RSS

I Declare

19 Nov

I hereby declare I will no longer complain about making cakes for other people.

I have acknowledged my cakes bring joy to others and they are more than appreciative when I say yes.

I am learning to accept the compliments and have even started to believe a few of them.

Amen.

To what do I owe my change of heart you ask?

Well let me tell ya.

It was these:

Pancake Cupcakes

Maple Cupcake topped with pancakes and a Laffy Taffy pat of butter.

These were made by Chip, my 19 year old, sweet as pie, mom-loving, kid.  He first told me about the pancake cupcake a few weeks ago.  “They look like something you would like.  I want to make them for you someday.”

That someday was Saturday.  He called me early evening asking if he could use my oven.  (I have warned him to never turn his oven on in his trailer.  I don’t trust the thing.)  He told me he had everything, but wasn’t sure what buttermilk was.  I said I had some.  “And do you have baking powder?”  Yep.  “How about brown sugar?”  Of course. “And flour?  And vanilla? And maple syrup?”  Check. Check. Check.  Didn’t he just tell me he had everything???

I flipped through my magazine as he got to work.  I slyly took some photos not wanting to embarrass him.

Baking Chip

Baking Chip

The house soon filled with the aroma of maple cakes.  Hmmmm…. these were going to be yummy!

Once they were baked, he gathered up a few of my icing supplies, and took off.  “I don’t want you to see the final product yet,” he explained.

The next day, I came home to an exceptionally cute little cupcake sitting at my place on the table.  My heart filled with pride.  I sent him a text gushing with compliments.  Like me, he wanted assurance that they tasted good, and was thrilled that I loved them.  I told him I couldn’t wait to show my friends at work. (I’m not sure he knows about you guys…. I have to keep some secrets.)

Being on the receiving end has made me come full circle.  Yes, it’s tough sometimes to fit it all in, and yes, sometimes I feel pressure to make sure they taste good since I’m collecting money for them, but if they are feeling as excited as I was to receive a home-baked goody made from the heart, then I WANT to keep doing it.

So…. bring it on.

(And whatever you do, please don’t throw this post back in my face the next time I complain.)

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2013 in Baking, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “I Declare

  1. Meleah Rebeccah

    November 19, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    “I am learning to accept the compliments and have even started to believe a few of them. Amen.”

    Amen, indeed!

    And – AWWWWW!!! Chip is awesome! That was so incredibly sweet!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2013 at 6:38 am

      He IS an incredibly sweet kid. I worried so much when he was little because he had the worst temper. It still gets to him sometimes, but as he ages, he becomes more and more calm and mature. And his heart is so big. I love the man he’s becoming…. especially if he’s going to dote on his mother. 🙂

       
  2. Sandi

    November 19, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Wow that tiny stack of pancakes is sooooo cute!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2013 at 6:39 am

      I know! And he did those himself! I’m so proud. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    November 20, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Well isn’t that just the sweetest thing! And it wasn’t even Mother’s Day or your Birthday or anything, just wanted to make ’em for ya!

    And I love how he had all the ingredients but didn’t 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 20, 2013 at 6:41 am

      Yep. Just ’cause he thought I would like ’em.
      Even though he’s out of the house, whenever I make a new treat, I always set a few back for him to try. I love that he wanted to return the favor!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    November 20, 2013 at 10:15 am

    That is so sweet! And they look so good too! Clearly he had inherited a lot from you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 21, 2013 at 2:44 am

      He definitely is the one most like me. Unfortunately he has a lot of my bad attributes too, but the good ones make up for them by far. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    November 21, 2013 at 2:40 am

    What a sweet boy you have! Those cupcakes are adorable and were clearly a major effort. That boy loves his mom, for sure!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 21, 2013 at 2:47 am

      He really is a sweet boy, and now that he’s moved out, we’ve gotten much closer. I love that he loves me. And what better way to show it than cupcakes, right?

       
  6. agg79

    November 21, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    I would say that is one sweet kid but I think everyone else beat me to it. But Chip is an incredibly thoughtful kid to do that for his mom. Sometimes, you get dividends when you least expect it from all that love and attention you have sewn over the years. Nice reward.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2013 at 2:07 am

      Yep. It’s been determined he’s a pretty sweet kid. When they’re little they do a LOT of taking, but I’m finding now that they’re older, they give back when they can. Who-da-thunk?

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    November 22, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    That was sooooo sweet! You must be so proud… in Mexico we say “no lo hurta, lo hereda” which means “he didn’t steal it… he inherited it” and yes… it’s all from you… (well and your hubby too, I’ve heard he is very sweet as well but let’s focus on you right now) … You’re always giving… always kind… and well… always showing love through what you bake as well… so yeah… bake away and make this world a happier place! Your son rocks!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      He inherited a lot of my attributes, and not all of them are good. lol But overall he’s a great kid, and I loved that he wanted to bake something for ME for a change. I was so proud to bring them to work! 🙂

       
  8. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 2:30 am

    Those cupcakes look awesome. He obviously put a lot of work into those. I’m glad he did you proud.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 2:36 am

      I loved that he put so much effort into something for ME. I would have loved them no matter how they turned out!

       

Leave a Reply

 
