RSS

Testing

29 Jan

We’re not besties.  Let me just make that clear.  But I have come to accept that I must get along with my treadmill if I want to get any running in this winter.

The temps again are down in the single digits, with gusty windchill factors below zero.  Not suitable for running outside.  Even for me.  And while my elliptical happily keeps my heart rate up and my legs in shape, it’s NOT running.

So, this morning I ran 45 minutes on the treadmill.  Non-stop.  And I survived.  We parted friends, and I may even hit it up again this week.

My new shooz seem to be doing well on the treadmill, but the true test will be running long distances outside – where I actually have to propel myself forward.  I haven’t figured out how I ended up with the Brooks brand again.  I went in to the running store with the intention of getting a different set of Nikes.  But I came home with these.

my newest shooz

It was the salesman who talked me into them.  And I have to admit, I wasn’t sure why I should trust him.  I mean, I didn’t peg him for a runner.  He didn’t quite have the six-pack abs, if you know what I mean.

six pack abs

So when he started asking me questions, and began looking at my stride, I was surprised at how knowledgeable he sounded.  “Have you ever thought about the Brooks line?”, he asked.

Why, yes I have.  And I did.  And I got hurt.

He insisted I try the Brooks Cadence – a style that offers a little more support than my first pair, but still light and flexible.

I walked a bit.  I trotted a bit.  I concentrated on every inch of my foot.  They didn’t seem like they would hurt, yet I was scared.

He let me hem and haw for a long while before telling me to go home and try them out on the treadmill three times.  “You’ll know by the third time if they’re the shoe for you.  If not, you can trade ’em in for some new ones.”

Reluctantly, I shelled out my bonus money, and brought them home.

I’ve run more than three times by now, and I have no gouges in my heal and no stress fracture to speak of.

And in another week, I will be in Florida where I KNOW it’ll be warmer than 8 degrees.  And then they’ll get the true test, the outside test.  I can’t wait!

This was me last year.

This was me the last time we visited Florida.  I musta forgot my shoes.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2014 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , ,

22 responses to “Testing

  1. agg79

    January 29, 2014 at 10:55 am

    I hope these Brooks turn out better for you than the PureConnects. I have been tempted to go for the minimalist shooz like you and Abby, but I still remain hooked on ASICs (for a while). Although, during last weeks half, my new ASICs were giving me some new pains I had not had before. Maybe it is because I hadn’t broken them in enough or just maybe I am just getting old. I hope that these work out for you and you are able to road test them soon. All that indoor running will get you nowhere.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2014 at 2:39 pm

      Ha! You’re right. I’m getting nowhere on that treadmill.
      The Pure Cadence offers much more support, but they’re still light and flexible. Not flip-flop light, like the Nike’s, but lighter than most. I’ve only run outside once in them, and I’m chompin’ at the bit to go out again. As soon as the morning temps hit at least 20, I’m going.
      I was a fan of ASICs for a long time. But as soon as I tried a lighter shoe, I was hooked. I think ASICs offers a ‘tweener’. Not too minimalist, but more so than the ones you have. (And NO caving to the age thing. Got it?)

       
  2. 2 Cups 'N Run

    January 29, 2014 at 11:10 am

    I absolutely love my Brooks Pure Cadence 2, I hope you’ll enjoy your new shoes and won’t get injured. I wonder how different the 3 are from the 2.. although not planning on buying them yet.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm

      I’m not quite sure of the difference either. Price? 🙂
      Your blog name had me intrigued. I love my coffee too. And the boardwalk where you do your weekend runs is incredible! SO jealous.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    January 29, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    I am not a runner but I think it was brave of you to go for those shoes again. I tend to stay clear if I have a bad experience with a brand!

    Florida? Send me some sun when you get there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

      My intent was to stay clear. But I caved. So far, it’s not proven to be a wrong decision.
      And I will absolutely send you some sun – after I’ve had my fill of course.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    January 29, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    I know nothing about Brooks or running but I think I may be about to find out more. The doc said I had very slight high blood pressure, and as I don’t smoke, don’t have caffeine, drink in moderation the only thing left for me to do to lower it, is exercise. Damn.

    Florida sound appealing and looks it too. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:35 am

      Sorry to hear about the slightly high blood pressure. Hopefully you can find some type of exercise to do in the non-stop rain you all are having.
      At this point, Florida is VERY appealing. 7 more days!

       
  5. territerri

    January 30, 2014 at 12:38 am

    Haha! I giggled right out loud at that last picture! Not that I’m questioning that it’s really you. Your sarcasm was just really evident!

    Yes, the treadmill is SO boring and it’s not the same as running outside, but sometimes you have to do whatever you can do to keep those muscles in shape. This winter is such a pain in the butt for all of us!

    I think you made the right choice on the shoes. With a return policy like the one you were offered, how could you go wrong? Besides, Nikes were always my hands-donw favorite shoes. Until I got a pair – a really expensive pair – that I hated. Now I’m open to whatever feels good on my feet.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:44 am

      Yep. I’ve learned my lesson about buying without trying on first. These felt good when I tried them on, but sometimes even that isn’t a good enough test. You have to be able to RUN in them. They’ve passed the treadmill test. Now I need a good road test. Maybe tomorrow??
      (And I have never and will never look like the girl in the pic. My hair is much darker.)

       
  6. lottajoy

    January 30, 2014 at 12:41 am

    THIS comment will either make you laugh or blush for being my friend. Unlike running, I’ve been having to relearn to WALK without coming to a complete and embarrassing STOP. My leg muscles atrophied while I was laying around. Today I made it about 40 feet, without special shoes. But, I made it. lol

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:57 am

      You make me laugh quite often, and I’ve blushed a few times at things you’ve said and done, but this comment just makes me feel happy that you are up and moving and walking. Even if it is only 40 feet!

       
  7. towardshealthylife

    January 30, 2014 at 4:23 am

    I don’t know a thing about running shoes but if you could try them and bring them back it was worth a chance.
    Now I know how to get perfect abs thanks to you! lol

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2014 at 2:54 pm

      I thought they were worth a try too, and so far I haven’t been disappointed. I’m hoping for a road test tomorrow morning. Fingers crossed!
      And yeah, if planks and crunches don’t work, there’s always the fence technique…..

       
  8. Abby

    January 31, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    Good luck for a long term relationship with these new Brooks! I swap out my PureFlows with my Nikes just so I’m not running in the same shoes all the time, thinking maybe the variety is better for me? I do notice the Brooks take longer to break in, unlike the Nikes that are good to go out of the box. Just remember to bring them to Florida this time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2014 at 4:53 am

      Of course. I’ve learned my lesson about leaving my shoes at home. I mean, look how ridiculous I look..
      I’ve heard of others who like to switch out their shoes. I may use my Nike’s for speed work, and the Brooks for long distances. 7.33 miles on them today! OUTSIDE!

       
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 1, 2014 at 2:56 am

    Florida will be SO GREAT FOR YOU after all these incredibly cold days! I mean… it’s been cold even here! So I can only imagine over there… Where I used to live in Wisconsin they reached -48 !!! wow! That’s crazy (although I miss it so much there!) … I am happy you got shoes, I hope they indeed work for you… I can’t wait to find out how your road test went today! 🙂 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2014 at 4:55 am

      It’s been cold for all of us. I’m ready for some warmth!
      I went 7.33 miles in my new shoes today! They felt great! Whew! I feel much better about my purchase now.

       
  10. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 2, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    I’m glad the new shoes DO NOT hurt and the salesman knew what he was talking about! But I guess we won’t really know how good they are until you’re able to run outside again!

    Also – Have a fabulous time in Florida! Soak up as much sun & warmth as you can!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 4, 2014 at 2:27 am

      We are definitely earning the sun and warmth. Temps are still in the 20s with lows in the single digits. And tomorrow, we’ll get more snow. I don’t mind the cold TOO much, but I’m certainly looking forward to a break from it all!

       
  11. Anita

    February 3, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    8 degrees? What state are you in?

    I’m sorry it’s been so challenging to satisfy your running needs. You’d think that something that cost so little to do (except for fancy miracle shoes) would be easy. Mother Nature has different ideas.

    EnJoy Florida! Don’t forget to take that bikini with you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 4, 2014 at 2:31 am

      You’d think I’d be in Minnesota, but I’m really in Illinois – just east of St. Louis, MO. A few weeks ago we had a day of 32 degrees, followed by a day of 12 degrees, followed by 38, then 10. It’s crazy! This week our expected lows are near 3 degrees. Florida couldn’t have come at a better time. (And yes, THAT bikini is packed…..)

       

Leave a Reply

 
