RSS

Diamonds are ok, but I want appliances

04 Jan

I like diamonds okay.  I have one on my left ring finger, and a small one in each of my ears.  I’ve had them for years, and have been very content with them.  They’re just not my best friend.

Nope.

I’d much rather have an appliance. And Hubby is just fine spoiling me with all the appliances I could ask for.

Remember my last birthday?  I hardly do either.  But I DO remember I got an appliance.  The cinnamon colored Kitchen Aide mixer.  It’s by far my best baking friend.

Not my kitchen.

Not my kitchen.

And this year, I got the coffee maker.  The 12-cup thermal stainless steel coffee maker.  I think I’ll love no other.

Coffee!

For Christmas, Mario got me a brand new toaster.

toaster

It matches my coffee maker, and it browns my bagels and toast to perfection.  *sigh*  What more could I ask for?

Except maybe a new one of these.

IMG_0902[1]

This beloved vacuum gave me everything it had, even long after it was injured.  I bandaged it up, over and over again, and it loyaly continued to suck up the unending bundles of pet hair.

This year I decided to put it to rest, so for Christmas, I got yet another appliance.

the shark

Be still my beating heart.

Step aside, Diamonds.  These are my true BFFs.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2014 in Baking, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Diamonds are ok, but I want appliances

  1. territerri

    January 4, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    LOL, I could have written this post! My vacuum cleaner hose is wrapped in duct tape too. I think I’ll just try to replace the hose rather than the whole machine. It’s served me well and I’m not ready to give it up.

    Two of my gifts this year include a giant, Kitchen-Aide food processor and a Belgian waffle maker. I couldn’t have been happier!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 3:33 am

      For the last few years I thought about replacing just the hose, but never got around to it. Then about a month ago, I saw an ad for this vacuum on TV and thought it would be perfect for me. And to my surprise it was under the tree! 🙂
      Tell me about your food processor! That may be next on my list!

       
  2. agg79

    January 5, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    I love new gadgets. I know they are not romantic or sexy, but something about a new Dewalt 18v power drill really gets me excited. My wife and I are at the stage we tend to look for the more practical kinds of gifts for each other (I scored a new set of LED taillights for the trailer).

    Nice toys you’ve got there. You’re gonna love the Navigator. We bought 2 several years ago (one for us and one for SIL). It works great, easy to handle, and is way less than a Dyson. Only down side is that with my two furry dogs, it is getting a serious workout. I just have to clean it every few weeks to get all the hair out of the brush rollers.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      Yes! I like practical, sensible gifts. Those can say “I love you” just as much as diamonds. AND I can have fun with them! (I love vacuuming almost as much as baking. 🙂 )
      How exciting for you to get new LED taillights! Seems like the perfect gift!
      So far I’ve been very pleased with the Navigator. We don’t have much carpet in the house, but it’s great on my wood floors. At least better than my old one. And it’s prefect for stairs. But yeah, those golden hairs clog up pretty quickly….

       
  3. Abby

    January 5, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    I’m a gadget girl myself – heck with gems, give me something practical! (and bicycles are totally practical!). My mom says that gifts shouldn’t have handles, I never understood that reasoning. Nice to know there are kindred spirits out there! Enjoy the new toy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2014 at 9:27 pm

      Bicycles ARE totally practical. Aren’t you supposed to be doing a post on your newest one???
      I’ve received a few gifts that I’ve enjoyed that don’t have handles… airline tickets to Florida come to mind. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    January 6, 2014 at 2:21 am

    I will always pick appliances over jewellery(don’t wear it too much). Gift that you can do something with are so much better. Lucky for me I have lots storage in my kitchen because I have a machine for everything and I love them but the one I use the most are my kitchen aid mixer(mine is not as cute as yours but still works) and my espresso coffee machine!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 6, 2014 at 3:09 am

      I remember how much you love your espresso machine! I treasure some of my appliances more than most of my jewelry. My wedding ring is the exception of course. I wouldn’t trade it for any appliance. Not even my new vacuum. 🙂

       
  5. Melissa Gastorf

    January 6, 2014 at 10:03 am

    I am a little bit of both. But while I will drool over your mixer because I always want one, I don’t cook enough to justify the cost. I have a love for watches though, much more than appliances, but I can understand your desires

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2014 at 2:35 am

      But watches are practical! And I’m sure you need one for every occasion. 🙂 And if you LOVE them, then you should have them! I don’t wear watches or jewelry enough to justify the cost.
      But I bake and vacuum all the time – so there ya go. 🙂

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 6, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    I am all over some “way-more-practical-than-diamonds” gifts as well! Give my my “fit gadgets” “kitchen appliances” over any diamond in a heart beat… (Do I feel like that maybe because I know I won’t be getting diamonds anyway?) Maybe so!” Love your cinnamon stand mixer! I don’t know what I’d do without one of those in my kitchen! 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2014 at 2:41 am

      I adore my mixer. Not sure how I lived so long without it! Well worth all the money it cost!
      A diamond is of no help in the kitchen at all, and it’s terrible at picking up dog hair. I love the one on my hand, but that’s all I need.

       
  7. Rock Chef

    January 7, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Just before Christmas out vacuum died, so I jumped on the bus and bought a new one. When I got on the bus to come home a guy said “I hope that isn’t a Christmas present! My wife would kill me if I bought her something like that for Christmas!”

    Others on the bus nodded in agreement. I hurriedly assured them that it was NOT a present, just something we needed…

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      I wonder if my hubby got the same kind of reaction. A vacuum is what I WANTED for Christmas. If he had spent that money on diamonds, I would have been upset. Diamonds AND a vacuum would have been okay though. 😉

       
  8. llcooljoe

    January 9, 2014 at 6:11 am

    So you are one of the rare women that would actually like to receive a vacuum cleaner as a gift!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2014 at 6:42 am

      I was THRILLED to open a new vacuum on Christmas morning. I threatened everyone not to play with it until I had a chance first. They eagerly agreed.

       

Leave a Reply

 
