RSS

Twas The Day

29 Nov

Twas the day before Thanksgiving, when all through the house, the creatures were stirring, along with the mouse.  The laundry was hung on the back of the chairs, in hopes that the kids would bring them downstairs.

I snuggled in the chair in my kitchen unclean, while visions of recipes danced on the screen.  With the coffee done brewin’ I came out of my trance and finally settled in for my Pinterest romance.

I jotted down ingredients, one after another, then sprang from my chair to brave the cold weather.  Away to the bathroom I walked to get dressed, threw open the closet and got down my sweats.

The sun on the hood of my quite dirty car, sparked a very sad feeling in my car-loving heart.  When what to my wondering eyes should appear, but Hubby in all of his winter gear.

He, the little old driver so lively and quick, I knew in a moment he must be bored stiff.  We started our journey to the store with such hope.   We’d be back in a few.  Ha.  That was a joke.

Some turkey!  Some taters!  Some cornbread!  Some stuffing! Now load it, and stack it, and push it while huffing! To the front of the line!  Place it all on the deck!  “Now Hubby, go pack the car!  I’ll write the check!”

And then in a twinkling I heard the clerk say, “I’m so very sorry, I made a mistake.”  “I’ll need all your groceries to scan once again. Please go get your hubby and explain it to him.”

His eyes how they glared.  His frown so unhappy.  He shook with the effort not to get snappy.  The look in his eye and the droop of his head, soon gave me to know he was quite full of dread.

She spoke not a word and got straight to her work.  Rescanned and rebagged with another nice clerk.  And laying my hand on my hubby’s slumped shoulder, I gave him the nod to go out where it’s colder.

He sprang out the door, to the car he did fly.  He restuffed the trunk while I told the clerk “bye”.  And I heard him exclaim as we drove off the lot, “The next time you come here, you can bet I will NOT.”

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2013 in Blunders, Holidays, Humor

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “Twas The Day

  1. Sandi

    November 29, 2013 at 2:22 am

    haha! too cute

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 29, 2013 at 11:43 am

      Thanks Sandi! It was fun to write. At one point I laughed out loud at myself. “Please go get your Hubby and explain it to him.” That was the WORST part. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    November 29, 2013 at 3:37 am

    Ah, Clement….er… ShadowRun! You bring the holiday alive!!

    You ventured to the store
    on the day before?

    I looked around
    the day before greeting it.

    I told the family,
    “If it’s not here now, we won’t be eating it!”

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 29, 2013 at 11:40 am

      Yes. We did brave our small town W@lmart the day before. And things were going surprisingly well until… we got the new girl at check out. She messed up our payment so badly, they had to abort the whole thing and rescan $200 worth of groceries AFTER hubby had loaded it all into the car.
      At that point, we both thought peanut butter and jelly would make a great Thanksgiving dinner.

       
  3. llcooljoe

    November 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Ha ha excellent. After reading this I’m so pleased we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in the UK.

    I was just in the supermarket where the lady in front of me had to have all shopping rescanned! I’ve never seen that before.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 30, 2013 at 2:13 am

      Shopping for last minute items is never ideal, but Thanksgiving is generally one of my favorite holidays. What’s ironic is we were shopping for Saturday – the only day we all had off of work/school/extra curriculars, so I was actually 4 days early!
      I have never seen anyone have to have their groceries rescanned. At least it’s not a very common situation.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    November 29, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    That was a masterpiece! Wonderful!

    Ah, the rescanning thing!

    I have made it a Chirstmas joke – when we do the BIG SHOP and buy a ton of stuff, after the checkout person tells us the outrageous bill, I say “Is that right? Can you put it through again?”

    After allowing them and the people behind us) a moment of horror I smile…

     
  5. shadowrun300

    November 30, 2013 at 2:18 am

    Aww thanks!
    Love your joke! I may have to use it the next time I check out with the “new girl”. She felt SO bad that it was hard to be too upset.

     
  6. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 3, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    AhahahahhahahAHhaHhahHAh!!! This is hilariously AWESOME!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2013 at 4:39 am

      Your laugh is contagious! Thank you! 🙂

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    December 3, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    That was sooo great! Loved it! I mean… sorry about the experience… but you did a great job writing about it 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2013 at 4:45 am

      Aww thanks! I was writing it in my head as she was checking me out for the second time. Mishaps make for very good blog posts. 🙂

       
  8. territerri

    December 4, 2013 at 2:00 am

    YOU are quite the talented poet! That was so fun! … well, not for you or your hubby, but for the rest of us.

    Why did the groceries have to be rescanned?

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2013 at 4:53 am

      Well it was fun writing it! It took a few days, and I got stuck on one verse in particular, but eventually it all came together.
      I was trying to make a partial payment with a ‘store credit’ card we had just received for an item we’d returned. I was just going to use it right away towards this payment. But she messed it up a couple of times, and then her supervisor messed it up, and by that time it locked them both out. Their only choice was to abort the entire order. The worst part for me? The beautiful, yellow bananas I had so carefully picked out, were brown and bruised up from all the ‘manhandling’. Well, that, and I think they ruined my chances of ever getting my hubby to go shopping with me again.

       
  9. agg79

    December 4, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Very funny/witty. You’re a poet and don’t know it. Great way to put a positive spin on that chore. I don’t envy you hitting the store the day BEFORE Turkey day. I bet hubby won’t be a cheerful the next time…

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 5, 2013 at 3:54 pm

      You’re right. I didn’t know it.
      I was shocked when Hubby decided to go with me. This just offered more proof to him why he doesn’t like to go. I took it all in stride. Especially since I felt so sorry for the cashier. She felt awful!

       
  10. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 2:50 am

    That was so much fun to read. I’m cracking up. Very very well done. 🙂

    Sorry for the rough experience at the store.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 2:56 am

      I cracked up a couple of times too. 🙂 Hubby even got a chuckle out of it, once he got over the stress of shopping TWICE. I’ll never get him to go shopping with me again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
