RSS

Sleep is overrated.

23 Dec

Last Friday was my only day off before Christmas.  So what did I do?

IMG_0885

I baked for my coworker.

IMG_0887

I’m NOT complaining.

IMG_0886

I just made extra so the family could enjoy it too.

IMG_0883

Sugar coated sugar cookies

IMG_0882

Iced sugar cookies

IMG_0889

Eggnog cupcakes

And when my commitment to her was fulfilled, I did this for another coworker:

IMG_0894

You’re lookin’ at the funnest Secret Santa gift ever. No hot glue gone needed.

 

While it certainly was fun being creative, these tasks did nothing to prepare me for Christmas.

I still have all my presents to wrap.  Heck, I still have presents to buy. And I’m not too concerned about having an entirely clean house, but I’d at least like to have one clean bathroom for my two guests to use while they’re here.

Not to mention my Christmas pin board has a ton of recipes that I want to get to.  *sigh*

Today especially, I’m feeling the overwhelming stress of so many things to do and so little time.  So what do I do?

Sit on the couch with my computer and ice cream of course. And convince myself I’ll be able to squeeze it all in these next few days. I’ll only be gone from 8:30 AM to 7 PM Monday due to work, and Tuesday, well, I won’t leave til noon, but I have to squeeze breakfast with my dad in that morning, and I won’t get home til 11:30 Tuesday night.

Oh yeah….  I have plenty of time to finish things up.

ugh.  I need another scoop of ice cream.

Hope you all are faring much better!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2013 in Baking, Family, Friendship, Holidays

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Sleep is overrated.

  1. Sandi

    December 23, 2013 at 2:47 am

    Oh goodness, that does sound stressful. I seem to recall you showing us some pretty amazing pancake cupcakes made for you, couldn’t you put the rest of the gang onto it? hee hee – (says I, who has been making scones and cheesecake and about to make cupcakes while Dave plays a game with a friend who is visiting)

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 24, 2013 at 2:36 am

      Oh sure, I COULD ask the gang to help out. And they would probably love it. But that’s my biggest problem. I like to do it all myself. There will be a point, and it will have to be soon, that I allow others to help out. My hubby’s just waiting for the green light from me. And since I work the afternoon and evening of Christmas Eve, I’m going to have to allow him to do SOMEthing or it really won’t get done.

       
  2. Meleah Rebeccah

    December 23, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Oh my. You sure have a lot on your plate. I really don’t know how you do it all – you’re like a super hero. Also – those cookies and treats look absolutely delicious!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 24, 2013 at 2:41 am

      Umm… Nope. YOU are the super hero. I’d never be able to battle what you have to battle every day.
      Luckily, my cookies have not made any one swell up. But to be on the safe side, I won’t be sending any to you. Consider it my Christmas gift. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    December 24, 2013 at 3:15 am

    Hey, it’s me, over here on break, waving! I hardly even know what day it is, I always lose track when there’s not much going on :).

    I really should wrap, though. Thanks for the reminder. You’ll get it all done, I have no doubt!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 24, 2013 at 3:42 am

      I am living vicariously through you right now. Won’t be long though til I’m on my own break. Just gotta get through one more long day. As long as the gifts are wrapped before the kids wake up, I’m good. And with teens, I have a pretty good shot of that happening. 🙂
      I hope you continue to enjoy your break. Please tell the AbbyNormals Merry Christmas from us! Will it be white?

       
  4. llcooljoe

    December 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    The cookies look great! I’ve been overwhelmed too. Just to top all the rest of the drama in our house, 3 trees fell down in the storm and completely blocked our road. I’m just wondering what’s next.

    Have a wonderful Christmas!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 25, 2013 at 6:01 am

      I just read about all your rotten luck. Suddenly I feel like I have it pretty good.
      I certainly hope your Christmas is great despite all the adversity!

       
  5. Rock Chef

    December 26, 2013 at 10:42 am

    Hope it all worked out! We had a great day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2013 at 3:03 am

      We had a fabulous day. I hope to have a post up soon!

       
  6. territerri

    December 27, 2013 at 2:29 am

    You obviously just work well under pressure! Were the eggnog cupcakes as good as they sound? The reindeer bottles turned out adorable! I want to try that next year!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 28, 2013 at 3:07 am

      I definitely work best under pressure, but it stresses me out. I’ll try harder next year.
      The eggnog cupcakes were delicious. And I tried an eggnog coffee cake on Christmas morning which was fantastic!
      And just so you know, Elmer’s glue is the best thing to use on the reindeer. Who da thunk? (Obviously not me)

       
  7. agg79

    January 5, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Glad to hear it all worked out well, despite the added stress. It’s not like you needed ANY additional stress during the holidays, right? If it were me, I would have needed a lot more eggnog.

    And not to be a Scrooge, but what happened to “just say no”?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 9:30 pm

      She caught me at a weak moment. But now I’m more determined to say NO. At least until I forget the pain of it all.

       

Leave a Reply

 
