RSS

Sleepless in St. Louis

10 Dec

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Yeah.  That’s just a nice way of saying we got dumped on.

I have to admit the first snowfall is always a little fun.  Never good timing, but always exciting.

The Christmas spirit is slowly growing on me.  The halls are decked a little more than last year.  The stockings are hung with as much care as Mario could muster, and Christmas music has taken the place of Katy Perry, Lorde, and JT.

For the first time, I plan to take a few days off work just to stay home.  Link will come home Christmas Eve for a few days, and I want to spend some time as a family.  I’m enjoying planning activities for us to do, including a basement cleaning party.  Sounds like fun, right?  Right!?  Maybe I better call it a pizza party and hold it ransom until the basement is clean.

I had planned to do a bit more shopping today, but the snow and my Mustang don’t get along. I did have to take it to work early Friday morning though.  So I awoke at 2:20 AM to allow myself plenty of time.  And I definitely needed it.  It took me just as long to get home from work, and by that time I was SO sleepy!  I crashed for a couple of hours and then put on my holiday party clothes (for me that’s jeans and a sweater), and off we went for some house hopping fun.

It was 2:30 AM before I crawled into bed.  With the exception of my nap, I had been awake 24 hours.  To make matters worse, I had to get up at 7 to work.  And then 4 AM the next day.

I have been dragging butt for the last 4 days.

Speaking of butts… I landed on mine again.  At work again.

Only this time I didn’t have soup.  And I didn’t tell anyone.

Before you jump to conclusions, let me just say it wasn’t my fault.  My foot was unknowingly caught in a computer cord.  I turned to go to the back, but my foot couldn’t go with me.  I fell immediately, landing right on my arse. Thank gawd no one saw me.

clumsy

So now I’m sleepy, and bruised, and starting to feel stressed.

Only 15 days left to shop.

Cash is starting to sound like a great gift.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2013 in Blunders, Friendship, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Sleepless in St. Louis

  1. Abby

    December 10, 2013 at 3:47 am

    You party animal, you!

    How nice that you’re taking some family time for Christmas! I remember one Christmas season, I had to teach classes during the break. I knew it was bad since my TEENAGERS were complaining! Sorry about your “trip”. See you next “fall”? (sorry, couldn’t resist). I’m glad there’s no lasting damage – or have you just not noticed because of lack of sleep?

    Careful on the roads! (and remember to bring a container… so to avoid that *other* stuck-in-traffic incident?)

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 11, 2013 at 2:45 am

      My goal was to be home by midnight. We didn’t even get to the last house til midnight. By the time we finished the white elephant gift exchange, it was 2 AM. ugh.
      I have never taken vacation days and not gone anywhere, but if Link’s going to be home, I want to make sure I’m not working the whole time.
      Punny jokes! When I first fell, I didn’t think I’d even be able to get up. Two days later I still feel bruised and certain moves hurt more than others, but nothing like the soup fall.
      I don’t carry a container necessarily, but I DO plan my commute smartly now. Quite often I stop off along the way just in case there’s a traffic jam nearer to the city. I hope never to be in that position again. *Shudder*

       
  2. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 10, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Good lawd, woman – you need MORE sleep! Those are some crazy hours your operating on!

    Also – cash is always a great gift!

    And I absolutely LOVE the first REAL snow fall of the season too! I’m slowly getting into the Christmas spirit as well.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 11, 2013 at 2:47 am

      Maybe I’ll sleep tonight.
      I don’t think any of my boys would turn down cash. Mario, age 15, would probably be upset though. Then again, being my only girl, she’s very easy to buy for.
      Glad to hear you got your snow!

       
  3. Mike

    December 12, 2013 at 3:02 am

    Geez… your ability to stay awake impresses me. Being tired at work all day sucks. Makes the day drag by, and all you want to do is be left alone. Well… that’s how I am at least. I hope the party the night before was fun.

    Also, I hate snow and winter. I don’t do well with cold. I’m also kind of a scrooge this year. Just can’t really get into the Christmas spirit. Maybe it will get better as the big day approaches. Still lots of shopping left to do, though. :-/

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 3:06 am

      I rarely am tired at work. It’s that drive home that kills me. It’s SO long, and with snow on the ground, it’s even longer! Sometimes I pull into my garage and immediately lay my head back and take a nap. Kinda scary, actually.
      I’m trying hard to enjoy the season. It helps to know that Christmas means Link will be home. THAT is something to look forward to!
      And I still have most of my shopping to do…

       
  4. territerri

    December 12, 2013 at 3:15 am

    I’m impressed with your ability to continue functioning on so little sleep. I get seriously cranky when I’m short on ZZZZs.

    I know exactly what you mean about the snow. It’s kind of a thrill at first. Then after the third day of sitting for over an hour in traffic for your normally 25 minute commute, it gets old, and fast.

    Glad you got the Christmas spirit. I’ve been listening to Pandora to get my fill of Christmas tunes. And I have SO much shopping to do!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 12, 2013 at 3:21 am

      I love pandora! That’s what I put on too. Amy grant holiday is my favorite. 🙂
      I suppose I get more mellow and less caring when I’m tired. I’m slowly catching up on sleep, but with my work schedule all over the place this week, it hasn’t been easy.
      And shopping? Well we have 12 more days! No need to worry.

       
  5. llcooljoe

    December 14, 2013 at 6:49 am

    I thought arse was a British word! Anyway, there is nothing more embarrassing than landing on it, especially in front of a room full of people, or just one. 😀

    We haven’t had any snow yet and I really hope it stays that way, last year I spent too many car journeys sliding along un-gritted roads getting my kids to and from school.

    So far I’ve managed to do almost all my shopping online, but that can be stressful too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 14, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      British words are always more fun to say. You all have a way of making even the crudest of words sound so classy.
      We’re getting snow again today. 3-4 inches of it. I decided it best to take my Hubby’s car in to work. It handles so much better than the Mustang.
      The last time I shopped online, my gift went to Norway first. It was well into January before Mario got her Christmas present. (Who knew there was a country code I was supposed to fill in…. Well, I suppose YOU do.) 🙂

       
  6. agg79

    December 18, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Wow. With all that partying, sounds like you can hang with the big dogs. Sorry to hear you wiped out again. At least the only thing that got busted was your pride/dignity and not your arse. But aren’t those kinds of accidents always like that? I once broke my toe trying to step over a sleeping dog.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 18, 2013 at 11:27 am

      My days of partying with the big dogs are long gone which explains why ONE late night has taken me down.
      I tripped over Chancie once. Fell right on top of her, coffee flying everywhere, and she barely reacted. Didn’t seemed concerned at all that I may be hurt. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
