RSS

One of the boys

14 Dec

I’ve never been one to live my life through my kids, or push things on them that I never was able to do.  I want only for them to be who they are and find their own passions.

But I must say I am thrilled that Mario has seemed to develop my passion for bowling.  She doesn’t have the obsessive gene that I have, but she’s got the talent and the desire and the willingness to learn, and I am lovin’ it!

Like me, she’s bowling with the boys and kickin’ butt. Very few of the high school girls have shown an interest in bowling, so the few who have tried out for the boys team.  And with a minimal amount of boys trying out, the girls were able to make the team.

Mario, by far, is the best of the JV team.  Some of the boys can out score her occasionally with their power, but she has the consistency, the ability to adjust, and a natural talent that will take her to new heights.  Her coaches have allowed her to start every game, and she has yet to be taken out early.  Even when she’s slightly off, they seem to have confidence in her to be able to pull it back together.

She’s got a long way to go to be able to compete with the boys on varsity, but I know she can do it.  SHE knows she can do it.  A little more practice with spare shooting and controlling her mind game, and she’ll rocket to the top.

For the first time since I gave up bowling, I have an itch to get back into it.  Watching her has made me realize how much I miss the competition, the feeling of bowling well, and the pride of winning.

I dug through my old bowling balls to see if any still fit.  Memories overwhelmed me when I put my hand in the ball.  I was taken back to the days when I lived to bowl, and for a minute I yearned to go back to those days.

The fear of not being as good as I once was is the only thing holding me back.

2008-09 HONOR SCORES

Brian  – 300 game on March 1, 2009

Gary  – 300 game on April 17, 2009

Phil  – 300 game on February 11, 2009

Todd  – 300 game on November 5, 2008

Eddie – 300 game on January 16, 2009

                      – 826 series on March 27, 2009

ShadowRun – 300 game on October 16, 2008

Matt – 299 game on February 20, 2009

Glenn  – 300 game on November 5, 2008

Dan  – 300 game on September 11, 2008

Scott – 300 game on March 27, 2009

James – 300 game on February 18, 2009

Mark  – 300 game on April 8, 2009

Who knows if I’ll ever return to bowling.  For now, I’m seriously enjoying being a Bowling Mom.

IMG_0873[1]

Ready to cheer!

IMG_0864[1]

Someday I’ll be as good as Terri with the sports shots.  Until then, squint your eyes and you can see her at the line.

With the boys

With the boys

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2013 in Bowling, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “One of the boys

  1. llcooljoe

    December 14, 2013 at 6:42 am

    Well good for her! My daughter plays badminton and competes with all the boys and I’m so proud! Not all sport is about pure power and that’s where the skill comes into it.

    Btw At first I thought you meant the other kind of bowling, not ten pin bowling. 😀

     
  2. shadowrun300

    December 14, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Your daughter probably feels the way I did. I loved bowling with the guys because it helped me step up my game. And if I beat them… even better!
    Around here, the only kind of bowling is ten pin bowling. Have you tried it?

     
    • llcooljoe

      December 17, 2013 at 8:33 am

      Yeah, I’m useless. In fact I’m crap at all sport. 😀 I do some weight lifting though, only because I want muscles. 😀

       
  3. territerri

    December 15, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Love this! I’m so happy for Mario and for you that she has an interest in common with you and that she’s good! How fun!

    I don’t have to tell you how much I love bowling. I’m nowhere near as good as you, but continue to slowly improve over the years. And it’s always fun for me. I’m sure if I bowled once or twice a week between leagues, I could get really good. I just haven’t found (or made) the time for it. And a 300 game is still a far off dream for me. I’m sure Mario will beat me to it. She surely inherited her mom’s bowling gene.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 16, 2013 at 2:00 am

      Just today she was begging me to bowl again, so we can bond. Oh, and so she could beat me and brag to everyone.
      Back in the day I put a ton of effort into bowling. Maybe too much. But just like with anything, the more you do it and learn about it, the better you become. Knowing what I know now, I hope you just keep doing it for fun, because when you start expecting too much out of yourself, it becomes UNfun.
      Then again, I’m supporting Mario’s efforts to want to become better. So if you really wanted to I would support you too. 🙂

       
  4. Abby

    December 15, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    Awesome! I think bowling is a great team sport – and a coed one no less – and am so glad that high schools offer it (mine didn’t 😦 ) But I could live vicariously through Chaco when he was on the team. Plus it’s something she can continue doing for a long time – with her mom too!

    I kinda chuckled at the “I dug through my old bowling balls to see if any still fit” – being pretty much a house ball thrower myself!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 16, 2013 at 2:07 am

      I often wonder where I’d be if my high school had had a competitive bowling team. *sigh*
      Her school has only had a team for maybe three years. The pickin’s are slim, but some of these kids are really good. Some bigger schools, such as my old one, have teams that are ‘out of this world’ good.
      My basement could easily pass for a house ball rack. One in every color. But only MY hand fits in them.

       
  5. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 16, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    “Mario, by far, is the best of the JV team.”

    Oh how awesome for her. I’m glad she’s loving the game and doing so well bowling.

    I am THE WORST bowler – EVER.

    And here is the evidence: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMP-wL7Ph-g

    But it sure is fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 17, 2013 at 2:27 am

      Yep. Mario would kick your butt as well. 🙂
      Then again, she takes herself pretty seriously and will never have the kind of fun you guys were having. Loved the video!

       
  6. Mike

    December 17, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    I’m competitive, although I’m terrible at most sports… including bowling. I do enjoy the camaraderie and the beer, though!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 18, 2013 at 3:00 am

      I’m not exactly great at sports either, but I’m super competitive and will work very hard to pull out a win. And yeah, beer and bowling tend to go hand in hand. 🙂

       
  7. agg79

    December 18, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    To quote Terri: “Whoot!”. Another baller in the family! I guess it is true what they say – the nut doesn’t fall very far from the tree. Sounds like she’ll be posting those high scores in no time. Maybe she will make a run at the your old 300 score (Mario300?).

    I used to bowl a bit in college but dropped out of the circuit when I went overseas and never picked it back up. Nowadays, I am like a few others – I bowl ugly.

     
  8. Rock Chef

    December 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    Some things are meant to be returned to – like me and Dungeons and Dragons!
    Until then, have fun cheering on Mario!

     

Leave a Reply

 
