RSS

Makes me think twice

27 Jan

Living in the Midwest, we’re pretty used to changing weather.  But seriously?  High of 51 degrees on Sunday followed by a high of 10 on Monday?  And a low of -1?  Yep.  Mother Nature is definitely showing signs of bi-polar disorder.

Her “issues” are wreaking havoc on 19 year old Chip’s new abode.  Perhaps you recall he now lives in a trailer with his buddy.  A very old, un-insulated, camper of a trailer.  He’s coping by draping blankets on his windows, but nothing seems to be helping the water pipes underneath. The water inside is frozen and icicles are hanging from the outside.  The professional pipe man says there’s nothing he can do until it thaws out.  With as temperamental as Mother Nature has been of late, this could take a while.  In the meantime, Chip comes home to take a shower and wash dishes.  I’m not minding his frozen pipes at all.

In other exciting news, this week at the hotel we fired a person we hadn’t hired yet.  A friendly, young, female had passed her first interview and was scheduled to come in for her observation and second interview.  If we (and she) felt it was a good fit, she would come back for her final interview with the GM.

Understandably, she was pretty excited and tweeted all about it.  Her first tweet stated she was so happy to have gotten the job at <our hotel> and could tell her old job goodbye.  Using our hotel name may have been her first mistake.  It flagged our media personnel to look into it further.

Her second tweet told all her friends in not so innocent terms, to come f*** with her at the hotel, and she would hook ’em up with some sweet discounts.

And just like that, her chance at a job was over.

Being the good mom that I am, I showed my 15 year old daughter the tweet.  She finished reading and proclaimed, “I’m guessing she didn’t get the job…”

Thank goodness she sees the bigger picture.  As soon as I hunt down a son or two or three, I’ll show it to them.  Not that they’ve posted things they shouldn’t be proud of, but so they WON’T post things they wouldn’t be proud of in a few years’ time.

It’s a way different day and age than when I began job hunting.  And it’s made me think twice about what I post here, even under a pseudonym.

They’re watching….

twitter 2

This one just made me laugh….

twitter 1

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2014 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Makes me think twice

  1. territerri

    January 27, 2014 at 12:28 am

    Ugh… that just makes me sick that your potential new hire tweeted herself out of a job, just like that. You would think that people wouldn’t be so clueless! I mean, not even that she was careless enough to tweet what she did, but that she would even think of heading into a new job opportunity already with the attitude that she would use her new position to give freebies to her friends. I guess it’s all for the best. She saved you the trouble of figuring out later that she was not going to be a quality employee.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 27, 2014 at 2:33 am

      That’s exactly right. We figured out who she was before we were in too deep. So many employers are using social media to “interview” people now-a-days, but I’ve not seen it action until now. And we weren’t even searching her out. She came to us, in a sense, by tweeting the hotel name. It’s a good lesson for my kids anyway – be careful what you’re tweetin’.

       
  2. agg79

    January 27, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Love the bipolar weather we’ve been having lately. Got up to 72 today and we are expected to hit 25 by Tuesday. Definitely makes things a challenge.

    I am not surprise about your new non-hire. With the state of social media these days, it is Incredible on how people think they can post anything on the internet and not suffer any consequences. Stupid is as stupid does. Good thing you guys uncovered this potential problem before she joined the family. Kudos to you for sharing with your kids. Valuable life lesson to be learned there. Wondered what she will tweet about now.

    And, FWIW, I have never been part of the tweet universe. Never done it, never will IMHO, a real narcissistic endeavor. Who really cares what someone does 24/7?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 28, 2014 at 2:43 am

      Not sure if I’ll ever know what she’s posting now. Like you, I have never gotten into tweetin’. I’ll flip through FB in the hopes that Link may have posted something, but HE isn’t into the social media either. So my FB excursions are a mindless endeavor with a chuckle here and there over a cute cartoon. A potential employer would have a difficult time coming up with some scoop on me. Unless somehow I introduce myself as ShadowRun…. then I may have some deletin’ to do.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    January 27, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Wow, some people just don’t get it do they?

     
  4. Meleah Rebeccah

    January 27, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    “Mother Nature is definitely showing signs of bi-polar disorder.” — Oh yes, same here. The weather is completely crazy.

    “Her second tweet told all her friends in not so innocent terms, to come f*** with her at the hotel, and she would hook ‘em up with some sweet discounts.And just like that, her chance at a job was over.” —- What an IDIOT. It always amazes me HOW DUMB people can be.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2014 at 1:06 am

      Exactly! How silly was it to use the hotel name, but I’m glad she did. Now we don’t have to waste the time training her, only to have to let her go once we caught on to her true character.

       
  5. Abby

    January 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    Okay, granted, we grew up and got jobs long before twitter and facebook existed, but SERIOUSLY?!? How stupid/inappropriate. I guess it’s good that these things do exist – helps stop the mistakes before they happen, for employers anyway!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2014 at 1:09 am

      The cussing was bad enough, but to use our name and then openly suggest she’ll abuse her privileges was the icing on the cake. I wonder if she’s figured out why we cancelled on her second interview. Perhaps I should start following her. If I could only figure out how to do that….

       
  6. llcooljoe

    January 29, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Yeah I tell my daughters this all the time with Facebook. Be careful what you say, but I’m sure they ignore me. That girl was very silly, and makes you realise that they really have no idea just who is reading what they write. I forget that myself sometimes with my blog to be honest, so I’m no better!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:26 am

      I’m pretty sure my kids ignore me too, which is why I wanted them to see proof of it happening.
      And yes, I forget about it sometimes here too. I’m sure I’ve given too much away at times, so if anyone was looking, it wouldn’t be too hard to find.

       
  7. towardshealthylife

    January 30, 2014 at 4:38 am

    I don’t tweet and I hardly go on facebook, I find it a little weird that some people will have their whole life from birth on the web when they are adult. It’s almost scary. Good on you for taking the opportunity to teach your kids about what it can do!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:56 pm

      I think my daughter will be one of those people… I just hope she’s smart about what she’s posting and saying. I follow her on FB, and haven’t seen reason for concern yet. Whew.

       

Leave a Reply

 
