RSS

Well that was fun!

28 Dec

Ready or not, Christmas Day arrived right on time.  I suppose I should say I was ready.  The gifts were wrapped and under the tree.  The stockings were stuffed, albeit barely, before the kids awoke.  The aroma of the eggnog and cinnamon breakfast cakes filled the house, and by 10 AM we were all gathered around the tree.

IMG_4113

Link arrived Christmas Eve while I was at work.  That was the hardest part for me.  I didn’t think I minded working on Christmas Eve until I got to work on Christmas Eve.  During my long commute I thought about the Christmas Eve pasts.  And like Clark Griswold in the attic, I had tears running down my face by the time I got to work.

I consoled myself with the fact that this year would be different anyway.  With Hubby’s parents both gone, we needed to make new traditions.  Of course, I hope working Christmas Eve isn’t the new tradition, but it allowed me all of Christmas and the next few days at home with the family.

And Christmas Day was a blast!

I sat in my corner of the couch and happily listened to the banter going back and forth between the kids. ] They’re so funny and were having a great time.

Amp gift wrapped himself.

Amp gift wrapped himself.

Chip modeled his new teeth

Chip modeled his new teeth

Link couldn't refrain from laughing

Link couldn’t refrain from laughing

IMG_4117

Even Mario had to laugh at, er with, her brothers.

And I was so impressed with the thoughtful gifts.  Not just with my salad lunch box kit,

IMG_4120

but with Link’s gift to Chip:

IMG_4131

Click picture for a close up of the drawing.

A very impressive drawing of one of his favorite characters.  Tears came to my eyes as Chip told the story of how he wasn’t sure what the character looked like and wanted a picture.  Link did some research on the character and devised a portrait based on his findings.

I’m so proud of who they are becoming, and it warms my heart to hear them laughing and joking and getting along so well.  Chip, who just lives in the next town, was enjoying himself so much, he didn’t go home for three days!  Or maybe it was the access to all the free food that kept him there.  Either way, it was great having everyone home again.

I’d say Christmas was a success, despite not having all the cookies and goodies I had hoped to make.  Maybe even more so because I didn’t try to squeeze baking in with everything else.

There’s always next year!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in Family, Holidays

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Well that was fun!

  1. Abby

    December 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    Sounds wonderful! What Christmas is all about (well, except for maybe having to work Christmas eve – but seems that was a minor inconvenience in the end)! Great drawing too, and Chip really looks genuinely pleased!

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 29, 2013 at 2:11 am

      Yes. Once I got Christmas Eve out of the way, it WAS wonderful!
      And that drawing, along with the story behind it, brought tears to my eyes. There’s no better feeling than seeing your kids think of others, especially their siblings.

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    December 31, 2013 at 12:51 am

    How proud you must be of your children! Good job mommy! 🙂 It sounds like your Christmas was really great, loved all the pictures you shared! what great, thoughtful gifts too! 🙂 Loved that drawing! I have missed you friend… but I am back! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 31, 2013 at 2:27 am

      I AM proud of them. They all have bumpy roads ahead of them and obstacles to overcome, but they’re learning to face them and are growing up and maturing into terrific adults. I don’t feel like I can take credit, however.
      Anyway…. I miss you too! I’m heading over now to see how your Christmas was. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    December 31, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    It seems like every blog I read, I read about a “different” Christmas. But we all seem to be okay with different. You did a great job of letting go of the unimportant stuff and embracing your loved ones and time together. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time with your family. That’s what this time of year is all about, right?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 1, 2014 at 1:41 am

      Yes, we certainly have learned to adjust, as difficult as it was. I’m proud we worked hard to make it a lot of fun for the family. It took an effort from all of us really. We all were sad not to spend it at Grandma and Grandpa’s house, but we made the best of having to start a new tradition.
      And had I baked all the goodies I wanted to try, I would have had no time with the family. Not to mention we all would be quite a few pounds heavier. 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    January 5, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Great way to enjoy Christmas. Nice to have the entire clan at home for the holidays. I find that, as life changes, we have to change with it. Some traditions make way for new ones. It may be hard to see some of the old traditions go, we get to enjoy making new ones. I feel that the key thing is to enjoy the times we have together. That’s more important that any goodies you might whip up.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      It really was a fantastic day, and it was because we enjoyed the time we had together. Just like you said. And it’s fun coming up with new traditions – like smoking pork butts and turkeys on Thanksgiving!
      Those yummy looking Christmas goodies will just have to wait til next year. Or perhaps I’ll make them in January when NOTHING is going on.

       

Leave a Reply

 
