RSS

He’s Seventeen!

15 Nov

My days off are split again this week.  I don’t mind too much.  After all, it means I get two Fridays in one week.  Of course, I get two Mondays too, but I won’t dwell on that.

On this day I woke early not wanting to miss a minute of my day.  I did my ‘jobs’ right away, allowing me to be a bum all afternoon.

I found myself gazing outside often, admiring the beautiful fall sky and the few remaining colorful leaves on the trees.  At one point, I became entranced and began thinking about stuff.

All of a sudden it occurred to me that Amp’s birthday was the next day.  I had done NOTHING for him.  Here I’ve had all day to bake him some of his favorite treats, and I had done NOTHING.

Oh the guilt I felt.   How is it I can bake for all these people at work, and manage to fit it in among everything else I’m doing, but it never occurred to me to bake for Amp when I had a full day to do so.

I immediately began whipping up a few of his favorite things.  Hubby volunteered to run to the store for a graham cracker crust, while I began working on root beer float cookies.

When Hubby returned, I quickly mixed up some pumpkin ice cream, dumped it in the crust, and rushed it to the freezer.

Whew.  Now Amp will know how loved he is.

And I can go to bed guilt free.

Happy Birthday, Kiddo!

Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

 

Root Beer Float Cookies

Root Beer Float Cookies

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in Baking, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “He’s Seventeen!

  1. territerri

    November 15, 2013 at 3:39 am

    Amp will definitely feel loved. Those treats look YUMMY!

    Don’t feel too guilty about not having planned ahead to bake. Sometimes it’s so hard to juggle everything going on in life. Even the most important things get lost in all the chaos in our brains. And you managed to catch yourself before it was too late.

    Happy Birthday, Amp!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 15, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      I was SO thankful that I remembered before it was too late. Especially since I had to work early the day of his birthday meaning I wouldn’t get to see him until he got home from school.
      I am doing quite a bit of juggling these days, but if I’m going to drop any balls, it should NOT be the one that’s related to family.

       
  2. Abby

    November 15, 2013 at 3:42 am

    I’ve never heard of either of these yummy looking desserts! And neither have my kids. They get the standard “Mom’s chocolate cake” every year. Good thing they’ve got low expectations on that front.

    Nice save! Happy Birthday to Amp!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 15, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      There’s something to say about tradition. As simple as it may seem, I’m sure they look forward to their chocolate cake every year. 🙂

       
  3. Rock Chef

    November 15, 2013 at 10:41 am

    Looks great – I feel loved just being allowed to LOOK at them!

    17? Amazing how time flies, isn’t it? Have a great day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 15, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      With the way your days have been going lately, I think some sweet treats are in order for you. I have a few root beer cookies left. If you’re in the neighborhood, stop on by.
      Next year, I will be the mother of 3 adult children. Yikes.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    November 16, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    I never realised how old I would feel each birthday that my kids celebrate. Next year my eldest daughter will be 20 and that’s so depressing. I think I need some Root Beer cookies to make myself feel better. 😀 They look good. Lucky Amp. Did he get presents too?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 16, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Exactly! I only feel old when my kids have birthdays. My oldest is 21. THAT was hard.
      Amp opted to combine his birthday with Christmas since he’s wanting a new gaming console with games. I wasn’t going to argue.

       
  5. Meleah Rebeccah

    November 18, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Awww! Well – Happy 17th Birthday to Amp!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 18, 2013 at 1:57 am

      I’ll be sure to pass along your birthday wishes! Is Amp Justin’s age?

       
  6. agg79

    November 21, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Happy Belated 17th to Amp! With those kinds of treats, surely he knows how much he is loved.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2013 at 2:21 am

      Oh yeah… he was feelin’ the love… and probably a little sick too from so many sweets. 🙂

       
  7. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 2:16 am

    Happy belated birthday to Amp. I’m sure he was excited about your baked goods. Lucky guy. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 2:34 am

      He’s always a willing guinea pig when I bake something new. To have a dessert made especially for him was a great gift. At least that’s what he tells me….

       

Leave a Reply

 
