RSS

Stranded

07 Jan

St. Louis has been hit with the worst snow storm and the coldest temperatures it has seen in 30 years.

We had a few days warning, so since I had a three day weekend, I hit the stores on Friday, along with everyone else, and picked out a few things from the meager choices that were left.

After working six days in a row, I was thrilled to be snowed in at home for three whole days!

Make that ONE day.

My first morning off, I got a call from the hotel that we were holding 200 rooms for a big company in St. Louis. They wanted to have their employees downtown and ready to work on Monday.  Could I come in on Sunday to help with the check-ins.

* sigh *  of course I would.

To ensure I could make it to work, I would drive in on Saturday evening to stay the night.

I spent my day off preparing my family for a few days of being snowed in, and then packed my bags for a two night stay at the hotel.  Something I swore I would never do. The idea of wearing my pajamas in my place of business bothers me.

I managed to get to my room without running into too many employees.  My only awkward encounter was chancing upon our security guard sitting in the dark fitness center at 5:30 Sunday morning.  “Uh… I’m watching the children…” he muttered as he quickly unplugged his phone and got out.

Nice to know he’s on top of things and our hotel is safe and secure.

The snow came hard and fast while we awaited the news on whether or not the 200 rooms were really needed.  By mid-afternoon, the company decided to close their business on Monday, and so the block was cancelled.  My help was not needed.

But since I was there, other employees were called off allowing them the ability to stay home and avoid the unplowable roads, and allow me the ability to DO something while I was stuck there.

Back at home, my family was climbing the walls.  After having almost 2 weeks off for Christmas, they were excited about returning to school this week, so the news of a snow day was surprisingly unwelcome.  And the second snow day was met with groans.  I have a feeling there might be a third.  The roads are still snow packed, and with the subzero temperatures, the road chemicals are useless.  Wind chills are hovering around -20 degrees, so being outside is not an option either.  I felt blessed that I could at least work.

I made it back home Monday night.  Slowly and carefully in the Acura, while my sweet but useless Mustang remained safely in my garage.

I’m back on another long stretch of work this week, but another long weekend lies ahead.  At least for now.

The view from my new 'couch time' spot.

The view from my new ‘couch time’ spot.

The view from my room early in the day.

The view from my room early in the day. The bridge I cross every day is barely visible.

city streets

Empty city streets.

The view of Busch Stadium from my hotel room.

The view of Busch Stadium from my hotel room.

Our back yard and neighboring field.  It LOOKS pretty anyway.

Our back yard and neighboring field. It LOOKS pretty anyway.

Hungry birds.

Hungry birds.

Our very own Cardinal

Our very own Cardinal

Mrs. Cardinall

Mrs. Cardinal

IMG_4244

Lunch Time

And now….

I’m ready for my flip flops.

 

 

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2014 in Commute, Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Stranded

  1. Sandi

    January 7, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    My brain can’t really fathom that the beautiful sunny country we drove through in August is currently blanketed in snow. We’re having a very mild summer here – those birds are so sweet!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:07 am

      The only thing MY brain thinks about is how badly it wants warm weather! We’ll be escaping to Florida for a quick visit pretty soon…
      I have a zillion pics of birds that are loving the seed we put out for them. Especially right now when everything is snow covered!

       
  2. Abby

    January 7, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    Once, back in my hotelling days, we had a nasty storm move in. Managers wanted us to stay rather than chance the roads going home, but none of us stayed because we didn’t want to get put to work “since you’re here”! But you actually went IN to work during the crap weather!

    This polar vortex is really wreaking havoc, reminds us of how small we are. Love the pics! Stay safe and warm!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:11 am

      Worse! I went in to work BEFORE the crap weather, so I actually used a day and a half of my ‘weekend’ to come in for the possibility that we’d have 200 check-ins on Sunday. The check-ins never panned out, but I wasn’t about to just go sit in my room. So I told ’em to work me. May as well earn some money while I was there.
      Haven’t heard you complaining about the weather much. Or is this just “normal” for you? 🙂

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 8, 2014 at 12:22 am

    Oh my goodness! That’s all crazy! I am sorry you had to stay at your place of work… 😦 not fun staying in a hotel where you actually work… Thanks for sharing the pictures (loved the cardinals, they are on my top 5 favorite birds!)… I hope the snow gives you all a break soon! Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:14 am

      I hid out in my room while I was there, and used the fitness center very early so I wouldn’t run into anyone I know. (Guests or Employees.) I like to portray a professional image, so I really didn’t want to be seen without my uniform. Silly, maybe, but it’s just how I feel.

       
  4. territerri

    January 8, 2014 at 12:53 am

    You are really generous, to be willing to go in when you weren’t scheduled and allow other employees to call off. I kind of get it though. I enjoy my job too. Enough that I would do it, if asked, when I wasn’t technically scheduled to be there.

    Wow, you’re getting some extreme weather. We all are. I heard today that ever state except Hawaii had at least one are where temps were below freezing. Global warming, my butt.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:19 am

      I like to show that I’m flexible and willing to come in when needed. And I know if I had been in their shoes, I would want to have an employee that I can count on. It’s just hard sometimes. I really had been looking forward to 3 days of relaxing now that all the holidays are over. Maybe next weekend…
      And yes! We’re all getting crazy temperatures! Lucky for us, a warm-up is coming our way in a few days! Not flip-flop-warm, but warmer nonetheless.

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    January 8, 2014 at 5:23 am

    How did they lured you into going there to get trapped lol You such a reliable employee! I bet when you’re not used to it colder feels very cold and if the state is not prepare the roads must be very dangerous. Here they put sand on the road because salt doesn’t melt anything below -20 c.

    Your room looks nice and it’s great to see a little bit of where you work. I had never been in St Louis until now. The red Cardinal looks so good on the snow!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:24 am

      Exactly! They got me there and then I couldn’t leave!
      So you use sand?? I wonder if Missouri knows this trick, ’cause the chemicals they were using do NOTHING for snow and ice when temps are this cold. Therefore, we STILL have roads that are packed with snow/ice.
      The pictures don’t do the Cardinal justice. He was striking against the stark white snow!

       
  6. agg79

    January 8, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Wow. That really sucks. Having to get stuck at the office for days can really suck. I hope you made the best of the situation (open mini bar?!) and they REALLY appreciate your loyalty/dedication. Hopefully you can bank this effort into some comp days later on when the temperatures are a bit more agreeable. The quiet, empty streets look really eerie. I hope the weather thaws out a bit for the long weekend.

    I totally get your angst over playing at the same place you work. You spend years building a professional image and it is hard to let your hair down when you have to maintain that image.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 8, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      More like an open ice cream bar. 🙂 It was kind of relaxing to go up to my room and have a little space all to myself.
      We’re slowly thawing out around here, and the salt and chemicals are starting to work. By the weekend we’ll be in the 40s!

       
  7. llcooljoe

    January 9, 2014 at 6:08 am

    Wow, that is not fun! Snow looks great for a day and then the novelty wears off. My kids had 3 weeks off school and returned on Tuesday, and I have to say it was nice to see them go! Apart from the fact that my 19 year old only seems to do a couple of lessons and arrives home at mid day.

    I hope the weather improves soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2014 at 6:49 am

      The novelty has definitely worn off. They were off two weeks for Christmas Break and have yet to go back to school. They are on their 4th snow day now.
      I suppose it’s too late to ask you to send the Arizona weather our way?

       
  8. Rock Chef

    January 9, 2014 at 11:09 am

    That snow loods SO Pwiddy! 🙂

    I love the cardinals too – wish we had wildlife with colours like that! We have to learn to appreciate endless shades of brown…

    Your dedication shines through again! Maybe you should wear a onsie at checkin?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2014 at 3:37 pm

      It IS pwiddy at first. Now it’s slushy and brown and piled high on the sides of the road. Yuck. We’re getting a bit more today and the kids are STILL off school. They’re Christmas break is turning into summer vacation – minus the heat.
      The cardinals are stunning against the white snow. We have around 4 now that come for breakfast. Today, a couple of yellow finches stopped by. Our deck is full of birds and watching them has been the best part of this whole ordeal.
      A onsie? Now that wouldn’t be detrimental to my reputation at all. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
