RSS

Christmas Magic

19 Dec

We’re playing Secret Santa at work.  I know this because I got a slip in my box that says “You’re Milmo’s Secret Santa.  He likes homemade food, pizza, and he stops by Quick Trip every day for some Diet Dr Pepper before coming into work.”

Wonderful.

And I have rules to follow.  Like I can only spend $5.  And it has to be creative.  And fun.  And turned in before Christmas.

Wonderful.

I’m trying not to be a Scrooge.  It’s a nice idea.   A way for us to bring the Christmas spirit into our job.

It’s just that I’ve procrastinated so much, and now, one week before Christmas, a new person has been added to my list.  A person who loves going to Quick Trip. And the closest Quick Trip is not exactly a quick trip for me.

I forced myself to drive the 15 miles out of my way after work today.  I filled my tank, filled my coffee cup, and plopped the gift card on the counter.  The checkout guy asked “300 dollars?” with a grin.  I replied with an embarrassed smile.  “Um, maybe just $5.”   I didn’t bother to explain myself.

Since I was on a roll, I stopped by my favorite store for a six pack of Diet Dr. Peppers.  I plan to decorate them like reindeer, to cover the “fun” part of the gift. This is how I hope they’ll turn out.  But with soda bottles.

reindeer bottles

Or maybe not.  Mario just told me she ruined my hot glue gun.  “I wanted to see if it worked with crayons,” she explained.  “I was younger then.”

Wonderful.

While wandering the aisles of the store, I found myself humming to the Christmas songs.  A smile forced it’s way out when “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” came on.  Such a fun song!  In the baking aisle my heart melted when I walked past a young mom holding a toddler who was nestled comfortably on her shoulder.  She softly sang the songs to him as his eyes drooped sleepily.  For a moment, I was saddened that those magical days were long gone for me.

But then I hit the craft aisle, and I hear:  “Gracie NO.  You’re not getting it.  Put it back.  Charlie!  Gracie!  Look what you’re making Charlie do.  No Charlie!  Pick it up and put it back!  Gracie, if you bring that up to me one more time, you’re not getting the ribbon!  Charlie!  Get. Over. Here!”

Suddenly I was relieved that those “magical days” are long gone.

Now I’m hoping for a different kind of magic.  The kind that has me ready for Christmas in time.

I’ll let you know how it pans out….

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2013 in Family, Friendship, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Christmas Magic

  1. Abby

    December 19, 2013 at 3:46 am

    Quick Trip? Is that like Loaf ‘n’ Jug? Either way, I think Milmo will love his gifts! So… crayons don’t work in a glue gun?? “I was younger then” – HA!

    I’ve often felt the nostalgia when seeing a young mom with cute kids… then there are the occassional not-so-cutes, and I’m good.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 20, 2013 at 1:46 am

      Loaf ‘n’ Jug? Is that like Quick Trip? I wouldn’t know. Our gas station is called Boondock’s.
      And at the ripe old age of 15, Mario can now talk about her younger, more immature years. 🙂
      I miss the old days a bit, but Gracie and Charlie reminded me I’m at a pretty good stage right now.

       
  2. agg79

    December 19, 2013 at 3:52 am

    Ah to relive the holidays through the eyes of a child. Seems almost magical/mystical. Then I recall the crowds and long lines at Toys-R-Us and shudder.

    Cute gift. I imagine it will be greatly appreciated. But I didn’t know that Dr Pepper came in a Guinness flavor.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 20, 2013 at 1:52 am

      Nothing makes me happier now than NOT having to shop at Toys R Us.
      Dr. Guinness, or Diet Dr. Guinness if your watching your figure, may just be the next big thing!

       
  3. Rock Chef

    December 19, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Love the decorated bottle idea!
    The crayon part reminded me of the time we let a neighbour use out tumble dryer – there were crayons in with her washing. Took ages to clean the dryer. Mrs RC was livid – didn’t even get a “sorry”!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 20, 2013 at 1:55 am

      I’ve had the same crayon and dryer experience. And I’ve had the chapstick / dryer experience as well. Not fun. Tell Mrs. RC that I am sorry for her troubles.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    December 21, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I never heard of Quick Trip, but I bet you spent more than $5 on the gas to get there! I wanted to write petrol.

    I have no desire at all to go back those magical days! Ha.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 22, 2013 at 2:33 am

      Any time you visit, feel free to use your words. I often like them more than our own. Petrol… gas. Arse… ass. Yep. Yours are better. 🙂
      Every crying baby or whiny toddler I heard reminded me how happy I am those days are over.

       
  5. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 21, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Oh yes, that second scenario, in the craft aisle, is EXACTLY why I am also glad those “magical days” are long gone. HA!

    PS: What is ” Quick Trip?”

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 22, 2013 at 2:35 am

      Well, it’s a gas station. And supposedly there’s one on every corner in Missouri. But I live in Illinois. Not quite a quick trip for me.
      THESE are the magical days. The kids are magically growing up when I never thought it was possible. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    December 22, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    The reindeer bottles are adorable! I have to keep that in mind for next year. FUN!

    I often miss those magical days when the kids were little too, but I really love the adults they’ve become, so it’s hard to be too sad. Also, I just have to remember the time 4 year old Jake flooded the upstairs bathroom, and it’s easy to be content with where I’m at now.

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 23, 2013 at 2:18 am

      I posted the Diet Dr. Pepper version of reindeer on today’s post. Very cute!
      Holidays are fun in a different way now that they’re older, so yeah, it’s hard to be too sad about the passing of the sweet Santa days.
      Hmmm…. we’ve had a flooded bathroom in our house as well…. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
