RSS

Catching Up

18 Feb

Happy belated Valentine’s Day to all of you love birds who actually celebrate the day.

Hubby and I acknowledge it.  We spend a bit of time picking out funny cards.  We write a little note of love inside, and let it sit on the counter for a few days.

And that’s enough for us.  We tend to do something, just the two of us, each year and count that as our special celebration gift.  This year was Florida.  That trip counts for all holidays except my birthday.  I’m a little spoiled that way.

Valentine’s Day was a hugely busy day at the hotel.  We had 340 reservations to check in.  Some love birds, some volleyball athletes, some Irish dancers, some bull riding spectators, and a few concert goers.  We’ve never had that many rooms checking in in one day.  I spent 10 hours at the front desk thanks to an employee call-off.

I returned early Saturday morning to check half of them out, and then quickly replaced them with a whole new set of guests.

To add to the fun, we’re hosting the big yearly meeting for our entire chain’s hotel managers, so everyone is scrambling to get the hotel into tip top shape by Sunday.  No easy task to begin with, but add to it an entire hotel full of “normal” guests needing our attention, and we’re not getting much spring cleaning done.

I did get some baking time in this week.  My oven’s been neglected the past few months with the exception of one or two pizzas.  It was nice to fire it back up for these Red Velvet Cookies and Cashew and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies.

IMG_0977[1]

IMG_0978[1]

That is, until the oven went haywire and shot up to 450 degrees before I realized it, burning my third batch of chocolate chip ones.

IMG_0979[1]

IMG_0980[1]

Normally I wouldn’t think anything of it, but these…. THESE were the absolute best looking, best tasting cookies, I’ve ever had.  No kidding.  I shed a tear or two over them.  No kidding!  After a conciliatory hug from my hubby, and a promise to get the thermostat fixed, I reset the oven and baked the last batch.

In cheerier news, we ended the week with what we hope becomes a tradition – Family Poker and Pizza night.  (With a variation on the game and the meal if desired.) Chip made the long 8 mile trip from his trailer, and Mario and Amp made the long 30 step trip from their rooms.    We spent a few hours teaching the kids a variety of poker games and let them keep their winnings. (If anyone asks, we were teaching them probability and statistics.)

So that’s what I’ve been doing.  It’s been a very busy, but very rewarding week.  We had what I hope is our last shot of winter, causing yet another snow (well really, ice) day, and now we’re in for some sun and warmth.  Maybe I can finally say goodbye to the dreadmill and run on some ice free roads.

treadmill 2

treadmill

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2014 in Baking, Blunders, Family, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Rock Chef

    February 18, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Sorry to hear about the cookies, I feel your pain.

    Had a revelation about pizza a couple of weeks ago. Put the cheese onto the base first, then blob the sauce on. The cheese layer stops the sauce making the base soggy, and it also makes you taste the sauce more as you get blogs rather than a thin smear.

    We haven’t had rain since Saturday, so hopefully we can join you in saying goodbye to the winter!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 18, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      I really was so upset about burning them. The first few batches were like a newborn child. I couldn’t take my eyes or nose off of them. I was so proud of how GOOD they were! And then THAT happened.
      Thanks for sharing your pizza revelation! We’ll be stealing your idea!
      And hooray for sun! Have we finally turned the corner?

       
  2. Abby

    February 18, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    You guys are making me hungry.

    So sorry about the cookie fails, that is a sad story. Haywire oven? I wish I could blame my various fails in the kitchen on that, but I think they’re usually just operator error. And I wish more parents would teach gambling… er… math to their kids. Life skills, people!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2014 at 1:38 am

      Oh believe me. I’ve had operator errors myself. But this was ALL oven error. We’ve since gotten a new thermostat. Guess I’ll need to make another batch to test it out.
      Yes! Life skills! That’s what we’re teaching….

       
  3. agg79

    February 18, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Sounds like a busy Valentine’s day for you – all those lovebirds flocking to your hotel for romance. Irish dancers and bull riding? You guys really know how to party up there.

    Sorry about the cookies. Even burnt, I bet they would have been tasty (charcoal is a flavor). Curious that the oven decided to go all terminator on you at the time. Maybe it feels left out from your travels/adventures of late. Or perhaps it senses that you have been looking at “other” ovens…

    Family poker and pizza night for their educational benefit? Yea. Right.

    I hope that your order for spring weather shows up soon. I won’t even mention where our temps are right now.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2014 at 1:49 am

      I know, right? Irish dancers and bull riders. We saw it all that weekend.
      I caught the cookies before they turned black at least. Out of sympathy, my hubby ate the overdone ones leaving the perfect cookies for the family. And yes, he told me they were just as tasty. And who knows why my oven suddenly turned moody. I haven’t even looked at another oven since it’s joined our family.
      Okay, you got me. Our poker night isn’t meant to be educational. But there was some probability discussions during a few hands… really there was.
      Thanks for not mentioning your temps, but I just came from your blog so I already know. All I can say is UGH.

       
  4. territerri

    February 19, 2014 at 1:47 am

    We have a similar feeling about Valentine’s Day. I found a simple card and bought him an ice scraper for his truck. He gave me a simple card and SIX BAGS of Dove chocolate candies – which I’m sharing at work because otherwise I WILL eat them all myself.

    Sounds like a fun game night with the kids. There are perks to them growing up. Having fun becomes more fun.

    Good to hear you’ll be able to run outside again soon. Those treadmill minutes ARE interminable!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2014 at 1:55 am

      We’ve had two game nights so far, and I look so forward to them! I think they enjoy them too. Mario even cancelled plans with her friends to stay home with us once she found out.

      I’m hoping to run outside on Thursday morning. Fingers crossed!

      And I once received four bags of blow pops. I kept ’em for myself….

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 19, 2014 at 4:45 am

    Did not do much for Valentine’s day either…I sent some chocolates for my daughter’s school friends and that’s about it lol I love the second e-card! I am glad that you had fun despite the rain. The beach is still nice even when its raining isn’t? Less crowded anyway 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:18 am

      It’s true! Not many people were on the beach, but there were a few die-hards who were actually swimming. Heck, I was in a jacket and jeans!

       
  6. lottajoy

    February 20, 2014 at 2:03 am

    Joe asked what I’d like for Valentine’s Day. With the glare the poor guy got, he knows that chocolates or flowers is not how to get on my good side.

    Pizza and Poker. How did you ever get all of those people to come all that way to actually sit still together.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:13 am

      Free food. Free money. Gets ’em every time.

       
  7. lottajoy

    February 20, 2014 at 2:06 am

    Head’s Up. I know Google is giving everyone fits, but after I left my last comment, the screen advised me to “Do not press the “back” key. Allow this screen to remain for five minutes before you leave.”

    Now, if that’s not an internet “hit”, I don’t know what is.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:15 am

      That is so odd! Even more perplexing is I didn’t get a notice that you had replied to this post. I was just passing by and here you were!

       
  8. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 24, 2014 at 10:06 pm

    I am literally drooling over those Red Velvet Cookies and Cashew and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies. Even the burnt ones! WOW.

    And those ecards are REALLY funny!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:17 am

      I just made the cashew and chocolate chip cookies again. Oh how I wish you weren’t allergic. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
