what I’ve seen posted on here. There’s certainly a reduction in the enjoyment factor when you’re doing something as a hobby you relish, versus an obligation to someone else. You also work crazy hours.

    Maybe you could say, “I don’t really know when I’ll have the time, but I’ll give you a copy of the recipe if you want it.” Ya know… the whole “give a man a fish/teach a man to fish” philosophy. They get their cookies, and you get a break. It’s win/win. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 14, 2013 at 2:10 am

      Oh my gosh! Of course! I need to teach them to fish! Great idea! 🙂

       
      • Mike

        November 14, 2013 at 2:16 am

        Then they can bring YOU cookies! 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
