RSS

I’m a brunette. Really I am.

21 Feb

“Is it plugged in?” he asked.

“OF COURSE it’s plugged in,” was my curt response.  “I checked all the connections before I called.”

“Well, maybe it’s not turned on.  Try pushing the button on the back just once.”

I tried to be patient.  “I did that already too, but I’ll try again.”

Nothing.

“HE” was the wireless internet help guy, and he was being very patient and kind.  However, I KNEW the problem was on HIS end, so I wanted him to quickly move past the trouble shooting steps on MY end.

But he wasn’t giving up.  “Recheck the connections,” he suggested.  “Where is the power cord plugged into?”

Ummm…. where IS the power cord plugged into?

Suddenly I realized how dumb I was about to look,  I immediately rambled on about how I had checked all the cords that were plugged in to make sure they were connected securely, but I never thought to check if a cord was missing.

Turns out, the power cord was missing.

omg.  I felt this big.

I tried to mumble some excuses like “This is usually something the kids take care of for me, and they’re all gone right now, and I was just wanting to check my email, and, tell my blog friends I bought a Rubik’s cube today, and, and…….”

Internet help guy did his best to make me feel better.  “Well let me just make sure that you’re logged in and that you have access, since you’ve got me on the phone.”

So now, I’m logged in, and I have access, and…

I bought a Rubik’s cube today.  I haven’t held a Rubik’s cube since I was 13.  Memories came flooding back as I handed it to my 15 year old daughter.  Memories of trying diligently to follow the directions in the box on how to solve the cube.  Memories of being so jealous of watching others solve it, and being so enamored that they could do it in the blink of an eye.

I could only solve it by unsnapping the individual cubes and putting them back in the right way.  A few times of doing that and the cube doesn’t turn as smoothly.  Just so you know.

Mario figured it out in a day.  Heck, if I’d have had the internet back then, I could have figured it out too.  Either way, I was impressed.  And then I find out Amp is well known at school for his ability to solve it quickly.  Really?  How did I not know this?  Of course, I’m not surprised.  He’s a direct descendant of Einstein, of that I’m sure.  Einstein was a high school drop-out, and Amp would be too if I let him.  Einstein was slow to talk.  Amp too.  Einstein liked haircuts.  Okay, so they differ there.

Anyway, that’s all I wanted to say.  I wanted to share with my friends how cool it is to have a Rubik’s cube in the house after all these years.

And now that I have, the internet can go away again.*

__________

*There is NO way that I mean that for real.
 
23 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2014 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Family, Humor

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “I’m a brunette. Really I am.

  1. Sandi

    February 22, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Thank you for the giggle, I needed it this morning!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2014 at 12:48 am

      Glad I could help start your morning off right. Sadly, I could probably produce enough of these stories to get you through the week. Especially where electronics are concerned. :/

       
  2. lottajoy

    February 22, 2014 at 12:39 am

    Back when I had a big ol’ hulkin’ desktop and they’d start in on “and is ______ plugged in?” I would just give a few grunts on the phone like I was actually moving the dinosaur and the desk that hadn’t been moved in years. But YOU??? Gawd. Now I know WHY they ask those asinine questions.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2014 at 12:50 am

      OMG. I AM the reason for the questions. I feel even smaller now.

       
      • lottajoy

        February 22, 2014 at 7:37 pm

        Yes. Yes you are, and I’m FRIENDS with you……I am (was), blonde, so that could be my excuse.

         
      • shadowrun300

        February 22, 2014 at 7:41 pm

        Glad to hear we’re still friends, even though I’m not blonde, have never been blonde, and so I really have NO excuse.
        (You DID mean we’re still friends, right?)

         
  3. territerri

    February 22, 2014 at 1:44 am

    Argh! Don’t you hate when you do something like that?

    Rubik’s Cubes! Haven’t seen one of those in forever! And I never could solve it either, except by pulling it apart. I didn’t know ANYONE could solve it!

    Thinking of Rubik’s Cubes makes me think of the electronic Simon game. And Slime. Remember Slime? Came in a mini-plastic garbage can? We had fun toys when we were young!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2014 at 1:50 am

      I LOVED my Simon game! But I can’t see it making a comeback. Unless they come out with a Simon App.
      And it’s not the first time I’ve felt, um, blonde. (Sorry.) And I’m sure it won’t be the last. But still. It was pretty embarrassing. 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    February 22, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    Doh! I hate when that happens. The tech support guy may sound all nice and friendly, but you can just IMAGINE what he is thinking on his end of the line.

    I never was able to solve the Rubik’s Cube. Didn’t have the skill or patience. I guess that is why my folks only gave me rocks to play with when I was a kid. Terri had me going back down memory lane with her Slime remark. I can recall when toys/games were a lot simpler and NOT electronic. How about the classics? The slinky? The super ball? The Magic 8 Ball?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2014 at 3:54 pm

      Oh, I’m sure I made his day. And those around him who heard my story….
      Slinkys were fun, but quite aggravating! Mine always got bent up and would never go down the stairs like the ad claimed. But super balls were a blast. Except when I got in trouble for knocking things over with them. (I couldn’t help it! They’d go EVERYwhere!) My kids had a Super 8 basketball. It couldn’t stand up to the video games though. :/
      But fun to think about the good ol’ days – when imaginations fueled our play time.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 22, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Oh my goodness! Don’t worry I’ve had those moments but yes… they are sooo embarrassing! especially because we think of ourselves as very smart people (I know I do) so you talk with such confidence only to find out that you’re in the wrong! 😦 … but at least you won’t have to talk to that guy ever again… and you’ve already become “another person” that hadn’t plugged the cord. 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      I REALLY thought it was plugged in. The power cord looks like a cell phone charger, so I assumed it was. Everything else was connected…. so…. obviously something was wrong on their end.
      hmmph. Oh well.

       
  6. Abby

    February 23, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    That’s weird, I’ve been thinking of Rubik’s cubes after a movie I saw yesterday. Almost did a drawing of one and then I come here and…!! I’d say your “wireless” is working *chuckle*.

    Honestly, I never liked those cubes when they were all the rage when they first came out. I didn’t know they came with instructions! Chaco was a Rubk’s geek for a while a few years ago. Cheap entertainment, I fully approved.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2014 at 11:28 pm

      I approve too. Mario wanted one for the bus ride to her snow skiing destination. What?! Something other than her phone? Gladly! But I could never figure out the pattern, so it frustrated me more than anything.
      And it’s amazing how well the wireless works… :/

       
  7. Ms. CrankyPants

    February 24, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    hahaha – I had an IT person stop by my cube the other day. She asked what operating system I was using.

    [blank stare]

    She just laughed (in a “with me” vs. “at me” way). I dunno, I feel as if an IT GUY would have been annoyed, but I may totally be gender stereotyping!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:24 am

      My IT guys at work can show a bit of frustration at times, but this guy was so patient. Most likely because he thought I was a little slooow….
      But really, I was so panicked about not having internet, that I just freaked a little.

       
  8. Meleah Rebeccah

    February 24, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    AhAHAHhAhHAHhAHahH! I’m sorry, I’m laughing so hard – but the fact that the power cord really was missing, is really freaking funny!

    And oh man, I haven’t even thought about a Rubik’s cube in YEARS! But I am amazed your kids figured it out so quickly. I used to have to cheat also!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2014 at 2:25 am

      The internet can help you do anything! It’s amazing! When it’s plugged in, of course.

       
  9. Anita

    February 26, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    We’ve all been there and it’s not fun… not tragic, but not fun. I actually called Triple A when the car wouldn’t start after all my attempts and help from a guy I worked with. They (AAA) came, put the car in Park, and Voila!
    I could have sworn that that was the first thing we checked. Maybe a little flirting was going on and we both became momentarily blonde.
    Btw, I was younger.
    I like your reduced font size that shows how you felt. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2014 at 2:05 am

      Thank you! I feel SO much better after hearing your AAA story. I mean, I know you were younger, but still…. nice to know others have those same moments.

       
  10. llcooljoe

    March 2, 2014 at 4:02 am

    Ha, ha, sorry I couldn’t help but laugh. I never mastered the Rubik cube back in the day, and I’m sure I couldn’t now either. My problem is I didn’t have the patience to try, and having an older brother who was so much better than me at everything like that anyway, I just gave it to him to do.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2014 at 3:47 am

      I missed out on having an older brother, so I just took it apart, put it back together correctly, and claimed victory. Until the thing just fell apart from constantly doing that…

       

Leave a Reply

 
