RSS

Photo Gallery – The Grainy Version

12 Feb

So the weather wasn’t perfect. But our trip to Florida still gave us a break from the single digit lows and the highs in the teens that “home” had.

With Florida’s lows in the 50s, I was finally able to run outside!  In my new shooz!  I logged a 6-miler and an 8-miler around Universal Studios and the surrounding neighborhoods.  Woohoo!

Ok this picture sucks, but it's all I got.  Much better view than the one I get from my treadmill.

Ok this picture sucks, but it’s all I got. Much better view than the one I get from my treadmill.

The rain wasn’t all bad.  We got a few laughs out of  some rain induced incidents.  The first happened as we were renting our car.  A couple of guys ahead of us rented a Mustang.  As they took off out of the gate, they skidded directly into the ditch across the street.  The rental car guys weren’t too worried.  “They purchased the road side assistance plan so they’re okay.”   We took a pass on the Mustang and the roadside assistance.

A few days later we came across this.

IMG_0965

I have no idea how she got up there, but she was gonna be stuck for a while.

IMG_0966

And finally, I got a kick out of these birds on the beach.

IMG_0947

There were three different species, and each species stayed in their own little group.  Once again, all I got was the grainy cell phone shot, but if you squint your eyes just right you can see two of the groups.

IMG_0946

These guys were so cute standing on one leg, and they didn’t bother putting their other foot down while running away from us either.  They just hopped.

IMG_0959

And these guys were cute because they’re just cute.  Look at ’em!

IMG_0960

And with that, our trip was over.  But guess what we saw on our way to the airport?

SUN.

Just our luck that now we’re leaving THIS behind….

Florida sun

And returning to lows of zero and highs of 18.

IMG_4356

Sigh.  I miss Florida already.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2014 in Running, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

21 responses to “Photo Gallery – The Grainy Version

  1. agg79

    February 12, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Yea, even when it is wet and cold, 50 is way better than 18 most days (unless you want to go skiing or run a half marathon in the snow). Sounds like a fruitful, if not wet trip. Funny how some people drive in the rain like it’s nothing. Would love to see how they handle some snowy/icy streets in your neck of the woods.

    And I’ve seen a few of those “birds on a stick” down here along the coast. Grayson loves to chase them but cannot seem to ever get close. Sort of like a beach version of a squirrel.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2014 at 2:14 am

      So that’s their official name – Birds on a Stick. They were so funny! And very quick! I imagine Grayson would have a difficult time keeping up.
      There were SO many wrecks down there. Three roll-overs just in the time we were there. Then again, there were a ton of cars on the roads, so I suppose the odds were greater that something would happen.
      But even so, the Mustang didn’t even make the first turn out of the lot. I was so flabbergasted it didn’t occur to me to take a pic.

       
      • agg79

        February 13, 2014 at 12:11 pm

        Wrecked the ‘Stang right out of the gate,eh? Guess they just couldn’t HANDLE all that power under the hood. Takes some skill to keep those horse under control.

         
      • shadowrun300

        February 13, 2014 at 12:14 pm

        Not everybody is man enough…

         
  2. Rock Chef

    February 12, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Looks great – I have a real soft spot for wader type birds.
    Did you find a place?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2014 at 2:17 am

      Those birds were incredibly cute. And the baby ones were even cuter! We watched them for the longest time.
      We didn’t go down to buy this time around. Just window shopping. But there was one place we’re still talking about. Perfect location, but we’re not quite ready yet.

       
      • Rock Chef

        February 17, 2014 at 1:31 pm

        It is nice to have a place that you really click with though…

         
  3. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 12, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    “I was finally able to run outside!  In my new shooz!  I logged a 6-miler and an 8-miler around Universal Studios and the surrounding neighborhoods.  Woohoo!”

    HOOOORAY!!!

    Oh my – wow – apparently people in Florida have NO IDEA how to drive – when it’s simply raining.

    And, those birds are just too cute.

    Oh man, I’m sorry the sun came out just as you were leaving. But, welcome home!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2014 at 2:23 am

      I don’t know if they were Floridians or if they were snow birds, but they were definitely crazy drivers!
      And yeah, bummer that the sun came out the day we were leaving, but we’ll have another chance again soon!

       
  4. Abby

    February 12, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    Totally laughing at the guys that could barely even make it out of the car rental lot! And what’s with the bottomed out car on the median? You sure you want these people as your neighbors??

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2014 at 2:29 am

      Honestly! They hit the ditch directly across the street! I know from experience Mustangs don’t do well on slick roads, but sheesh! He must have floored it out of the lot for that to happen.
      I’m hopeful these people are just snowbirds and won’t really be my neighbors. Then again, that’s kind of scary too.

       
  5. territerri

    February 13, 2014 at 2:06 am

    Yes, 50 is better than the winter you’ve been having but it still sucks that you didn’t get some sun and warmth.

    I’m thinking those challenged drivers were from Minnesota. Half the drivers on the road here are crazy! Crazier even when the whether is less than perfect.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 13, 2014 at 2:33 am

      Yeah, it was the missing sun that bummed me out a little. I hope you have much better weather when you go. With as bad as our winter has been, yours has been worse!
      I guess I feel pretty lucky that St. Louis drivers aren’t too reckless. One or two may be, but nothing like what we were seeing down there. Maybe it’s just that there were so many people on the roads.

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 14, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Still enjoyed your pics! 🙂 So happy you got your run and happy that you enjoyed it all… rain included! It’s all about attitude… Love the pics of the birds… I always take pics of them and then sometimes I wonder if “it’s too much” but… continue to take more! 🙂 … Sorry you’re back in the freezing cold… here in Texas it’s all insane… we went from 32 in the morning (yesterday) to 60’s in the afternoon… Right now it is 76! (not bragging, just sharing) 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2014 at 4:19 am

      We’re all insane too – just in the opposite direction. We had highs in the 40s yesterday (heat wave) to lows in the single digits and high of 20 (with sleet and snow mixed in.) I’ll be SO glad to have above freezing temps on a regular basis. (And brag all you want! You should!)

       
  7. lottajoy

    February 16, 2014 at 3:55 am

    Stop running, walking, bicycling long enough to send me an email with your address.

    I haven’t been able to contact you or leave a comment. Google revenge I think.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 18, 2014 at 2:18 am

      I keep reading about how much trouble you’re having. What’s up with that? I’ll send you an email as soon as I can sit still….

       
  8. Anita

    February 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    I LOVE sun! But, being in Florida without it… I would have managed and had fun. Walking barefoot on the beach and seeing those crazy birds would have been a treat. Ahhh…
    Glad you got some good running in. Welcome back!

     
    • Anita

      February 16, 2014 at 7:42 pm

      ps. A click to enlarge the pics made your cell phone shots able to view without squinting. 🙂

       
      • shadowrun300

        February 18, 2014 at 2:18 am

        Ahh! I tried it! They don’t look so bad after all!

         
    • shadowrun300

      February 18, 2014 at 2:21 am

      We would have taken ANTHING other than what we were getting in Missouri. The weather in Florida, as crappy as it was, beat the snow and frigid temps back home.
      Running outside was definitely a highlight of the trip!

       

Leave a Reply

 
