RSS

Flyin’ the coop

10 Jan

St. Louis is opened again, although we’re still on a snow schedule.  The major highways are clear.  The downtown streets are not.

You can tell we’re not quite used to ALL this snow.

st. louis is closed

Temps have been a balmy 20 degrees as of late.  Funny how your perspective on what’s cold changes when your high temps have been below zero.

The kids have yet to go back to school.  An exciting two week winter break has turned into a humdrum three week boredom fest.  I feel a bit ashamed that we’re not as tough as the Minnesotans.  12 inches of snow would have been a slight hiccup for them..

bus route

 

I saw this going around FB, and I thought, it’s not ME that would be out there, it’s my kids.  They are SO ready to go back to school

I, on the other hand, am craving boredom.  While the family has been cooped up all week, watching movies and sleeping late, I have been traveling back and forth to work, working shifts late into the evening.  I drag my weary self to the couch around 11:30 pm, veg out with you guys, then crawl into bed only to start all over again the next day.

All of this has led me to finally hit the check-out button on the Southwest website.  Two tickets are reserved for me and the Hubs to fly into Tampa in just a few short weeks. Four nights and five days of glorious sun and warmth and NO COMMUTE. Well, at least no commute to work.  We plan to drive up and down the gulf shore looking for our someday home.

you're getting warmer

It can’t happen too soon.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Flyin’ the coop

  1. Rock Chef

    January 10, 2014 at 4:25 pm

    Sun! You know it makes sense!

    Love the cartoon about digging the route to school!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 10, 2014 at 4:43 pm

      I laughed out loud at that cartoon. Even funnier is that I sorta know the guy. He’s friends with my best friend and we met once upon a time. He does a lot of cartoons for Playboy. 🙂

      You’re probably craving some nice weather yourself…..

       
  2. agg79

    January 10, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    Oooh. 5 days in Tampa. I bet they aren’t shoveling too much snow down there. That’ll be a fun trip. Enough time to recharge the batteries and work on that winter tan. Are you going to try another round of SUP?

    As much as you claim that you are not as tough as Minnesotans (we ALL know about them), you’ve got us beat by miles. If we get a slight dusting of snow down here and the whole region goes into lockdown. Last time we had any appreciable snow, it was like Armageddon (OMG! OMG! We’re all going to die!!!).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 10, 2014 at 6:13 pm

      i’d love to SUP again – if the temps are in the 80s. And a winter tan would be fabulous!
      From what I’ve heard, your temps have been pretty low compared to your usual temps too. Maybe no snow, but still….

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    January 10, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    So you made up your mind about which warm place you want to live when you grow up 😉 Florida sounds really good especially from under 4 feet of snow! It will be a well deserved trip with all the hours you have been doing. It must be nice to be able to go in the tropics and still be in your own country. Funny pics! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2014 at 3:46 am

      Yep. I have a pretty good feeling that’s where we’ll end up. It feels right for both of us. We’ll look more closely at the towns, schools, and residential areas when we go down this time. It’ll be a few years probably, but it’s exciting to dream!
      Southern Florida almost feels like it’s in another country. It’s SO far away! 🙂

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 10, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    I am so excited for your vacation! So well deserved! Your schedule has been so crazy busy… go and enjoy the warmth of Florida! 🙂 How exciting! I can’t wait! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2014 at 3:47 am

      I certainly hope it’s warm down there. I mean, I know it’ll be warmer than here, but I want WARM. Like SUP’n weather warm, and swimsuit warm. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    January 11, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    I understand how you feel about 20 degrees being balmy. It’s currently 29 degrees hear and it feels like a heat wave! And don’t give Minnesotans so much credit. 12 inches of snow would cause some serious delays at least, and probably the closing of schools and businesses. I think Minnesota came to St. Louis!

    Good for you for scheduling a trip to Florida. As I read that, I thought, “Why am I not doing the same thing?” Mark and I need a vacation SO badly. We have some things to work around, but a little trip to the southern portion of the states wouldn’t be so hard.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      DO IT! We leave February 5. Meet ya there?

       
  6. Abby

    January 14, 2014 at 2:13 am

    Oooh, a trip to Florida! I want one!! Love the cartoons. Sometimes you just hafta laugh.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 14, 2014 at 3:57 am

      Come on down! The water’s fine! Or at least I’m hoping it is….

       

Leave a Reply

 
