RSS

Simpler Times

17 Jan

We’re a little slow when it comes to some things.  Take the internet.  It was introduced to the world years before we decided to give it a try.  The idea of email and searching was so foreign to me, it took a while to get the hang of it.  (I have since mastered it, and no longer know what I would do without it.)

And when cable came along, we continued to use our big whoppin’ antenna, never thinking twice about how bad the picture looked.  At least not until my neighbor commented on it.  Something like… “You don’t have cable? My gawd, get with the times.”  So we succumbed to peer pressure and hooked up to cable.  And she was right.  American Idol was SO much more fun to watch without all the squiggly lines.

But then cable became outdated and more people switched to dish.  So whenever our cable went out, it would take days for someone to “be in our area” to fix it.  And why not?  We were the only ones to have it.

So we made the move to dish.  And at first, we were in awe!  So many channels!  Home and Garden TV?  Loved it!  The Food Network?  Addicting!  The History Channel?  Learning has never been so fun!  We soon realized, however, that those channels aired the same shows over and over again, and even if it wasn’t the exact same show, all the shows seemed the same.  Soon we’d spend our evenings flipping through hundreds of channels and not find anything to watch.  Our laptops and iPads became our evening entertainment.

This month, we’ve come full circle.  We’re back to the antenna (which is now a flat square that’s taped to our wall), and we’re disconnecting the dish.  To appease Mario, we’ve agreed to sign back on with Netflix.  For some measly change, she can stream any videos, TV shows, etc that she wants.  Through her phone!  And now we’re doing the same.  We can actually pick what WE want to watch, not what the dish company decides to air.

It’s a cleansing feeling – not having the clutter and weight of hundreds of unwatched channels.  We actually feel lighter.

First, the land line.  Now the dish.  Could the internet be next?

Ha.  Not likely.

internet

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2014 in Everyday Living, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Simpler Times

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    The internet? Yeah… that would never happen! We used to have that flat box attached to our wall just recently… until comcast decided to take even any public/antenna channels away from us… I don’t know what they did but our tv no longer works without at least cable… so that’s what we got… a very special package and yes… we have more channels but there’s still nothing to watch or we watch the same thing we would watch without it anyway! 🙂 It’s fun to find a good movie here and there though.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2014 at 2:14 am

      I certainly hope we don’t lose our public channels, but if we do, we’d probably learn to live without them. Not sure I would have said that a few years ago….
      We’ve seen a few good movies these last couple of weeks! And the best part is if we don’t like it, we just find a new one to stream. I’m lovin’ it!

       
  2. Rock Chef

    January 17, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Can you use Netflix to browse the web?

     
  3. towardshealthylife

    January 17, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    This is so funny because I have just called (yesterday) to un-subscribe the satellite tv! Now all the main channel have their own website where you can watch tv on your laptop anyway so why pay? I wanted to do it for ages and the tv broke so it was time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2014 at 2:23 am

      Good for you! Internet really does make it easy to watch something if you chose. So you don’t have to pay for things you don’t chose. And there are a LOT of shows I would never chose.

       
  4. Anita

    January 17, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    Things change… a lot! Your story reminds me of two conversations I’ve had recently concerning books versus e-readers. I never wanted the Nook or Kindle when they first came out; didn’t see the need unless I was traveling and needed 10 books to read, which I never do because I don’t summer in Europe. 🙂 “My” vacations are limited to a week and one book usually suffices. But then Darling Husband gave me the Nook as a birthday present and slowly, I began to prefer it over a book because I could stick it in my purse, quietly read in bed, etc.

    You guessed it–I’m back to loving my books with real pages, though I will always want to have an e-reader.

    Good luck with maintaining your new TV viewing status! I think it’s a good trial that could last forever. But hey, if it doesn’t, switch over again! 🙂

    Side note: I’ve enjoyed your visits to my blog. I usually respond to comments with a quick email when one is attached to the comment. Yours are in my email inbox with “no-reply comment” so I can’t respond to you. Just want to let you know that I will always appreciate your thoughts when you leave them.

    (I don’t respond on my blog because my posts usually asks a question at the end and I don’t want to add anything further so that I don’t influence anyone who would follow my comment. Hope that makes sense.)

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2014 at 2:33 am

      I’ve often thought about a Nook or Kindle, but I love my books. And then I see the stacks of books I’ve accumulated over the years and think how much a Nook would help me declutter my basement. After hearing your story, I may just stick with the books for a while.
      I enjoy visiting your blog. I’ve read more than I’ve commented so far, but I’m sure that’ll change. And no worries if you don’t respond back. It’s got something to do with the way I signed up with blogger I think.
      Thanks for visiting! Stop back by anytime!

       
  5. Abby

    January 18, 2014 at 3:25 am

    Hey, nothing but antenna here! Welcome to the club!! It’s kinda nice, when the cable goes out and everyone’s freaked out over it, life as usual for us.
    We stream Netflix too. And our hacker sons have figured out a way to get shows and movies we Americans aren’t “supposed” to get. Did I just say that on the internet?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 18, 2014 at 11:19 am

      Your secret’s safe with me.
      Antennas have come a long way since the rabbit ear days. And yeah, when a big snow comes, or strong winds, or thunderstorms, we can still watch Shark Tank. Life is good!

       
  6. territerri

    January 18, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    I know what you mean about there being nothing to watch! And yet, we keep flipping through the channels thinking that something will suddenly appear! I am, however, watching American Idol for the first time in years. I love that they’ve done away with the endless scenes of ridiculously bad contestants. Also, I love Harry Connick Jr. and Keith Urban. So glad they got rid of Mariah Carey and Nikki Minaj. Yech.

    Sometimes I look around at my family and see how absorbed everyone is in their television shows, Facebook, video games, etc. It would be nice to bring everyone back to the real world for a while.

     
  7. llcooljoe

    January 20, 2014 at 6:44 am

    We have no TV here at the moment because the recent storms blew the dish slightly out of position. I never watch TV so it doesn’t bother me at all but the rest of my family are not taking it so well! Ha. But losing the internet…hmm … watch me sulk.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:12 am

      My daughter is the reason we kept it so long. But I think even she could learn to live without it. I mean, she’s got her phone after all. 😉
      And yeah, none of us could do without internet. Scary thought!

       
  8. Meleah Rebeccah

    January 22, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Well good for you!! I know a lot of people that have done away with cable/dish ect and just use Netflix and/or RoKu for watching TV. And they all say how “freeing” it is!

    Unfortunately, I am ADDICTED to so many TV shows on cable: specifically HBO and Showtime – so I refuse to give up cable. And since I’m not supposed to go to a movie theater with my compromised immune system – I have to rely on ordering movies ondemand from the cable company instead. Luckily, ordering movies AT HOME is way cheaper than paying for the theater!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:18 am

      Well you at least watch the shows. And I’ve heard they’re great! Do you know, with all the channels we had, we didn’t get HBO or Showtime. We’d have to add a hundred more channels just to get those two. It was ALL the extras that was so overwhelming.
      And yeah, I would chose ordering a movie at home over going to the theater any day. Popcorn’s cheaper too! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
