RSS

Testy

27 Nov

Hubby had the test today.  He’s only… ummm..  How old is he?  Let me see…  borrow from here… subtract the 5… bring down the 8…. well whatever he is, he’s not quite the recommended age for the test.  But because of his mom and dad’s history, and because of some pain he’s been having of late, they recommended he go in as soon as possible.

Yesterday was prep day.  I kinda knew what prep was involved.  Drink a bunch of stuff and plan to sit in the bathroom all day.  But I was a little naive about the not eating part.  He wasn’t allowed to eat ALL DAY!  Not even in the morning!  I knew right then I was gonna flunk the test if I ever take it.  I mean WHEN… WHEN I take it. (I meant “when” Agg.  I really did.)

He did good though.  He slurped down a bottle of laxatives, while I enjoyed some oatmeal.  He downed another bottle while I chomped on an egg sandwich.  And he fixed himself a third and fourth while I devoured dinner and a bowl of ice cream.  Not once did he look longingly at my food.  I, on the other hand, felt it necessary to eat for the two of us.

By morning, his colon was squeaky clean, revealing 4 small polyps.  These were promptly removed and will be sent to the lab, but the doc doesn’t seem worried.  In his anesthesia stupor, Hubby explained he’s “raising” them, and now he’ll have to start anew.

He was soon discharged and left in the hands of the one allowed to operate heavy machinery. (Me.)

And then he enjoyed the best turkey sandwich he’s ever had.

And some soup.

And some yogurt.

And some bread.

And some more soup.

And I could finally eat a meal without feeling guilty.

Boy am I glad that’s over with.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in Family, Health and Fitness

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Testy

  1. Rock Chef

    November 27, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Not eating – not good for the soul 😉
    Hope it all comes back clear, sounds like things were all OK.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 27, 2013 at 3:17 pm

      I agree. Not good for the soul. If I have to go all day without eating, I won’t be fit to be around.
      I don’t think the polyps will come back as cancerous and neither do the docs. But with his parents history of colon cancer, it’s best to be safe.

       
  2. Abby

    November 28, 2013 at 2:10 am

    DUDE! You just described MY last coupla days!

    I was designated driver for Magnum and HIS butt scopage. And yesterday was HIS prep day, and I couldn’t help but think “no way I can do that”.

    He was a good little patient, sipping juice and tea all day between trips to the bathroom. One polyp harvest later and he’s back on solid foods, ready for tomorrow’s glut.

    Sometimes I swear, it’s like you’re my nice twin or something…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 28, 2013 at 2:17 am

      No way! How funny is that?
      I really don’t think I can go a whole day without eating. The thought of having a delayed breakfast in order to have blood work done stresses me out.
      Sure hope Magnum’s harvested polyp turns out to be a dud.
      And thanks for thinking I’m the nice one… I woulda voted the other way.

       
  3. agg79

    November 28, 2013 at 4:23 am

    I have to empathize with hubby (been THERE, done THAT). Much as I really enjoyed my last one (NOT!), I’ve gotta admit that it is supposed to catch some things early, and I am all about catching things early. Glad to hear the diagnosis came out ok, even if the prep was a pain in the.., well, let’s not go there. I am not sure which is worse – the actual butt scopage (to quote Abby) or the prep work. Going a day without eating real food is definitely a big negative. Still, I am positive that, when your time comes (and it WILL), you will be just as stoic as hubby and pass the test. Glad to hear there wasn’t any problems. I hope you fixed him something special from the Shadowrun archive as a celebration!

    And don’t feel guilty about eating while he is recovering. I’m sure everyone ate quite well when you were laid up after your half marathon.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 28, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Funny you should mention the half. I was thinking the exact thing – would’ve been prime time for me to get the test done. And that was one of the few times I didn’t WANT to eat.

       
  4. territerri

    November 29, 2013 at 2:17 am

    Poor guy. Good to know he had a sense of humor about the whole thing. I hope the test results are good ones!

    (My hubby had THE test a couple of years ago. Seems like the most embarrassing part was when he asked if he could leave yet. The pretty and sweet nurse asked, “Did you pass gas yet?” He blushed and admitted he hadn’t. Yet.)

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 29, 2013 at 2:28 am

      Oh I know! I think he would have rather stayed on his back with all the pressure, than roll over and let it all out. But he was glad he did. 🙂
      He’ll find out the results next week. At this point, we’re not too worried.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    November 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    I skim read this, I’m not good with this kinda stuff! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 30, 2013 at 2:34 am

      And you had to read it twice! First at Abby’s, then here. So sorry!
      But I’m not good with it either. I mean, you CAN’T EAT!

       
  6. Anita

    December 1, 2013 at 1:22 am

    Here from Abby’s. Very interesting that you two experienced this within hours of each other. I’ve had my day, as in, had the “procedure” and been the designated driver. By the way, it was a nice nap going into it and after I wolfed down a foot long sub, I had a nice nap afterwards.

    Glad your husband was taken care of. He probably has to go back sooner than the usual 10 years because of the polyps.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 1, 2013 at 1:50 am

      So you braved another rendition of the butt scoping. I’m so glad! It’s nice to have you visit.
      I think when it’s my turn, the best part is going to be the foot long sub the next day. And the nice nap.
      And you’re right, between the polyps and both parents bouts with colon cancer, I think he’ll be going in a few extra times than usual. Better safe than sorry though.

       
  7. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 3, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Ah yes. The dreaded colonoscopy. They are awful. Actually, the test isn’t awful – but the prep sure is. Here’s hoping the biopsy results of the polyps come back good!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2013 at 4:37 am

      Why does the prep have to take so much longer than the procedure itself? It doesn’t seem fair!
      Hubby got his results back today. No cancer! And he doesn’t have to go back for another 5 years. I wonder if we can get a two-for-one. Or maybe he can just get two and I’ll get none….

       
  8. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 2:46 am

    Yikes. None of this sounds at all fun to me. No food ALL DAY? I’m with you… I don’t think that’s possible for me. Hope all is well!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 2:49 am

      Yes. No food ALL DAY! It was awful! I mean, I think it was. I sometimes forget it wasn’t ME that went through it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
