RSS

A New Tradition?

05 Dec

It’s only December 4th, and I have already bought ONE Christmas present.

I know, right?  I have 21 days left to shop.  Lots of time to procrastinate.  But something came over me, and I bought a present today!  Craziness.  I’m sure I’ll wait until Christmas Eve to wrap it, though.  If I haven’t misplaced or forgotten about it by then.

Our Thanksgiving was fabulous!  It may have seemed like I waited til the last minute to shop for groceries since my shopping debacle happened the day before, but really, I was 3 days early! For our Thanksgiving anyway. Since I had to work the day of, we made plans to have our big meal on Saturday.  Chip came over early in the day, and we spent all day smoking turkey and pork butts, baking sweet potato casseroles, cheesy potato casseroles and two kinds of pie.  In between we played board games and laughed til we cried.  This was the first Thanksgiving we spent NOT at Grandma and Grandpa’s house, so I was worried it wouldn’t be the same.  And it definitely wasn’t, but we seemed to appreciate each other so much more because of it.  Before we all parted ways, we sat in front of Hubby’s computer to Skype with Link.  He was in the process of moving into his new apartment.  We could hear his friends laughing and joking with him in the background, and I new he was finally with people he likes and who like him.

Yes.  It was a fabulous Thanksgiving.

And very close knit.

Thanksgiving Table

This may be the smallest Thanksgiving table ever.  But we all fit!

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2013 in Family, Holidays

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “A New Tradition?

  1. territerri

    December 5, 2013 at 3:16 am

    It’s December 4th and I have ONLY bought one present. It makes me nervous, and yet… I’m not shopping. I’m playing on the internet! Oh well. I work well under pressure.

    So glad you had such a wonderful Thanksgiving. I really wanted to do a small quiet Thanksgiving too, but ended up at the big family celebration. Maybe I would have missed it if we hadn’t gone.

    I see Mrs. Butterworths on your Thanksgiving table. Were there pancakes too? 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 5, 2013 at 3:23 am

      I saw that too and wondered why we had syrup out. It’s actually Hubby’s homemade BBQ sauce for the smoked pork. Yummy!
      I’ll get nervous around December 20th if I still only have one present bought.
      And I missed the bigger family, but it was SO fun to just hang out with our kids. We don’t do it nearly enough.

       
  2. Abby

    December 5, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    So you spent your Thanksgiving smoking? No wonder it was fabulous… oh wait…
    Actually, it sounds wonderful! Ours was small and cozy too. Good thing because the food ran out!
    Congratulations on your “stash” of presents! I’ve actually bought one too. It feels weird.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 5, 2013 at 6:33 pm

      We were smokin’ alright. Our clothes smelled of it. The house smelled of it. It WAS fabulous. And it’ll be months before OUR food runs out. Sheesh. We could have fed an army.
      You bought a present too? Feels so good to be on the ball, doesn’t it?

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    December 6, 2013 at 12:33 am

    I haven’t seen a better Thanksgiving table than this one for a while! Who needs Pinterest and big settings? All you need is your family around a small table that makes it way cozier and intimate! I am so happy you got to Skype with Link! And yes… that present can wait to be wrapped the last minute 😉 …

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2013 at 2:24 am

      I thought it was the best Thanksgiving table ever! Only two chairs came with the table, so we pulled from all areas of the house to get enough chairs to fit us all. I loved it!
      And I can almost guarantee the present, along with the others I plan to buy someday, will be wrapped at the last minute. 🙂

       
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    I haven’t bought a single present yet!

    Glad to hear your Thanksgiving was so good! How wonderful!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2013 at 11:47 pm

      Woohoo! I’m not alone in my present procrastination!

       
  5. llcooljoe

    December 6, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    I’ve bought nearly all my presents now, thanks to good old Amazon. Now I’m just waiting for them all to arrive. Are you impressed? And when I say all, that’s a lot. 😀

    But like you I’ll be wrapping everything on Christmas Eve.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 6, 2013 at 11:49 pm

      I am super impressed! How do you even know what you’re going to buy people? That’s always the hardest part for me and why I wait so long.
      If this Christmas is anything like the past 5 years, I will be wrapping most, if not all, of my gifts on Christmas Eve. 🙂

       
  6. Rock Chef

    December 9, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    Sounds wonderful – board games are great family fun, aren’t they?

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 10, 2013 at 1:00 am

      They’re SO much more fun now that they are older and better sports about losing. And the smack talk is hilarious!

       
  7. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 2:56 am

    Happy belated Thanksgiving. I have a horrible habit of falling behind on blogs. Work has been nuts, and I haven’t had much time to do any reading or writing lately, so trying to get caugh up.

    Based on your cooking skills, Thanksgiving at your house has to be a fantastic experience.

    All this food talk is making me hungry. You, me, Jules, and your husband need another food outing sometime. You did introduce me to Pappy’s after all. Would be cool to catch up.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 3:00 am

      I would LOVE to go on another food outing. Haven’t talked to Jules in a long time, and I would love to catch up with you two.
      I’m happy you’re blogging again. And THANKS for backtracking through so many of my blogs. Not necessary, but very appreciated. 🙂

       
  8. agg79

    December 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

    That seems to be a great way to spend the holidays – quiet, low key celebration with the family. Maybe it’s because I and getting old but I tend to prefer those kinds of celebrations. At least you got to see the whole family, even if it had to be electronically.

    And I am still way behind on my shopping. Glad to know you are not one of those who got their Xmas shopping done in September.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

      I was a little worried how a quiet celebration would work out having always gone over to the in-laws for a big dinner. (At a loooong table.) We missed them, for sure, but it made our day more meaningful.
      5 more shopping days left. I’ll need ’em all.

       

Leave a Reply

 
