RSS

Happy 2014!

02 Jan

The New Year crept in quietly while I slept.  Heck, I’m so tired these days, it could have come in like a lion and I wouldn’t have stirred.

I greeted the New Year at 2:45 AM, when I groggily woke for work.  The hotel wasn’t as busy this year as years past, but we still had quite a few guests and families ringing in the New Year with us. Now that we’ve said goodbye to them, there is nobody left.  And nobody coming in for quite some time.  I think I’ll take advantage of the slowness and drag my hubby down to Florida.  I’m sure he won’t mind.

When I look back on 2013, I’m not sure if I’m happy to see it go or not.  The beginning of the year was definitely the hardest, with the passing of my father-in-law and shortly after, my mother-in-law.  I miss celebrating birthdays and holidays at their house, but we’re up for trying new things and making new traditions.

2013 was also the year of my first 1/2 marathon.  I look back on that with both pride and humiliation.  I most certainly want to run another.  October 2014 maybe? I need some sort of goal to get me back outside and running distances again.  The elliptical and intervals on the treadmill have been my go-to exercises this past month or so, what with the snow, ice, and freezing temps.

The biggest surprise of the year was saying goodbye to two of my kids.  I’d had myself convinced Mario, the youngest of the four, would be the first one to move out.  But a solo vacation to Florida for Chip, and the lure of some friends in Ohio for Link, and suddenly, those two are moving out.  Now to just keep them out….

And 2013 was by far my most successful at work.  I finally achieved the promotion I’ve been hoping for, along with some well earned respect.  And just recently, I got a raise out of the blue!  In this business, it definitely means a lot to be given more money just because.

So not a bad year, but I’m certainly looking forward to 2014.  I tend to shy away from making resolutions since I can be so hard on myself if I fail, but I have things I want to work on and improve.

resolutions

Wishing you all a terrific new year!  Thanks for being the best blog friends a girl could ask for.

 

 

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2014 in Family, Friendship, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Happy 2014!

  1. Abby

    January 2, 2014 at 2:37 am

    Happy New Year!
    Nice look back, I was reminded of your sweet and bittersweet moments. I hope you get to take advantage of a slow time at the hotel to drag your man to Florida. Poor guy. 😉

     
  2. shadowrun300

    January 2, 2014 at 11:47 am

    Here’s how that conversation went.. Me – wanna go to Florida in February? Him – Yep.
    and just like that the deal is done! 🙂

     
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 3, 2014 at 12:36 am

    Happy New Year! I must say that I at first was anxious to see 2013 go just because I love “new chances” and starting a year always seems like a great opportunity to get a clean slate… but as I talked with hubby about our highlights of 2013 I realized it was a great year regardless of the bumps here and there… I did welcome the year awake and talking with hubby… it was a very quiet, peaceful night for us here at home… I wish for you the best on 2014 … may it be another year that becomes hard to say “good bye” to … 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 3, 2014 at 3:08 am

      I’m excited about some new chances too. I feel like I’m in a rut, and I’m excited to use this year to dig myself out!
      I hope you have a great one as well! I’m behind you all the way!

       
  4. territerri

    January 3, 2014 at 2:18 am

    Happy New Year! Your year certainly had it’s ups and downs. I’m glad you shared them all here. Makes me feel like I really know you and your family. So glad the blog world helped us form a friendship!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 3, 2014 at 3:09 am

      My feelings exactly. I feel like I know you and your family so well! And so many similarities. It’s been a fun ride, and looking forward to more! 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    January 3, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    A trip to Florida certainly sounds good, given the weather in your part of the world at the moment! Is there still a chance that you could move there?

    It is strange to have children moving out, even if it is to Uni. We had a full house again over Christmas and it was wonderful.

    I hope that you have a great 2014, and continue to share your stories with us!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    January 3, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    The chances of moving to Florida increase every winter. lol And with a predicted high Monday of -1, I’m thinking our timeline will move up a bit.
    Our house was full over the holidays too, and the driveway was full of cars again. It was awesome!
    Looking forward to your stories of 2014 as well!

     
  7. agg79

    January 5, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    It has definitely been an interesting year for you guys. Thanks for sharing them with us. Hard and exciting at the same time to see the kids move out of the nest, but life is about growing and learning new things. I certainly hope that you are able to do another half marathon, you’ve got one under your belt and I know the next one would be a cakewalk for you.

    Looking forward to all of the interesting stories and tasty treats that will come in 2014! Just remember to say NO (one once in a while).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      Ya know, I haven’t run any kind of distances in over a month. Between my work schedule and the weather, it’s been so hard for me to get outside. And there’s NO WAY I can run long distances on a treadmill. I can do intervals and work on speed, but that’s as far as it goes. And with temps below zero this next week, it’ll be even longer…. Even so, I hope to get back to training for another half. Are you still planning on yours?

       
      • agg79

        January 6, 2014 at 1:50 am

        You know that answer to that question, although I have to admit I haven’t been keeping up with my runs for the past month. I’m gonna pay for this one.

         
  8. llcooljoe

    January 9, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Sorry I’m so late getting here but I’ve been away. Happy New Year to you!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2014 at 6:40 am

      I know you were away. Thanks for taking the time to catch up with me. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
