RSS

In a Mood

22 Jan

AAARRRGGGHHH!

Boy did I wake up in a mood today.  I don’t know why.  All things point to NOT being in a mood.  It’s my day off.  I slept past 3 AM.  The sun’s shining.  Well, off and on anyway.  And it’s a balmy 18 degrees.

Hmmm.  Maybe that’s the reason.  I don’t always have the winter blues, but today, I think I do.  It’s just SO cold these days.  SO cold, that I’ve only run outside 3 times in the past two weeks.  And heck, I usually run through anything. Remember the 17 degree 10 miler?  But lately the morning temps have been in the single digits with wind chill temps below zero.  Even polar bears would be seeking warmth.

Oh, I know some people are experiencing colder temps.  But frankly, I don’t care.  It’s cold here.  And I want to run outside.  And that’s why I’m in a mood.

See, I got these new shooz.  And I’ve tested them on the treadmill for two minutes at a time, because who the heck can run on a treadmill for more than two minutes?  And I THINK they’re going to make great long distance shooz, BUT HOW CAN I TELL UNLESS I CAN GET OUTSIDE?!

AARRGGHH.

Well, truthfully, I ran 7 miles in them yesterday, when the temps were in the 20s, and they felt pretty good. But knowing it’ll be another week before the temps and my work schedule allow me to run puts me in a mood.

If I was in Florida, training for my upcoming 10 mile race would be a piece of cake.  The pro’s of flying south are completely dominating the con’s at this point.

winter in florida

florida winter

florida snowman

 
17 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Everyday Living, Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

17 responses to “In a Mood

  1. Meleah Rebeccah

    January 22, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    “But lately the morning temps have been in the single digits with wind chill temps below zero.  Even polar bears would be seeking warmth.”

    Yep. Same here. And that makes for going outside horrible. Which definitely leads to having the blues.

    Hang in there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:21 am

      Maybe I should get into some of your fav TV shows. At least I’d have something to look forward to. Oh wait. We just got rid of our dish. aarrgghh!

       
  2. Abby

    January 22, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    I have a friend who retired to Florida. He tells me their biggest decision each day is, “Should we walk or ride our bikes to the pool?” GRRRRRRR!

    You’ll have to update your thoughts on the shooz when you’ve been on them a bit longer – treadmilling doesn’t count! But so-far-so good works! I like my PureFlows, into my third pair.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:24 am

      I couldn’t remember which Pure’s you had, but I knew you liked ’em. After my stress fracture, I gave up on my other Brooks. I actually went into the store looking for some more Nike’s… but was talked into these. Once I can get outside, I’ll be sure to report back.
      And can a person retire to Florida in their 40s??

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    January 23, 2014 at 1:39 am

    Cold all depends what area your in and what you are used to and when I was back packing we went from Tahiti to Sydney Australia and I though it felt cold in Australia lol Florida…always wearing shorts…I would love it too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:29 am

      You’d probably be happy with 18 degree weather, as cold as you all have been!
      I know it’s all relative. It’s actually been in the 60s down in Florida, and I keep thinking, sheesh, it better hurry and warm up. We’re flying down there in two weeks!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        January 23, 2014 at 4:29 am

        Good for you! I hope you have nice weather 🙂

         
  4. territerri

    January 23, 2014 at 2:41 am

    Yep. I feel ya. I know the winter blues. They are frustrating! So sorry to hear that the weather is keeping you from running. I see people running in the cold, snow and slush here. (Not many of them.) I always wonder how they can concentrate on running. I’d be worried about slipping and falling.

    I’m sick of the cold too. So is my dog. She hardly wants to go outside and when she does, she comes back quick.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:50 am

      In years past, I would have sucked it up and gone. Now, I prefer it to be at least 20 before I go, and no ice or snow. Last thing I need is another fall.
      Chancie, who’s much fatter and hairier than Lucy, likes the cool weather, but has to come back in to thaw out her paws. Then 10 minutes later she wants back out. She’d continue like this for hours if we let her!

       
  5. lottajoy

    January 23, 2014 at 2:53 am

    It’s COLD here in Florida. In fact, today it didn’t get above 50. My hometown is 0 degrees.

    When we went out today, true Floridians are easy to pick out. They’re wearing LAYERS of clothes and ear muffs and gloves! Honest! Joe and I had on sweatshirts and jeans and loved the cool weather. (when I sent you the photo of me on the ladder taking down the xmas lights, you promised not to publish it)

    Where down here are you flying to??????

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 23, 2014 at 2:58 am

      Try to find the reasoning here….. We’re flying into Tampa, staying in Orlando, and looking at homes and high schools in the St. Pete and Sarasota area.
      And believe me, we’re tracking the weather, so we know it’s cold down there too. But it’s SO much better than 0.

       
  6. Anita

    January 23, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    What little running I do – it’s better when it’s outside. I wish I had a suggestion.

    How about taking your jump rope out the to drive way and impressing the neighbors. Or, is there snow and ice on your driveway?

    Hang in there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:28 am

      Luckily the snow is gone and all that’s left is COLD. VERY COLD. So my only option is to stay inside.
      I’ll be okay. The mood didn’t last long. 🙂

       
  7. agg79

    January 24, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    18 degrees. Brrr. We don’t get those kinds of temps down here. Those temps can really make it a challenge. Nothing like frozen hands and snotcicles to really make a run special.

    Yea, I tend to get a bit cranky if I don’t get my regular runs in. I still can stand the treadmill – would rather run outside in the snow. Hope that the vortex moves on and you can get back to running in those balmy 30 degree weather.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:31 am

      I think you pegged it. My mood is mostly due to not getting any real runs in, not necessarily the cold. Which is why I finally caved and stuck it out on the treadmill.
      But COME ON 30s!

       
  8. llcooljoe

    January 29, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    You may have the cold but we’ve had non stop rain for weeks! It just never stops. Equally depressing.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:32 am

      Ugh! Weeks of non-stop rain would have me in a mood as well. Either way, it’s no fun outside, and I like to be outside. :/

       

Leave a Reply

 
